We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tregenna Castle Resort
Nearby Hotels
$111
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$337
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$393
$303
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Gannet Inn(Carbis Bay)
$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Western Hotel(St Ives)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent(St Ives)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cottage Hotel(Carbis Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,839)
Filter reviews
2,839 results
Traveler rating
1,075
900
467
240
157
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,075
900
467
240
157
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswest wingself cateringleisure facilitieslovely groundswoodland walksea viewindoor pooltennis courtssteam roomhotel groundsbuffet stylefull pricereception areaoverlooking st ivesspecial offerthe main hotelbit dated
Filter
Updating list...
2,463 - 2,468 of 2,839 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We have been coming to the Tregenna since 1978 and although some of the rooms are a bit "tired", the hotel is comfortable, friendly and clean. Good value two day break.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neal m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsDir, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2011

Thank you for being such loyal visitors, we are so pleased that you enjoy your stays at Tregenna! See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

By booking last minute the rate was good and included a full breakfast, which was good. Very spacious room, extremely helpful front desk staff, awesome views from outside - we didn't have a room with a view. Spa could be open a bit later, although we didn't stay in peak season, so not sure if the hours vary. It would be good if rooms had wifi as you could only get Internet in the foyer area, although it was free; free parking too. Water pressure in the shower could be better, although okay for one night.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank servicecounts-az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsDir, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We're glad that you enjoyed staying in our castle and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

This hotel is beautiful from the outside....then you step inside and the fairytale is OVER!!!! This hotel is NOT worth the money I would rather have stayed in a travel lodge. The staff where lovely but the hotel is old and shabby, very very noisy floor boards...kept us awake throughout the night! The parking was a nightmare! The toilet phone and tv where broke when we arrived! All the other bad reviews are spot on? Last year we stayed at the Atlantic bb in carbis bay and it was lovely and cheaper defo recommend that place first!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Figy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

First impressions of the castle is quite elegant and grand. However get past reception and it is a different impression. The lift smelt of old and being damp. There were clumps of grass on the stairs that were there all weekend so, the carpet had not been cleaned. The corridors were in need of repair and maintainence, on floor one there was a hole in the ceiling. The floor boards are noisy and creaky, which causes lack of sleep as residents go back to their rooms on an evening. Our room was small and we struggled to open the door. The shower was either freezing or scolding with no happy medium. We knew when we booked we didn't have a sea room however being on a golf course we thought we would still have a view over that so, we were disappointed that we overlooked another part of the hotel with no view. Members of staff at breakfast were dismissive of us and the breakfast was nothing to write home about. The steam and sauna rooms were great however the sauna never seemed to be as hot as others we have used. If the Tregenna are trying to achieve the following as per your questionnaire then you have to have a revamp and a overhaul of staff, attitude and ethos, as we can not tick any of the following points.
Quiet
Plush
Incredible Staff
Hidden Gem
Elegant
Roomy
Comfortable
Charming
Hot Spot
Romantic
Cozy
No Frills
Trendy
Beautiful

Room Tip: Any rooms even face St Ives harbour
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mandie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

recently came back form a 7 night stay and had to cut short as both my wife and I fell ill after eating in the restaurant.
Food was nice, but ironically after half an hour of us both eating we both got quite ill. After having spoken to 5 people (no one would call us back) and even though we completed a 'food complaint form' on departure, the hotel refused to accept any liability.
they did say in their defence that the service was good (not sure how this has anything to to with us getting ill?) and that we should have provided a food sample.
In short, very poor after service, defo wouldn't recommend nor visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank italiantomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews