We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Western Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Chy-An-Albany(St Ives)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tregenna Castle Resort(St Ives)(Great Value!)
$238
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$248
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$409
$317
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gannet Inn(Carbis Bay)
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cottage Hotel(Carbis Bay)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Regent(St Ives)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveler rating
43
74
39
21
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
74
39
21
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjazz clubpub attachedstaff we met were friendlywarm roomsunday carverylovely choicebreakfast room isminute walk from the harbourleisure centrefull englishcouncil car parkcentral locationcentre of st ivesnew carpetexcellent breakfastlight sleeperveg option
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 191 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Despite the previous reviews I found my room, overlooking the main road, comfortable and clean. Yes, you may have to park 'up the hill' but the taxi rank and bus stop is directly outside and the hotel is in an ideal position from which to do a walking tour the town and harbour areas. The staff were friendly and offered a great choice of breakfast. This is an idea location for 'music' lovers with live music in the downstairs adjoining bar every night ranging from folk, jazz, rock, singer/songwriter nights and open mikes and it's not only for the 'young'. I am a 'young at heart' pensioner and found it to be a friendly and enjoyable atmosphere and the late night noise was no more than any other central location. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M2012Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The double room was tiny... we are not big people, but we had to take it in turns to stand up!
The bed was not very comfortable.
The 'ensuite' would prove of extreme interest to anyone with an appreciation for bizarre/unreliable plumbing.
The breakfast was the best value. There is also a healthy folk club based in the pub downstairs a couple of nights pr week. The leisure centre swimming pool is quite close and an excellent facility
Would advise to stay outside the centre of st Ives..you will get much better value for your money!
I live in Cornwall and felt that the prices being charged were way out of line with the rest of the county

Room Tip: Stay outside the centre of st Ives..you will get much better value for your money! I live in Cornwall and felt that the prices being charged were way out of line with the rest of the county.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nutkin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here mix summer holidays! Arrived and struggled to park in St Ives, website said limited parking but there was none affiliated with the hotel. Got upstairs to our room to find an old dust sheet outside the bedroom door- the room was very basic- found 2 long hairs on the top of the duvet, an old used UHT milk pot ( which wasn't removed with a room clean until the last day), there was no towel rail to dry towels on, the shower curtain rail was loose from the ceiling and held on by duck tape! The breakfast was fantastic and certainly redeemed the stay. The ladies who served were really kind, attentive. It was basic but as a place to stay it was sufficient! Not quite the quality for the money!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissTechnology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed here at the beginning of September having been there about 12 years ago. It hadn't changed much. The rooms are small and a bit dated and not at all value at the £90 a night we paid. The shower room is like someone said, more like a caravan shower. It was so small, you had to come out into the main room to be able to dry yourself fully.

All that said, you couldn't get a more central location and for that reason, I would pay the £90 per night again. There is no parking but go back up the hill to the roundabout and turn left and there is a car park at £6.40 for 24 hours...half the price of the one halfway up the hill plus there are steps down from the car park to close by the hotel and you can leave your car there most of the day.

Breakfast has also been mentioned previously. When booking online, we were given the option of breakfast for £5 each per day and we took it. Well worth it...nicely done and good quality.

So all in all, some of the rooms need a makeover but I would definately stay here again for the location and breakfast alone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derbylad3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Generally this hotel needs updating, new carpets, lose the dated wallpaper and add a flushing toilet. Attention to detail is lacking with fittings removed from walls and left as is, bare plasterboard on the ceiling in room 1 and 2 single beds pushed together in room 5 masquerading as a queensize bed but i had a lovely holiday. If you just want somewhere to lay your head with lovely helpful friendly staff and a gorgeous breakfast then you will be very happy. The bacon is the nicest I have ever had. Would stay again as fitted us in last minute for the bank holiday but it wasnt cheap. Breakfast is normally £4.95 but free that weekend as their card payment machine was broken which meant all guests had to pay cash...a token for the inconvenience. £270 for 3 nights either bring your A game or lower the prices.

Room Tip: not room 5 if you want to sleep as overlooks beer garden
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trishfish8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews