We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Over the Moon!”
other travelers have booked this property
Blue Moon | St Ives
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Blue Moon | St Ives
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Blue Moon | St Ives
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
St Ives, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LMW77
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Over the Moon!”
Reviewed April 3, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We booked Blue Moon as part of a last minute break touring south Cornwall- what a find! This little fisherman's cottage is wonderfully decorated with its unique coastal vibes and thoughtful nods to its heritage.

It made the perfect base for two people exploring St Ives being within 100m of the beach (simply walk to the end of the road, turn left and you will find yourself on Porthmeor Beach), surrounded by local artist's galleries and was a quick walk to the main hub of St Ives. We were provided with restaurant recommendations and suggestions of places to visit by Beachspoke which was really helpful.

The kitchen was snug but fully functional and we were even greeted by a chilled bottle of champagne. All the little extras were a lovely touch and made our self catering stay that little bit more stress-free; coffee machine, tea bags, dishwasher tablets, plush white robes and towels as well as miniature toiletries. We were surprised to find such a spacious dressing room (hair dryer and iron included) upstairs. The beams are exposed in the bedroom which gives a spacious lofty feel. The bed was enormous and incredibly comfortable!

We also paid for the secure parking as our car would not have fitted in the allocated parking space and this was easy to access.

A wonderful beach retreat and we will certainly be returning!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2017
Thank you very much for the time you spent writing this. We hugely appreciate it and we look forward to arranging a stay in another one of our properties.

Many thanks again,

Beachspoke
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbiB211
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed December 15, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

One night stay and it was Really nice,quaint place and cosy it was perfect for us,stylish and quirky. 100% recommend

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 16, 2015
Thank you for your really great review. We hope to see you again soon. I hop you have a very Happy Christmas.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glassesga...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely house, right by the beach!”
Reviewed May 13, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I had a lovely time at Blue Moon. It's a minute or so from the beach and 5/10mins from the village. The cottage is stylishly decorated and the kitchen was well equipped, so I was able to prepare full meals there. Upstairs, there was a room next to the bedroom with a wardrobe and a large desk to store all your necessities! I really liked the storage baskets in the bedroom, which I kept all my t-shirts, trousers and jumpers in! The bed was big and comfortable!

In the evenings, it was lovely to be all cosy in the cottage!

I would definitely go back there!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked least: Kitchen utensils were a little scratched
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachel_a...
Charlwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A few days for our honeymoon”
Reviewed December 19, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We booked The Blue Moon for a few days as part of our honeymoon.
St Ives was a great location and we were lucky with the weather.
On arriving we followed the instructions, unfortunately there was a road closure on the beach road and it took us a while to try and find how to get to the cottage, we soon found it. Parking is definitely snug, but this is pointed out to you before you book and we had no problem with our medium size car.
The booking and information prior to arriving was superb and we were given lots of recommendations for the local area.
The cottage is great, the layout is well thought out and has everything you would want. We didn't use any of the cooking facilities but they are there should you want to.
The bed was sooo comfy and you can hear the sea lapping in the morning.
The owners really have thought of everything, including a nice bottle of bubbly in the fridge on arrival.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary M
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“St Ives arthouse!”
Reviewed October 14, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Loved it - cool house, imaginatively designed - well planned and not "design over function". For a couple, for a few days when you eat out (you're not going to cook there!) Blue Moon is perfect - great location and parking too (albeit a very snug entrance). At last a holiday cottage designed with care, thought, imagination and style.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Design
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poopypoo
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Super cute!”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Really cute little cottage, with everything thought of. Really relaxing, and just a stones throw from the beach. Wine and milk waiting for you in the fridge, and a coffee machine if you like that kind of thing (tea bags too - yum). My only gripe is the uber squeaky bed every time you turn over! St Ives is awesome in the winter, cosy pubs and lovely cafés, can't wait to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia L
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Well worth the 5 hour drive it took to get there! Great location just off the beach. Every detail had been thought of down to chilled wine and fresh milk in the fridge (all the essentials!). The cottage was immaculate but felt like home immediately - lovely and cosy and well decorated. A real 5 star experience and lovely for a long weekend away at any time of year. The cottage had everything you'd need to cater at home but there are great restaurants nearby (I'd recommend the Rum & Crab shack and Hobblers House).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing