We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rebooked for next year!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
St Ives, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Katy D
Oswaldtwistle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rebooked for next year!”
Reviewed February 23, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Time flew far too quickly in this luxurious bolt hole. The views are spectacular overlooking the beach and across to Godrevy. St Ives has been a favourite place for us for many years and the Black Moon just popped the cherry on top of the cake.....we arrived with a welcome, a bottle of champagne and for the morning we were able to enjoy a coffee in bed sat looking at the views as thoughtfully a bottle of milk was placed in the fridge. The bathroom has a very large bath, large step in shower, complimentary shower gel etc left. Robes are provided with towels. No need to take a hairdryer, one in the drawer. Plenty of space for clothing. Kitchen quite small, but adequate but we didn't cook very often. Looking forward to next year as we rebooked straight away!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 17, 2018
Hello, thank you for writing such a kind review of Black Moon. So glad that you have booked again, it means a lot to us! And we hope you get a chance to explore our other properties as well.

Ben
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMK2012
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed February 3, 2017 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Sorry it's taken me a while to write this review! We stayed at Black Moon in November 2016. My friend had stayed there earlier in the year and had recommended it to us. This is a place for couples, it's very romantic and it's situated in the most breath taking location - right on the beach. I couldn't have picked a better retreat for my boyfriend's 40th birthday. It was indulgent and was simply perfect. St Ives is beautiful - but I can imagine how crowded it would be in the summer. We were very fortunate with the weather for November - clear blue skies and sunshine for the 4 days we were there. I couldn't recommend Black Moon highly enough. We loved the area so much we have already booked another week in Cornwall in the summer this year but will be taking our daughter this time. Book this apartment, you won't be disappointed.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiseowl74
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hubby booked for a surprise for my birthday!!”
Reviewed February 2, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

All i can say is WOW!! My husband booked this as a surprise for me for my birthday, having never been to Cornwall myself I was in awe of the location and especially the property OUT OF THIS WORLD, there has been no expense spared here absolutely beautiful and as for the Cave wow!!!! This was such good aspect to the property and a great chill out area later in the evening where you could chill out and listen to the waves crashing below us.
I would stay here again in a heartbeat stunning and beautifully perfect
Highly recommneded!! :-)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissGbee
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed August 15, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed here for our mini moon & what can I say its a beautiful apartment. It looks over a beautiful cove and the view is simply stunning.
The apartment is clean, modern and beautifully decorated.
I would love to return to St Ives in general as it's such a wonderful, magical place and staying at the Black Moon was the icing on the cake.
It's location is great with so many restaurants and cafés around.
Definitely recommended.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review, it means the world to us to hear when guests have had a good time. Hopefully we can organise another stay in the future.
Very Best
Hamish & The Beachspoke Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire D
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Honey moon of our dreams”
Reviewed June 27, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and husband have just got married and came to the black moon for our honey moon for 5 nights
We have had this booked for 14 months and have been so excited!
The black moon when you walk in is just breath taking we were lost for words!
The Black moon is amazing in every way! The views looking on the beach everyday is amazing! U could be anywhere in the world but this is the best place we have ever stayed nothing can top this!!
St Ives is the most amazing place we have ever been loved it!
Right near the amazing restaurants and shops
Blackmoon st Ives we hope to come again one day!
Thankyou for the best honeymoon we will never forget!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review and for thinking of us for your honeymoon. Many congratulations on your wedding and we are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to organizing another holiday for you.
Please don't hesitate to contact us should you need anything else at all.
Kindest regards

Hamish & The Beachspoke Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sodapop12
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Not quite up to scratch”
Reviewed March 24, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
9
people found this review helpful

Our hopes were high for this property, due to the reviews, the photos and the price we had paid!!
However for us to just didn't meet our expectations.
The housekeeping standards were very poor. I could list a long line of issues but won't bore you.
You can't fault the decor and furnishings but at the end of day it's a one bedroom apartment and I can't get the figures to stack up.
The parking is a real bonus for sure. We could have unloaded the car by the property and it would have been good to have been informed of that before our stay.
The property faces East so no chance of any afternoon/evening sun. The weather was great when we stayed so we went to the nearby pub and sat in their garden which had full sun.
The location of this property is spot on and really near to everything yet with privacy.
I don't think the downstairs snug window does open like the photos on the Internet.
I ended up cleaning the middle two French windows as we couldn't see out of them, as the windows had not been cleaned. I also had to clean the remote controls as they were really grubby for other users.
The property needs a revisit with regards to cleaning standards and needs some quite basic things like a pair of matching drinking glasses for one (there was one glass one and one plastic one). There were only five coat hangers as another example, one of which was broken and ripped my top. Some binoculars would be a nice touch and some information on walking in the area. The info left was out of date as one of the restaurants was closed down. the shower floods the bathroom and there are some unpleasant drainage smells, which are marginally covered by the amount of reed diffusers in situ.
I don't ever recall being so picky at a property, but when you pay this kind of price you expect a lot and in this instance we were really disappointed.
Overall I would say this is a lovely property, but hugely overpriced.
Boutique retreats who we booked through were extremely good and I would use them again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Really comfy bed and easy location
Liked least: Poor cleanliness
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2016
Dear Sodapop12,
We are sorry to hear you didn’t find Black Moon up to scratch. We are currently reviewing the way our properties are being managed and working to ensure the standard of maintenance is more than up to scratch. We sincerely believe Black Moon is a truly unique property and will take all your comments into consideration to ensure it remains to be so.
I hope that you will come and visit us again.
Kind regards
Ben.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Black Moon must be a unique experience”
Reviewed October 11, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Black Moon is designed for maximum enjoyment and comfort. It is also situated so that the
main room opens directly onto a wall-filling view of the sea. Large folding doors open out to
fill the room with the sound of waves breaking on the rocks immediately below. Lying in bed at night this induces a wonderfully relaxing sleep.
Every need is catered for, with an excellent bathroom and shower, and a small kitchen supplied with all necessary equipment. With the wealth of good eating places nearby, it is not necessary to do much cooking.
The décor is fabulous throughout, and there is a huge mirrored sliding door separating the
lounge area from the bedroom. This seems to double the size of the room when closed, and
reflects light from the window.
All in all this was a unique experience, and entirely positive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The closeness to the sea
Liked least: A certain degree of confusion over the complex lighting.
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 16, 2015
Thank you very much for your review, I really hope to welcome you both to the cottage again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing