We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious”
Review of The Halsetown Inn

The Halsetown Inn
Ranked #47 of 143 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $39
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Country pub with great food , Michelin and Good Food guide recommended.
Camborne, Cornwall, united kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Have visited twice recently for lunch after a bit of a gap. Was not disappointed. The food was delicious and my friends who I took there thoroughly enjoyed it.
It was relaxed and unassuming . The food was no nonsense, wholesome, in season beautifully presented and flavoursome. The staff were attentive but not in your face and great when I explained I had an allergy to eggs. All ways a treat when we go there. Yum

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank merrynrogers63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    74
    29
    19
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nothing special. ”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We headed here for an early dinner at 6 and it did an ok job. The staff and food was all a bit ok. Maybe it suffers from being so close to some great food in st ives but still, had expected more.

Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rickki, Rickki, Rickii .....”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Recommend you book to eat here, as it's a good walk or drive from St Ives Bay thought it would be quiet - was packed to the rafters! Excellent gourmet food, the pork hock starter is to die for. The staff are so friendly and welcoming, Rickki really stood out customer service is her forte.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie11-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Well worth the walk/drive”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Although I left Cornwall in 1977 I frequently return to meet up with friends. So I was surprised to find that we were going to the Halsetown Inn for fine dining!

Anyone using the back road into St Ives will have driven past the Inn (on a sharp corner) and probably like me not given the place a second look. However the dining experience is first class without paying Padstow prices. If you just want a handmade burger you can, if you want carefully cooked fish of the day it is all here.

The only downside is that all the locals eat here, so you will have to book. Having said that I doubt anyone will be disappointed. Enjoy

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StaffordshireTrebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
1 review
“Traditional pub friendly atmosphere.”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Unfortunately the food was over seasoned with salt both myself and wife and sons food.Did not like to mention my opinion at the time as I didn't think it was appropriate.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jcg5777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Halsetown Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Halsetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing