We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Food At A Great Price”
Review of The Halsetown Inn

The Halsetown Inn
Ranked #48 of 143 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $39
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Country pub with great food , Michelin and Good Food guide recommended.
oxford
Level Contributor
93 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Top Notch Food At A Great Price”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Three of us arrived on a Thursday night as it was literally 2 minutes up the road from our holiday let. The atmosphere was fantastic and to see dogs wandering about is nice to see too. The food was fantastic as was the chat and service. Burger was excellent as was the minute steak and crab linguine. Would definitely recommend and come back for more!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank retrophoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    74
    29
    19
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Helston
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Local Produce Cooked to Perfection”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Following the success of Blasburgers in St Ives it is great to find the same team now running this inn. Attention to detail and the use of local produce has come with them from St Ives. The inn is both children and dog friendly so it has that real vibrant family atmosphere. We ate in the front room with a most wonderful Cornish Range as the focal point. We were there for Sunday lunch where there was a choice of roasts, fish or vegetarian main courses. My beef was cooked to perfection and served with a wide range of seasonal vegetables served al dente - excellent. Deserts were lovely - not calorie reduced - but served with clotted cream, ice cream and custard. If you intend to visit with a dog I suggest you pre-book as it can be very busy in the dog friendly areas.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Going again soon”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We only called in because someone needed a lift to collect something they'd left a couple of nights before. Anyway as a consequence had the most beautiful Sunday roast... ever! I kid you not it was gorgeous - beetroot, celeriac, with the best local beef + the usual veg and of course a bottle of red. Definitely worth booking as really popular - going again soon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Original menu, fun interior and very affordable”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Went back for dinner with friends and had a great time. Staff is very friendly. To start I had the dahl on a warm lentil and tomato salad and it was far better than any I have eaten before in any Indian restaurant, impressed with the freshness of the ingredients! I had the burger as a main which was very nice. My friends also enjoyed their fish dishes. Highly recommended, if you are staying in St Ives, you can walk there (directions on their website).

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PSML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Yum Yum Yum”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great food - quick service. Attentive with good recommendations. Wish I could have fitted in a pudding but was too full. Loved it. Would recommend. We booked

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Portugal611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Halsetown Inn also viewed

 
Carbis Bay, St Ives
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to The Halsetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing