We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant location!”

Review of The Sail Loft

Spacious yet cosy living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious yet cosy living area
Open plan living area Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Spacious yet cosy living area
Open plan living area
Kitchen
Entrance with beach paraphernalia for your use - wetroom is through the door on the left
Bedroom 1 - First Floor
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3 - ground floor
Bathroom
Bath with shower
Equipped with everything you need for a great holiday
Dining for 6
Ground Floor
A place for little people to sit!
Plenty of comfy seating for six
A cosy place to spend Christmas
Wetroom detail
Bedroom 2 - first floor
X marks the spot - ideally located close to the beautiful blue flag beaches
Porthmeor Beach (less than 5 minute walk from the cottage) on a sunny September morning
Our own private parking space
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
St Ives, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Kate P
2 reviews
“Brilliant location!”
Reviewed August 21, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This is a superb holiday rental. Location couldn't be better. Just a few minutes walk from the beaches, harbour, pubs and shops. Well furnished and a lovely feel to the property. The only negative point I can think of is the exposed staircase is not ideal with young children, but that would not put me off booking again! Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
routhy13
coventry, uk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL COTTAGE, PERFECT LOCATION IN ST IVES”
Reviewed July 31, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed at the Sail Loft for a week beginning 21st July.

The property was perfect, beautifully decorated, amazing space and right behind the Harbour meaning a 2 minute walk to the beach and shops of St Ives Harbour.

A 2 minute walk in the opposite direction and you were at Porthgwidden beach (our favourite) great little cove with beach huts and cafe on the beach.

There were all the amenities within the cottage that we required and more.

Special mention for Greta the owner who was on hand via text anytime I needed her help and also to her housekeeper Emily who had to let us back into property when we locked ourselves out, oops

The car parking spot was 10 minutes walk from cottage and was no issue for us. We unloaded and loaded car outside cottage in early evening which was fine. I would say if you can try to pick the offpeak hours of day to load and unload (the streets are narrow in St Ives so if you have a big car, be careful ;), it is also quite busy in day with people looking for car parking, accommodation etc )

All in all a great holiday and we will definitely stay at the Sail Loft again in the near future

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonnyDubl...
Irlanda
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great comfort and superb location”
Reviewed July 30, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Anyone who knows St Ives will understand just how fantastic is the location of this self catering cottage on Island Square. A one minute walk down to the harbour and Main Street at the front of the town, with its numerous galleries, restaurants and shops; just two minutes stroll to secluded, beautiful Porthgwidden beach and the Island and two minutes from the main surfing beach at Porthmeor. The Tate is less than five minutes and nowhere in the town you are likely to wish to visit is more ten minutes away.

The house itself is superbly well equipped and fitted to a very high standard, achieving a great balance of comfort and natural cosiness. Our family had a very enjoyable and relaxing stay. Greta was extremely pleasant to deal with at all stages from booking onwards and always replied promptly and clearly to any queries.

The addition of a designated parking spot ten minutes walk up the hill was great peace of mind. We enjoyed trips to The Minack Theatre, Mousehole, Geevor Tin Mine, The Lizard and games of 3 hole golf at Penrith and Gwinear which were excellent; but such was the beauty of the location, plenty of time was spent without the need of the car... activities in St Ives such as the fast rib ride, coasteering from Porthminster and a boat trip to Godrevy were all enjoyed in addition to swimming in Porthgwidden, body boarding on Porthmeor, gallery browsing and eating amazing Moomaid ice cream every night..

If you're thinking of a stay in St Ives there can't be too many options to compete with The Sail Loft cottage, we would love to return ourselves one day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarinaK78
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect house in a perfect location!”
Reviewed June 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Sail Loft. The house is so lovely, stylishly decorated and has everything you need and more. The owners have thought of everything! The kids especially loved the body boards! The wet room at the entrance was great after the days at the beach to wash off the sand.

The location is perfect being in between all the beaches and close to all the lovely shops, cafe and restaurants. The parking was great, being able to go off for the day knowing you had a space to come back to which isn't always guaranteed in St Ives.

We loved our stay that much that we have already booked our return for next year!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Road69022...
1 review
“Great location, lovely accommodation.”
Reviewed May 22, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We have been to St Ives many times and again enjoyed our stay, even if the weather was a bit changeable. The four of us enjoyed the Sail Loft which was clean and comfortable with all that you would expect. The location worked well as we had easy access to the beaches and the town. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helenwhit...
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Easter break”
Reviewed April 23, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Lovely accommodation, everything you required was there, bottle of wine,flowers and milk were there for our arrival. Close to all the beaches and the weather was fantastic for the week as well. So glad we took someone's recommendation, we were not disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesleyeng...
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway for a family with teenagers & a dog!”
Reviewed April 8, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We loved the cottage from the moment we arrived. Full of character, tastefully decorated and really spacious with everything we needed, plus milk & flowers waiting for us.

The cottage is located just 2 minutes from the Island, 3 minutes from both Portmeor and Porthgwidden beaches and less than 5 minutes to the lovely shops & bakeries on Fore Street.

With a wet room by the front door to wash off the sand from a day body-boarding, a wii & board games, plus a lovely big dining table, this is by far the nicest cottage we have stayed in when holidaying in St Ives.

Thanks Greta.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing