We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location and really homely house.”

Review of The Sail Loft

Spacious yet cosy living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious yet cosy living area
Open plan living area Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Spacious yet cosy living area
Open plan living area
Kitchen
Entrance with beach paraphernalia for your use - wetroom is through the door on the left
Bedroom 1 - First Floor
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3 - ground floor
Bathroom
Bath with shower
Equipped with everything you need for a great holiday
Dining for 6
Ground Floor
A place for little people to sit!
Plenty of comfy seating for six
A cosy place to spend Christmas
Wetroom detail
Bedroom 2 - first floor
X marks the spot - ideally located close to the beautiful blue flag beaches
Porthmeor Beach (less than 5 minute walk from the cottage) on a sunny September morning
Our own private parking space
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
St Ives, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
hlofkin
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location and really homely house.”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We went for my dad's 60th birthday - 5 adults so I was worried we would be on top of each other a bit. However there was loads of rooms and every room was really homely and cosy. None of us had 'a bad room' so we were all very happy! It was the perfect location being a minute from the harbour yet still nice and quiet. As it was winter I was worried about being cold but the house was lovely and warm and the beds were really comfy. All the fittings are to a very high standard and the whole place is really clean.

I'd definitely recommend as we all really enjoyed it! I hope we'll return one day.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa J
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect place to stay.”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

The sail loft is a beautiful house in a perfect location. It is spotlessly clean,comfortable and stylishly furnished to a very high standard. We have been fortunate enough to stay there a few times and would definitely return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How clean and comfortable the house is.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This is a charming, relaxing house for two legged and four legged guest alike!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

This is a lovely house , very well decorated , cosy and warm. We. Arrived on 1st November prepared for the rain and cold. Little did we expect sunshine and strolling along the beaches. Our Cocker Spaniel who was welcomed by the owner (small additional fee), fell in love with the house and I was relaxed with the wooden floors throughout the ground floor! The house is very well equipped , with plenty of seating space when friends called in for a "pit stop". Our party of 5 that varied in age from 16-70, all felt the house was perfect. The beds are all comfy and the bathroom is well appointed and of good size. The only challenge for the less mobile are the entrance steps down and the open sided steps to the first floor. This is a lovely destination cottage that bears all the halmarks of St. Ives and all of its history. We loved it!

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHarris20...
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect seaside escape”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

From the moment we stepped through the door of the Sail Loft, we (being my partner and our two dogs) knew we'd found our perfect home-from-home! Such a wonderful cosy cottage and extremely clean and comfortable. A real bonus for us is that it's tucked away from the hustle and bustle which equals two extraordinarily quiet Jack Russells! Yet it's only a 2-minute walk to St Ives' pretty harbour with its many eateries and drinking spots. Lovely sandy beaches also within minutes by foot - all dog friendly from 1st October to 30th April. Lots of other walks from the doorstep too.

The fact that there is an allocated parking space is also a bonus. It's around a ten minute walk from the cottage but you can easily pull up outside to unpack before parking the car for a week. We had friends stay on the Saturday night and they found the Rugby Club (about 20mins walk away from the centre of St Ives) had an 'honesty box' suggesting a donation of £5 per day for parking - bargain!

I would recommend The Sail Loft to everyone! Dog owners, go out of season if you want to make the most of the beaches.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location (tucked away and yet close to everything!)
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley10...
Swindon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect property, look no further!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Wow! What a beautiful and welcoming place to stay! The accommodation is generous to say the least and furnished to a very high standard. It was meticulously clean on arrival with numerous features which enabled us to quickly settle into a holiday routine. The considerate attention to detail is superb, making you feel immediately relaxed. Additional features such as a dishwasher only enhance the comfort of the accommodation.

We stayed with two families and three young children and we all had more than enough space, without feeling on top of each other.

The decor is thoughtful to the location and the owners have successfully achieved a homely, yet seaside atmosphere within the property.

The Sail Loft is ideally located just away from the hustle and bustle of the main seafront, therefore avoiding any unwanted noise, yet within easy access to a lovely stretch of shops and the numerous beautiful beaches.

The owners are incredibly friendly, organised and helpful. Their hospitality stretches above and beyond, making you feel as if you are staying at a friend's house.

Stunning property, beautiful location and very accommodating owners. What more could you want!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor, space and cleanliness
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copasetic...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable accommodation in a central location”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We booked this property several months in advance and had forgotten a few of the details in the meantime. We came as a family of four including two teenagers. Each of our children brought a same-sex friend. This meant that one pair had to share a double bed. This could have been a problem, but actually the double beds are reasonably big and the sharers didn't complain.

We really liked the fact that the property is so close to some very nice beaches. In fact, at low tide it takes less time to reach the top of Porthmeor beach than it does to get from the top of the beach to the water.

It's also very convenient for the Tate (the exhibition was very disappointing when we went) and the Barbara Hepworth Museum (definitely worth visiting). Both of these attractions can be visited free by two adults using the membership card kept in the house. (18-year-olds and under get in free anway.) There are lots of other galleries in the same street and elsewhere within easy reach. We'd particularly recommend the Millennium Gallery.

The property is very comfortable and, even with six fairly large people living in it, it didn't seem overcrowded. We cooked meals regularly and found the kitchen to be well-equipped and the cooker easy to use and reliable.

There are only a couple of drawbacks. The first is that the main living area is below ground so it is quite dark during the day despite some small windows above head height that throw is some natural light. Having said that, the lack of light means that it is also a cool place to be on a hot day. We also discovered that because you are below ground, you can make quite a lot of noise (two guitars and singing) without being heard from outside.The only other slight drawback for us was that the duvets are very thick and in our opinion better suited to winter than to summer.

The landlady, Greta, is very approachable and was eager to ensure that we had a good holiday. When we had a problem with the shower, she quickly arranged for a plumber to come out and fix it, and she always replied very promptly and helpfully to our enquiries. And, when our son left his mobile phone in the house at the end of the stay, she let us know before we had even reached home, and returned it.

We ate out several times. Our favourite places were Blas Burgerworks (very reasonable for St Ives) and Porthminster Beach Cafe (quite expensive but very good). We also had a good curry at the Curry Garden (bring your own wine/beer).

We would definitely consider a return visit, but probably not in mid-August when St Ives is at its busiest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location close to beaches
Liked least: Living area is below ground with little natural light
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bidford
1 review
“A stylish centrally located cottages n the heart of St Ives.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

My family and I (plus our well behaved dog) had a frantastic week in The Sail Loft. The cottage is in a prime position, minutes from the beach, harbour and very usefully the island for Eva the dog. St Ives never disappoints and nor did this beautifully renovated cottage. Greta and Rich have done a wonderful job of up dating The Sail Loft, whilst staying true to the original building. Stylish rooms with practical, well appointed kitchen, contemporary furniture and quirky details which are delightful. Thank you

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing