We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Cornish restaurant with something for everyone”
Review of The Watermill

The Watermill
Ranked #42 of 146 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Stroud, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delightful Cornish restaurant with something for everyone”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

The Watermill is a cornish pub restaurant. Great atmosphere in a converted water mill. Wheel and other parts still turning. Lovely gardens with stream running through. Two floors, downstairs and gardens ideal for families. Upstairs ideal for adults. Menu extensive and high quality. I shared mussels in white wine starter with my wife which was delicious. Our son started with Thai fish cakes. We followed with Sea Bass fillets, pork ribs and steak burger respectively- all very tasty and nicely presented. I finished with cornish cheese selection - some unusual and rare interesting cheeses. Only downside is that this great eaterie is now very popular and the small car park can't cope so you may have an unexpected walk but it is worth it. I rate it 5 out of 5 and visit every holiday.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    140
    33
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not your typical pub food”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The watermill is a great pub with gardens, a couple of swings a stream and a watermill. It backs onto countryside. It serves real ales and a great selection of wines. They get really busy in the summer so make sure you book! There is a specials board with starters such as crab cakes or tiger prawns in chilli butter, mains such as sea bass on sweet potato. The food is better than a lot you get in restaurants. There are tables downstairs where you order from the bar, or a waiter service upstairs for the same price. We have been every time we have visited Cornwall and will be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rmack1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderfull value”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic warm welcome,shown to our reserved table and explained the specials board etc. The food was wonderful and you certainly get a plate full. In fact we struggled to eat it all :) plus Doombar on tap what more could you ask for

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rsmini1071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“holiday lunch”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

very pleasant & accommodating. just called in for a quick lunch visit, ordered a mixture of ploughmans lunches & sandwiches and nibbles all washed down with a pleasant local ale & cider.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank duncangoodison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Really lovely pub. Beautiful setting, nice outdoor seating, swings for children and little bridge over running stream. Lovely, fresh pub food, great atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reviewerU K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Watermill also viewed

 

Been to The Watermill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing