We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy and relaxed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Watermill

The Watermill
Ranked #36 of 143 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cornwall
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cozy and relaxed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

If you are looking for somewhere quiet but not too quiet, pub like but not 'pubby', quality but not pretentiousness then this is the place. We had a lovely quiet meal upstairs and felt really at home with happy smiling staff and good food. We went as a couple but I think families would also find this place perfect.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    133
    31
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Great place for family and dog”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

While on holiday visited Watermill because they allowed dogs,walked in staff were great food was excellent would recommend to all young or old with or without dogs.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rugbymanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We ate here last night. The atmosphere is welcoming, the staff are efficient, and the food was excellent. Will definitely be visiting again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Madge1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice grub......Excellent beer festivals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Live locally but always forget about this place, had a Gourmet homemade burger and my partner had a lush mixed grill, very nice great service and nice to see strongbow on pump.

These guys make such an effort for a beer festival, bands, local ales, marques etc etc.......see you next weekend

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank daisychambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't eat here.... The food was shocking!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We went here after reading the reviews on here.... We ordered 4 medium rare fillet steaks, only one was ok the others were overlooked the chips and the onion rings were also overcooked. my father could hardly cut through his steak! The only good food were the peas!!! Don't eat here it was shocking! And I would not recommend this place to anyone, ever! We expressed our concerns to the waitress and she said she would TRY and tell the chef! What a joke...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maz_baz_eng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Watermill also viewed

 

Been to The Watermill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing