We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, good service and brilliant views!”

Balcony Bar & Kitchen
Ranked #46 of 143 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: Bar, British, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television
Description: The balcony bar located on the harbour front overlooking the seafront provides a fast paced and welcoming environment for people to enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner or if you just fancy drink you are always more than welcome. We specialise in live sport and have numerous screens so you don't miss out on any of the action no matter where you are sat. We don't take bookings but due to the fast paced nature of the bar we do promise to seat everyone that comes through our door.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food, good service and brilliant views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We went into the Balcony Bar for breakfast during half-term, with my wife and I having the full English and our son having nachos with cheese! The staff were very friendly and there was no problem in replacing the egg (which I don't eat) with an additional sausage/bacon. The table we sat at had great views of the harbour and the street below, so great for watching the world go by. Our food was superb, with the sausages and bacon obviously not from the supermarket. Our son's nachos with cheese and salsa was very good and we dipped into them as well. All in all, a great place to start the day.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Awayonourown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    136
    42
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ok, but lunchtime only”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

The setting enticed us to visit...we arrived and it was empty and got a table easily. We sat for ages and then read a menu which said you had to order at the bar....despite being empty this took ages.....food was ok but the mackerel burger is not a fish burger it is two mackerels in a bun, which was okeish but not clear from the menu. Ok for an early dinner or lunch but not late special treat for adults, crab and rum shack much better!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 97connors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place - Wish we'd discovered it earlier on !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled upon this place by accident, don't know how we haven't come across it before. Got table by window overlooking harbour. Great menu and great prices. Surfboards along ceiling, painted oil drums for tables and some great wall art. Food very well presented and tasty. Burgers excellent quality. Will definately go back for more.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D4LSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great views and friendly staff, little pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

There is a nice venue with great views over the harbour. The service was pretty quick and the food tasted nice it was just a bit pricey for what you got. Chips aren’t included with a meal and have to be bought separately and start at £2.30 and go up. The quality of the burger itself seemed nice and it was a pleasant setting maybe the rates are a bit high being on the waterfront but if you just want a decent good value burger then Wetherspoons is a good alternative.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hadleigh007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Find this place just wandering around with my teenage kids back in May. No queing to find a table by the window that looks out over the harbour.
Food was great then.
Returned last week and treated my girlfriend to lunch. No problem finding a table, great service and great food.
Have only tried the burgers (including the Mackeral) but they do other meals. Rosemary and sea salt fries are excellent as were the onion rings. One portion between us was sufficient.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balcony Bar & Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Balcony Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing