We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 106 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

A great little B&B very well located within St Ives with car parking! Bedroom comfortable and well-appointed. Great views over Porthminster Beach towards Hayle from the bay window. Simon and Lindsay very welcoming and accommodation. Would thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueSkyStIves, Owner at Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
104
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
delabole
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

1st visit for me and my wife, fantastic shower ,lovely large comfy bed, excellent breakfast, we cannot wait to revisit in August. Lindsay and Simon are lovely host.A perfect location to explore wonderful St Ives, park the car up outside and enjoy St Ives

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank football1677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueSkyStIves, Owner at Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights. This B&B is great value for money, situated as it is within a stroll of St. Ives, with off-street car-parking. Our double room was large, comfortable and had every amenity. It was also spotlessly clean.

Out hosts were warm and welcoming, breakfasts were top-notch. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueSkyStIves, Owner at Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Couldn't agree more with comments from others on this site. This is a wonderful B&B with hosts who go way beyond normal hospitality to make you welcome and help you with information and assistance to make your holiday something special. If you want to see the best of west Cornwall, stay here. Everything is within easy reach and you will have a great time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The location of this b&b is perfect: on site parking, five minutes walking from the center of St. Ives, five minutes from the train station, no traffic under your window. You can forget about the car and this is a true luxury in busy St. Ives.

Porthminster terrace is above the old town it offers a lovely view over the bay in sunny days. When walking to the beach expect a few steps though.

We had the Carn Brea room, which is a bit small but still features kettle and cups, flat tv, a king size bed and a nice closet (so you don't have luggage standing in your way). The ensuite bathroom also is a bit small, but it's well appointed and new. Don't expect a sea view from the room (just other houses). In general it's not a luxury room, but it's very pleasant, with a relaxing decor in shades of green, it's also very functional as well as spotless clean.

There's wi-fi everywhere in the house but for some reason our laptop could not connect. This wasn't a problem though, as there's an ipad available for the guests. There are also books, dvds and lots of toys for the kids (families are very welcome).

Breakfast is excellent. I particularly appreciated the fresh fruit.

Simon and Lindsey create a very relaxing, friendly atmosphere in their house. Simon took care of our car, making sure that no one was blocking it in (as I said, St. Ives can be very busy), advised about surfing spots, and even lent us a bodyboard. Also we had a couple of rainy days, we were coming home with soggy boots and dripping jackets and still we were welcomed with a smile (I felt very sorry for the nice white carpet of the staircase though!).

Heartily recommended.

Room Tip: The Trencrom is a large double room that can also accommodate a cot (sea view). The Carn Brea is sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garnant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I booked Blue Sky for my husband's birthday weekend and it was an absolutely delightful stay thanks to Simon and Lindsey. We were welcomed by our hosts with tea, biscuits and a special tray of strawberries and Elderflower fizz for my husband, it was such a nice touch after a long drive from London.

We stayed in the Trencrom room, it is tastefully decorated and spotless. You have a beautiful view of St Ives Bay to wake up to every morning. The bed was comfortable and large, and there is ample seating and storage in the room. The bathroom was very clean and had a powerful shower.

There are plenty of options at breakfast with fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereals and any combination of hot breakfast to order. Everything was cooked to perfection and delicious, a great way to start to the day.

The location is perfect, there is plenty of parking in front of the b&b and the train station is close by. You can walk to the town centre/harbour area within 5 minutes down hill. The b&b is located on a road with other b&bs, but it is quiet in the evenings.

Simon and Linsdey were very gracious hosts and never intrusive, we are looking forward to staying with them again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the larger Trencrom room, which had beautiful sweeping views of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug0654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Lovely people run this B&B, so warm and friendly we have become facebook friends with them!
Room was excellent, fantastic power shower too. Breakfasts wonderful, extras like the plate of fresh fruit and bowls of dried fruit & nuts & seeds were very generous. We will definitely stay again. Best stay ever in Cornwall! Thanks x

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueChrisCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
901 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tregony Guest House
Tregony Guest House
#9 of 106 in St Ives
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 106 in St Ives
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast

Property: Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast
Address: 8 Porthminster Terrace, St Ives TR26 2DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Sky is a granite built house within 5 minutes walk of the beaches and the centre of St Ives. There are three comfortable double rooms available on the first floor, all with en-suite shower rooms. One with stunning views of St Ives bay another with a balcony and sea views. They all have a flat screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryers and broadband wi-fi access. There is free parking available on the drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sky Bed And Breakfast St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing