We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and good food”
Review of The Lifeboat Inn

The Lifeboat Inn
Ranked #16 of 144 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Tamborine Mountain, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good service and good food”
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

St Ives can be an expensive and crowded place, but this Inn is a good quality venue right on the harbour. Staff were welcoming and efficient, table service was particularly good. The food is good, honest pub food; fresh and very tasty.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank GailP240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    730
    401
    103
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good all round”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Great for quality menu, value for money, friendly efficient staff, cleanliness. A great welcome wether eating or just having a pint. Family friendly. If we lived in St Ives this would be our local.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 47Jude47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
184 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“No room for drinkers”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Have always eaten in The Life Boat during our easter holidays and was therefore very disappointed to see that they now focus far more on providing food than being a good place to catch up for a drink during the holiday. My husband and son in law popped in for a drink and to watch the football while my daughter and i looked around the shops before joining them to eat once the football had finished. But they were asked to move as they were only drinking and the table was needed by people ordering food. Needless to say we didn't stop to eat when my daughter and I joined them. Shame, looks like profit comes first now

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Would be 5 rating but no longer allow dogs”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Lifeboat has a lovely atmosphere and now allow children which is great but unfortunately no longer allow dogs which is a pity as whilst we were there a lot of potential customers asked the same question and they would have missed out on a lot of custom. The prices seem to have risen for the food which is also a pity as two years ago the steak was £9.95 and for the same steak now it is £16.95!! Other local pubs on the harbour allow dogs so we decided to eat there instead.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alli-g37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Spot on!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We chose to eat here on Saturday evening rather than a restaurant and ended up staying for the evening, enjoying live music and having a great time. The staff were very hard working and accommodating. The menu was better than your average pub selection and very reasonable. This place had a good atmosphere and customers of all ages. We would certainly visit again on our next trip to St Ives.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovethesunshineDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lifeboat Inn also viewed

St Ives, Cornwall
St Ives, Cornwall
 
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to The Lifeboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing