We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch, will be back.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Countryman Hotel St Ives
Ranked #37 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great lunch, will be back.”
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

We stopped off here on our way home from st Ives and what a little gem! Family friendly, good menu and several different beers larger & ales. All in all we had a lovely lunch in the large back garden and will definitely return

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenb1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    22
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
39
42
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We had seen the sign for the Sunday lunch on our way to St. Ives so stopped on our return. We were on "American time" and were rather early for English Sunday lunch but Sylvia was so friendly and said we would only have to wait a short while. We enjoyed a drink in the garden before being called. I had the roast beef and my husband the roast pork; both of us enjoyed the meal and, unlike the earlier reviewer, felt at the price it was good value for money after some of the overpriced roast lunches we had on this England visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalind P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We didn't stay at the hotel. We arrived for lunch on Sunday. The price was roughly what you'd pay elsewhere in Cornwall, however the dinner was more like school dinner! I had the chicken and my partner had the beef. We were given 2 small potatoes each and an Aunt Bessie yorkshire pudding! The beef was like leather and my chicken was chopped into 5 little pieces. There were no condiments on the table, it was all a little small and we found the whole operation a little amateurish. We would not go there again for lunch. Not worth the money at all!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 349Dawn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We don't usually need accommodation in Cornwall as we have family nearby and in Padstow, but with builders in we couldn't use spare rooms so The Countryman was just a few 100 yards from 'home'.
Our hosts were most attentive, the room large and comfortable and the shower even better than the luxury venue we stayed at in Wiltshire the previous night that was over twice the price!
Breakfast was great too!
Can certainly recommend it to others - it is quiet and peaceful and an easy to reach base to explore West Cornwall

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My wife and I spent five excellent days touring West Cornwall, while basing ourselves at the Countryman Hotel. Rob and Sylvia made us most welcome and the hospitality was second to none. The bedroom was modern and very comfortable with a an excellent large shower in the bathroom. The breakfast was superb and made a good start to the day. I would (and have) recommend the Countryman Hotel to my friends and family. I can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wallace1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Arrived late so did'nt appreciate the lovely country aspects of this b & b. Room was a delight, large with a wonderful designer shower.
Breakfast was fantastic - set me up for the day.
Had a great chat with Silvia and Rob.
I would advise a stay here

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firstmarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Me and my wife stopped 25-29th sept and had the best time. Rob and Sylvia are two of the nicest people you will meet. Nothing is to much trouble for them and we was made to feel very welcome from the minute we got there. We find it an ideal location as it is far enough away from st Ives centre that it doesn't over charge but close enough that you can be there in five minutes. We will definitely be back next year. We didn't eat there in the evening but if the food is anything like the breakfast then it will be lovely. We were treated to an Elvis night on the sat night which was brilliant. I really can't rate this place high enough. Look forward to going back. Andy and Giselle

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyfairbrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
1.2 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
227 reviews
1.8 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 21 in St Ives
169 reviews
2.1 mi away
Poldhu Guest House
Poldhu Guest House
#93 of 102 in St Ives
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Engine Inn
The Engine Inn
#1 of 1 in Nancledra
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lodge at Balnoon
The Lodge at Balnoon
#45 of 102 in St Ives
63 reviews
1.1 mi away
Thurlestone Guest House
Thurlestone Guest House
#15 of 102 in St Ives
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Countryman Hotel St Ives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Countryman Hotel St Ives

Property: The Countryman Hotel St Ives
Address: Old Coach Rd, St Ives TR26 3JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in Style Superior comfort and a warm welcome awaits you at the Countryman Hotel, set in one acre of landscaped gardens with rocky streams and pond, Dating from the 17th century, today this small hotel has recently been renovated to meet the needs of the modern visitor, all rooms have new flat screen televisions and tea making facilities, modern en-suite shower, basin, and toilet, baths are available in some rooms, The atmosphere of the hotel is friendly and inviting, the emphasis being on cheerful service and good value for money. Accommodation: Whether you just require a double room for the night or a twin room for a weekend break, Maybe a Family room for two weeks Holiday, our choice of bedrooms will not disappoint. Sand stone effect en-suite bathroom and Shower rooms are available with white fluffy towels and attention to detail to make this hotel in Cornwall extra special. Our Location: The Countryman Hotel is fast becoming one of the places to stay in St Ives. Situated just a five minute drive on the outskirts of the historical quaint town of St Ives in the valley of Trink Hill with magnificent Cornish country views, this hotel in Cornwall is perfectly located to explore the beautiful rugged coastline, sandy beaches and rolling countryside of Cornwall. Our Breakfast: Breakfast is of the traditional Cornish variety: we endeavour to offer the best standards of service and presentation to ensure that our guests start the day in time honoured fashion. A wide choice of fresh, local and seasonal produce appears on our menu, juices, yogurts and cereals, together with full cooked breakfasts of every description, we also cater for all appetites and diets. Our Cosy Bar: Have a refreshing draught beer or maybe a bottle of ale from our collection of Local Cornish ales, ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Countryman Hotel St Ives Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing