We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Service. Uncaring Attitude by Manager.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of PizzaExpress

PizzaExpress
Ranked #76 of 143 Restaurants in St Ives
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
172 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Poor Service. Uncaring Attitude by Manager.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Sadly, this was one of our worst Pizza Express visits in quite a while.

We were seated promptly and server bought drinks and took order pretty quickly. Good attempt at up selling too; olives etc.

Unfortunately it then went a bit Pete Tong. Food took a long while and kids didn't receive their dough balls. These are included in the kiddies meals. We asked server a couple of times and, in the end just paid and left without having them or desserts. Much easier to buy a nice cream from the excellent shop next door but one.

Adult pizzas were both luke warm and very greasy underneath.

All of these issues were discussed with duty manager but, in all honesty, she couldn't have cared less. Very disappointing indeed.

Sadly, the attitude here is a classic case of tourist fatigue. We, like lots of other customers to this restaurant, are not local, we might not come back and even if we do it won't be anytime soon, so we don't matter.

You see this a lot in London and it's sad to see it's crept down to the bottom of lovely Cornwall.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank brushsalesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    87
    69
    47
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camborne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not a great experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

If you want to eat here and you like pasta dishes - get in early because they run out! Booked a table for 8.30pm for a birthday family meal and had disappointed wife and son who both wanted a dish that they`d run out of, no pasta dishes WHATSOEVER available to order, all we got was "we`ve run out...you can have pizza!" at which point I swallowed hard and took a deep breath...

We ate here on Tuesday 27th May and first thing the next day I emailed their head office to register my disappointment at a birthday meal which was pretty rubbish. No reply as yet.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
182 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Serve Children first!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We visited last Easter and were disappointed by burnt pizza but as we like the chain generally we gave this branch another go. We visited on Easter day having booked a table for 7 adults and 2 children as we expected them to be busy. They had obviously been busy over the holiday as we ordered the pitted olives , sold out, large bottles of Peronei beer, sold out, Children's Bolognese -sold old. We eventually all found something we wanted . The 2 portions of adult dough balls to share came a long time before the children's. This meant the children became restless and had to be given some of ours while they waited. When the main courses came initially there was no sign of the children's food. 1 child Pizza eventually came but the pasta dish was still missing. Eventually we managed to catch the waitress who went in search of the missing child's meal only to return to say there was no béchamel sauce, so what did we want instead. We then had to wait while another child's pizza was cooked which obviously arrived far too hot for a 2 year old to eat causing more tears and upset. I would say to anyone visiting with children to insist that the children's meals are served first - in most places this happens automatically and the food arrives cool enough to eat. What should have been a relaxed family meal at place where everyone could choose what they liked became a bit of a battle to explain to a hungry child why it had to wait for its food when every one else had theirs.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

A lovely situation, right by the harbour in St Ives. Shame that the food doesn't cut it. Service was slow, not enough staff but Tommy G was personable and helpful. The Lasagne Verde was tasty and hot but not exceptional value at £9.75. The new menu item termed Leggera Salmon Salad was shocking. A flat plate with a few rocket leaves, quarter of an avocado pear, 6 slices of cucumber and less than 100 grams of flaked salmon. Worth about 3 quid tops! Actual cost £11.45. Still the place was full of holiday makers - hope they all stuck to pizzas!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jonkeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Really good food as always with Pizza Express and this restaurant is in a stunning location overlooking St Ives harbour. Service was poor, waitresses wandering with plates of food randomly asking tables if this was their order! At one point there were no waitresses at all and after waiting 10 minutes we had to go downstairs to ask for the bill! Shame.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaysMijasCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PizzaExpress also viewed

Newquay, Cornwall
Truro, Truro District
 

Been to PizzaExpress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing