We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but great food”
Review of Seagrass - CLOSED

Seagrass
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: AA Rosette restaurant in St Ives - just a few metres up from Harbour Beach. An intimate & contemporary restaurant, serving modern British cuisine including locally caught fish & seafood straight from the bay, meat dishes and vegetarian options. Also available - Oyster and Shells menu, featuring oysters, lobster, crab, langoustine, Fruit de Mer and more! Bar area for drinks only, offering an extensive wine, drinks and cocktail menu. Open for dinner from 6pm daily for A la Carte and fixed price menu - 2 course £16.95/3 Course £19.95. (Autumn/Winter opening times apply). Recently featured in The Good Food Guide, Hardens and The Michelin Guide. Restaurant available for private hire (weddings/birthday parties). Private dining available.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Pricey but great food”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We shared a night out with friends in St Ives and booked Seagrass. You have to book early to get in here! Its a nice small place, and has a very intimate atmosphere. The menu as might expect is full of divine sea food dishes, we were disappointed that we had not been told on booking that the "Fruits of the sea" dish needed a 24 hour pre-order lead time. We would have picked this if we had been told on booking!!! We picked the next best thing - a sea food platter / selection. We ordered 2 sharing dishes for 4 and could have easily had 1 between 4, they were huge. We had good wine and great deserts. Over all a good meal. It is at the high end in St Ives so be prepared.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

907 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    625
    163
    77
    31
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere and great quality food!”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

The restaurant is quite small so ensure you book, there is a lovely selection of food which is all fantastic quality. I had the pork terrine to start which was amazing followed by the mussels which were also lovely! great staff in a nice surrounding.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kirsty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Charming St Ives restaurant”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

If you're looking for somewhere a little bit special to eat in St Ives, then this is it. Although small and tucked away with no sea views, the ambiance is great and the food delightful. I particularly enjoyed the scallop starter and the fish to follow (ling) was super fresh. As for dessert - sticky toffee pud, mmmnn!

I would thoroughly recommend this restaurant.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Loved it all!”
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

From the atmosphere to the very friendly staff to the amazing food we could not fault this place.

Even our resident veggie and our picky eater where happy bunnies :-)

If you are in St Ives you really should visit Seagrass...you won't be disappointed!

Helpful?
3 Thank Celia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Alright”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Well, it was alright but at those prices it should have whistles and bells and a brass band. We ordered oysters, three for £9.95 as a taster... and they were fine. Just fine, not big and bold and tasting of the sea but OK. The big disappointment was the lobster at £64 for two (half a lobster each) we ordered it hot with thermidor sauce (an extra £2.95, c'mon that's just ridiculous) only the lobster wasn't hot, the meat was cold, chilled even, having obviously been cooked previously. Only it shouldn't have been sat there waiting... or running round the kitchen trying to escape being cooked to order... should have been white and succulent... instead of white and just about alright. The sides were stingy, a tiny dish of new potatoes and two bits of bread to share between the two of us. Te one high note was the wine, only if I'd just wanted a good bottle of wine I'd have gone to an off license, not a seafood restaurant. So the verdict is over-priced and not that nice.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Snoopnuttynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seagrass also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing