We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Captivating Storyteller” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shanty Baba Storyteller

Shanty Baba Storyteller
Ranked #3 of 12 Tours in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: St Ives Storyteller Shanty Baba has been enthralling and entertaining visitors to the town for the past decade. Check out his Lantern Ghost Storywalk..."the darker side of St Ives". It is a night that will haunt you for a long time to come. As an eerie darkness falls over the town, come with Shanty, as he light his hurricane lantern to tell you stories of ghosts, smugglers, murderers and other spirits of the night! And if you stay at the end, he will tell you a technique he learnt while living with a yogi in India that will let you look into the shadow lands beyond. No ifs, no buts. If you dare!His St Ives Pirate Walk is a broadside of entertainment, with pirate stories, instruction in the code and lessons in piratespeak. It is a fun filled youyage of piratical mayhem and laughter that appeals to young and old alike. Come dressed as pirate crew!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
1 review
“Captivating Storyteller”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I attended Shanty Baba's Ghost Walk on Wednesday 24th June 2013, with my partner and family, and we all found it to be an extremely exciting, interesting night. Shanty is obviously an extremely knowledgeable man which comes across throughout his storytelling, although some stories do come across a little fantasy. As well as the great storytelling throughout the night, the walk also leads to some great views across St. Ives and I would highly recommend this night if you are staying in St. Ives.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    28
    3
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Brilliant and Captivating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

and is a must for anyone visiting St Ives, regardless of age. I would love to do his comedy walk next time I'm down in Cornwall.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DanylBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not for me”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Overall I would say that Shanty did put effort into this walk. However some of the stories were a bit fanciful, we were expecting to actually be scared and potentially see some paranormal activity. However it honestly just felt like a bunch of stories some of which were really quite hard to believe (rat stories). We came away disappointed. But shantys enthusiasm is second to none.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SaltyDarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Brilliant brilliant brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time we've been on a story walk with Shanty in St. Ives and it didn't disappoint an nor was it repetitive. Great guy and interesting historical stories told well during a wander around the towns back streets, harbour, cemetery & parks. High recommended for sure :-)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Creepy Ghost Walk!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Took my daughter on this walk and was impressed by the knowledge and spooky tales Shanty Baba had to offer....especially while in the dark graveyard listening to flesh eating rat stories!!!
Would highly recommend this walk to anyone who is brave enough!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mosschops71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanty Baba Storyteller also viewed

 

Been to Shanty Baba Storyteller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing