We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent deli with delicious food”
Review of The Cornish Deli

The Cornish Deli
Ranked #3 of 146 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Seafood, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Cornish Deli exists to bring to best quality Cornish and regional produce to its customers.If you want fantastic quality local meats, cheeses, seafood, fruit and vegetables, snacks and regional specialities, the Cornish Deli is for you.Incorporated with the Cornish Deli, is the The Deli Cafe offering hot and cold drinks, brunches, lunches, afternoon tea, and Evening Meals. As well as providing lots of wonderful foods and drinks, the Cornish Deli is home to the Deli Cafe. The Deli Cafe offers delicious drinks including Lavazza coffee, brunches, lunches, afternoon tea and Evening Meals. All food can be eaten in or take-away. The Deli Cafe is open every day, and in the summer evenings from Tuesday to Sunday. It is fully air conditioned and fuly licensed, providing the perfect sanctuary away from the often busy St. Ives streets.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent deli with delicious food”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stopped in here for our first lunch in St Ives after a long car journey down. It was Saturday afternoon and there seemed to be some sort of coffee grinding crisis going on and this meant there was a slight delay in our order being taken but no matter, we were quite happy to have a sit down in a cool place. The guy running the deli was lovely, very chatty and seemed an all round great bloke. The soft drinks we ordered came in frozen glasses and the sandwiches we had were excellent. Loads of filling and the bread was amazing. There was no crab left when we arrived so if you are wanting crab sandwiches specifically, you might want to arrive before the lunch rush.
The second time we called in, my partner had the garlic mushrooms with blue cheese and said it was truly delicious and one of the best things he had ever had. I had the cream tea and the scones were fantastic and very fresh and 'home made' tasting.
We would definitely come here again and can heartily recommend it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elithommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    77
    12
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Visited earlier today for lunch. Sweet chilli chicken sandwich was excellent as were the salad and toasted sandwiches. Superb Elderflower presse in chilled, frosted glasses. Probably the best coffee consumed during a week in Cornwall. Excellent, professional, attentive but relaxed service made this a very enjoyable visit which we deemed to be excellent value for money.. All this AND Tom Petty playing in the background.....what more could you want? The surly purveyors of morbid food we have encountered during the week in other areas of Cornwall would well advised to visit The Cornish Deli and learn how it should be done.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank igris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Cornish food.”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

After reading the great reviews on Trip advisor we thought we would give it a go,I'm so glad we did.
What tasty food,it may be a small cafe but the service and atmosphere was excellent.
They also do a take away service which had a great selection on the menu.
The best food we tasted in St Ives!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Woody1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic brunch”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Decided to call here for brunch on our visit to St Ives after reading the reviews. I had the crab sandwich and it was delicious and very filling. Husband and son both wanted the beef but unfortunately it wasn't quite ready. Mike suggested the ham and they both had variations on this as a toasted baguette and were very impressed. Coffee was lovely and hot. Mike was very busy but still found time to chat and this will am sure become a regular haunt on our visits. Good luck and hope business continues to grow from strength to strength.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stuart_gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

My sister and I read on Trip Advisor that The Deli was the best for breakfast, so we thought we would give it a go, are we glad we did! It is a sweet little place, the food was fantastic, but we have to say that Mike most definitely made our experience a funny and happy one, nothing is to much trouble and the enthusiasm shown by Mike and the nice chap in the kitchen was more than enough to make us return for another breakfast. Can't wait until next year to hot foot it to the wonderful Deli, we hope to see you all there soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarenJoyce_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cornish Deli also viewed

 

Been to The Cornish Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing