We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum, yum, yum.....”

Harbour Fish & Chips
Ranked #34 of 148 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
nuneaton
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Yum, yum, yum.....”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

No wonder this place ended up being packed even on a cold Saturday in January. Cod and chips, tea or coffee and a slice of bread and butter for £5.95, lunchtime special. Bargain. Very hot and freshly cooked, light crispy batter, flaky fish, good chips. A good portion too for the price. Despite waitresses being very busy, both were very friendly and quick.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank nuneatonmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    801
    439
    152
    64
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“So good we went twice.......”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Spent last week in St Ives and returned to our favourite fish & chip shop in Cornwall...Meals on Thursday & Friday were superb....Different staff both nights but the same high quality food and service...We cannot speak too highly of this restaurant...10/10.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tupperofthetrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We had heard good things about the food here but were left disappointed. The Cod was very small for the price however it was quite tasty. What I didn't like was the reheated chips. These chips had been cooked earlier and then reheated when we arrived. This meant most of them ended up in the bin!

Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Keverne
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Superb... Mug of tea a little pricey.”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Walked in off street and was greeted with warmth and friendliness. As time was a bit of an issue asked out right how long it would take. The chef could not have been more honest and helpful.

sat down and was greeted by a nice young lady who asked for a drinks order whilst we chose our meals. We ordered two mugs of tea.

The food was bought out to us promptly and was delicious. Special mention goes to the sweet potato shavings that are used as a garnish. Amazingly nice.

when the bill arrived I had no hesitation in adding a tip. Will return here.

My comment in the title about the tea is my only MINOR worry. £1.85 for a mug of tea seemed aittle pricey. However it won't stop me going back

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DJProperJob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BEST LEMON SOLE EVER”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Went here at the beginning of the month. Had the grilled lemon sole. without doubt the best fish i have ever had. ever.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank becky p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour Fish & Chips also viewed

 

Been to Harbour Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing