We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fish and Chips the best ever, service among the worst.”

Harbour Fish & Chips
Ranked #31 of 143 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips the best ever, service among the worst.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We went to this restaurant based on a number of recommendations about the food and we were not disappointed. We order a special selection which included cod, fish cakes, prawn skewers and squid with chips, as well as beers and some mashed minted peas. The food was by far the best fish and chips we have ever had, with crispy batter and lovely fresh tender fish. The fish cakes were hand made with large chunks of salmon and the prawns were
large and juicy. The food was topped off with some sweet potato crisps which were lovely. Unfortunately, the place was let down by the sour faced, miserable waitresses who looked utterly put out by having to do their jobs and actually made us feel uncomfortable to be there. No one asked us if everything was ok with our meals until the end when there was a possibility of a tip which we declined to provide based on how bad they were. It's a shame as the food is so nice but the service is not befitting of the premium price charged for the food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 09Phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    745
    412
    137
    58
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food, too busy.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a classic fish and chip supper here this week. Food was good, service good, but the whole experience is let down by the conveyor experience of quick food, as there is a long queue of people waiting for tables.

Fish was first class, especially the fillet of hake, and the very unusual battered scallops with a chilli dip. Parsnip crisps on everything is unusual, but enjoyable.

So to recap, good food, don't bother with a bottle of wine, as the experience is too short.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank catsflap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The most amazing fish and chip restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this restaurant is fantastic. The service is brilliant and the food amazing. The fish and chips with minted mushy peas are the best we have ever had. This was followed by fantastic apple crumble with clotted cream. We would highly recommend this restaurant to everyone

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dave77st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

OMG, this is my favourite fish and chip place ever.....super clean, friendly staff, good prices and great views over the harbour....a definite must if visiting st ives.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louise m M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

A great, efficient and busy place for lunch. A reasonable choice of fish to have with chips or salad including sardines and mackerel. I confess to having had mackerel and chips with bread and butter and a glass of red wine!! (On two occasions.) The restaurant is clean and the service prompt. This is not somewhere to linger; the food is of good quality and value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EscapeMoreOften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour Fish & Chips also viewed

 
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to Harbour Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing