We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic !”

Harbour Fish & Chips
Ranked #33 of 144 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Bristol
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“fantastic !”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Went here after reading the reviews. Decent fish and chips can be hard to come by. We both had cod and chips and I had mushy peas which were lovely. Crisp sweet potato "shavings" are a nice touch (not carrots as one review said!) My husband doesnt like too much batter so asked for his fish to be "lightly" battered which they were happy to accomodate. Washed down with a cider and glass of wine! Service great. All in all if you love fish and chips, come here!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank VickyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    777
    428
    147
    60
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Liked it so much went back twice”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

In the 8 days I stayed at St Ives in late November I went back to Harbour Fish & Chips 3 times, once for lunch on my own, once for an early dinner with a friend, and once to get take-away and sit on the beach. I sampled the monkfish, the cod, and the seabass, all 3 were wonderful. You certainly get more for your money if you stick with the cod, whose portions are bigger and priced less. All the fish is local from the premier fishmonger in Cornwall. When we ate in, the service was very good, and on one occasion, one of the owners came by to ask how our meal was. Next time, I am in St Ives, I plan to return.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
12 Thank savvytraveler101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Could not fault this place. We had a meal here after deciding a competitor was a bit pricey. What a great decision. Either grilled or fried fish, salad or chips or both. Highly recommend the fudge cake.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank MrGJMoyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First things First”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

First stop for us & the dog is fish & chips from the Harbour. We drive down early, dump our stuff and then obviously have to walk the dog! Always end up there & then take best fish & chips ever on the beach! Follow it up with a drink at the Sloop & you know your on holiday!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Ros H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very Good Fish and Chips”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Very good fish and chips in smart surroundings and a nice selection of local drinks to accompany the meal too. The chips were great and the batter on the fish suitably crunchy. The only slight drawback was that the cod was a little dry, rather than the large moist flakes that would have made this the perfect fish and chips.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank MonkeyBusiness1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour Fish & Chips also viewed

 

Been to Harbour Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing