We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will be back! Lovely location and owners” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Leaf Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Little Leaf Guest House
Ranked #3 of 106 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“We will be back! Lovely location and owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

After staying in the little leaf with my partner Emily, We can happily and strongly recommend this B&B. Not only is the little leaf in a fantastic location over looking st ives, but also very warm, welcoming and hospitable thanks to the owners, Lee and Danny.

Our stay was always met with welcoming smiles, tips and advice when needed. The house itself is very clean and well maintained. Books, maps, Internet and even, every now again, lees cooking of fudge and cookies can be found in the lounge area. (which was lovely to come back to after long walks down the near by beaches).

Overall, our first but certainly not last stay, was very welcoming, comfortable and ideal for any couple or family visiting st ives. I strongly recommend a stay at the little leaf with Lee and Danny!

I wish them both all the best and look forward to seeing them both in the near future!

Adam

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ARW-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    32
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
474
48
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Little Leaf is conveniently located close to St. Ives town centre, even though you do have to climb some Everest like steps on your return to the guest house! This, however, is probably a good thing as it will help you to burn off the calories accumulated when eating Lee's absolutely scrummy cookies, provided completely free of charge on a daily basis! During our stay she also made some delicious fudge, which again was very much appreciated.

Our room was a family room, containing a double bed and bunk beds with an ensuite bathroom, with a bath and a shower over. It was extremely clean, had tea and coffee making facilities, as well as a colour tv with all the usual freeview channels. There was a wardrobe, chest of drawers and a comfortable arm chair. It was perfectly adequate for our needs (2 adults and a 12 year old child) and was cleaned to a very high standard every day of our week long stay.

Breakfast was served between 8.30 and 9.30 each morning, although other times were available on request. They were a real treat! Cereals, fruit, fruit juice etc was followed by a very generously sized Full English (grilled sausage and bacon, 2 poached eggs, beans, tomato, mushroom) or a smaller 'Lee' sized version avalliable for the smaller appetite. Also available each day was a different hot breakfast option, which included: a bacon and marmalde sandwich on thick cut granary bread, cinnoman french toast with raisins and apples (delicious!), scrambled eggs and salmon on toast and omelettes. Tea, coffee and toast (white and brown) also provided. The Full English was so filling we often didn't eat again until mid afternoon!

There was also a lounge available for guests with access to an ipad with free wifi and an honesty bar containing a range of alcoholic and soft drinks, including some bottles of local real ale. However, the best thing by far about Little Leaf is the hosts themselves - Danny and Lee. They make a fantastic team and are incredibly friendly and helpful, with nothing being too much trouble. They are very knowledgable about St. Ives and the surrounding areas, including many of the local eateries. Lee's cheery conversation during breakfast was a real highlight of our stay and she has one of the most infectious laughs I've ever heard! Both of them gave us a really friendly welcome and by the end of the stay they were like old friends! They are genuine, helpful, funny and probably the friendliest guest house owners in the world...!

Room Tip: The family room (Room 3) is the only ensuite with a bath, if that's important to you... The othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

When I did a search for B&Bs in St. Ives, the name 'Little Leaf' stood out and my curiosity led me to the website to find out more. It promised a contemporary and sincere establishment run by two enthusiasts for life! This proved to be the case when we arrived for our 4 day stay. Hosts Danny and Lee were warm and welcoming and we were shown to our lovely room - No.2. The quality of the soft furnishings and decoratove finish was the best in our B&B experience and puts many hotels to shame - as such it represents very good value for money. It was perfect and allowed us room to breathe when we wanted simply to sit and gaze at the view from the quiet of our own space after a busy day in St. Ives. Little Leaf is a labour of love, and that is one reason why it is such an easy pleasure to be there as guests. The bathroom was brilliant, and very clean (thanks Danny) and the bed extremely comfortable and well made (thank you Lee)! And as previous reviews have stated the breakfasts were absolutely delicious and cooked with care and pride, thank you.

Lee recommended two great walks for us, around Zennor Head and then from Lelant to St. Ives, both spectacular in terms of scenery and not too arduous in terms of the physical difficulty. Both were highlights of our visit.

Lovely stay, highly recommended and yes, we would definitely return to Little Leaf and enjoy the warm and welcoming hospitality and comfortable surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

I have been bringing my daughter to St Ives for the last seven years, it's a great opportunity to chill out and spend some time together. This year, based on Trip Advisor reviews and Danny and Lee's blog, we chose to stay at Little Leaf. Compared to several other nondescript B&B experiences in the past, Little Leaf is one almighty breath of fresh air! Danny and Lee are just really nice people and certainly know how to make guests feel welcome, with energy, enthusiasm and a genuine interest in making our stay a very special time. We had the smallest room but it was extremely comfortable, well designed and spotlessly clean. Breakfasts really set us up for the day and their location is perfect for easy reach of the town centre in just a few minutes. An easy stroll down hill, but a little more strenuous on the way back, although it didn't stop us from popping in and out during the day if we needed anything. I can't recommend Little Leaf highly enough and we will certainly be going back there next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneHall135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Great service,Beautiful room,Great location,just about perfect!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive2666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

I've just got back from the most amazing stay in St Ives and despite the beautiful scenery, fabulous food and great weather the best bit was the guest house.

Where to start?

Well, the place is lovely and well located, though it's up some steps which help to work off the massive breakfasts which are already a thing of legend but more about that later.

The room we stayed in (room 5) was great and had an amazing view of the harbour and was also decorated to a very high spec (as was the rest of the house) and was very luxurious with lovely towels and comfy bedlinnen. It's also worth mentioning that the wardrobe and draws managed to fit all of the Mrs clothes which is pretty much unheard of!

Since it was so nice it was also somewhere we could chill out before dinner or after breakfast and this was a real bonus.

Then there's the breakfasts. There's so much choice so it's difficult to pick a favourite but the omelet was perhaps top of my list whilst the Mrs preferred the cinnamon toast.

The guesthouse is really well kitted out with loads of info on the local area and the iPad is a nice touch and is already bookmarked with helpful links that make your stay that little bit easier.

However, if you can't find what your looking for online, Lee and Danny are always on hand for tips and recommendations, whether it was day trips, restaurants, the best Surf school etc. and nothing ever seemed to be too much trouble.

In fact Lee and Danny were amazing and are truly genuine people who always seemed to have a smile on their face which proved to be infectious as it meant we did too - They made our holiday.

Thanks guys!

Room Tip: Get down to breakfast early if you want the best table!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrpink104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

We loved the guest house, with its toned-down modern furnishings, excellent rooms (ours, at the very top, had a lovely view of the beautiful town of St Ives), and very good choice of food at breakfast. Danny and Lee are wonderful hosts, very friendly and very helpful in every respect.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gl_Levine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.5 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.2 mi away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 106 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Leaf Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Leaf Guest House

Property: Little Leaf Guest House
Address: 16 Park Avenue | Cornwall, St Ives TR26 2DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great breakfasts, spectacular views. 2 Minutes from town. A modern, relaxed B&B, just a few minutes from town and conveniently located next to public car parks. Facilities include WiFi, TV/DVD players, iPad and iPod docks. We have 6 ensuite rooms two with panoramic views of St Ives and the ocean and one with a private garden all of which are different enough for everyone to have a favourite. Whether it's a sea view, private garden or a cosy hideaway you're after we have a room to suit all tastes and budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Little Leaf Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Leaf Guest House Hotel St Ives
Little Leaf Guest House St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing