We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing & comfortable - great place to escape!”
Review of Gekko Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gekko Lodge
Ranked #51 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Back from a lovely 5 night stay at Gekko - thank you to Catherine for making our stay so pleasant. The room is very comfortable with all the amenities you could need, and some extra treats which we very much appreciated (muffins on arrival, good tea/coffee selection, and homebaked biscotti). Wonderful waking up, opening the curtains, tilting head and seeing the (often blue!) sky and sea. Great location being out of the main hub-bub of St Ives, we enjoyed the walk back and the hill helpd us feel less guilty about dining out most nights at the great local resteraunts. Breakfasts cooked to order with a fab selection: especially enjoyed the jam and lemon tarts, and local sausages. Catherine gave us some really good suggestions of things to see and do, and even without a car there is plenty to keep you occupied for a week. Would love to return and will be spreading the word of how nice Gekko lodge is.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy123traveller86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for Gekko Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 85 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

From arrival to leaving, this for me is the perfect b&b. No fussy overbearing landlady with too many rules but a young couple who seem to have a life. This reflects on how they run their business. It is relaxed and very comfortable. Many of the amenties are what you have at home, a great shower (with locally made toiletries), lovely towels, great coffee etc. Others, like that view out to sea we don't have. The breakfast choice is varied, cooked to order using local produce with the choice of a substantial continental breakfast if you prefer. Ok it is a little walk from the main area of St Ives but that brings interest if like me you are a bit nosey and you can see the real St Ives. Finally great walks from the doorstep and bespoke furniture .

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitz6_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We - two adults and a 13 year old - have just come back from the Gekko Lodge. A very comfortable and warm stay despite this wintery Easter. Room excellent: big enough for the three of us, great features, comfortable and brilliant view of the sea and beach. Breakfast great - we tried three of the various options on offer. And Catherine surprised us with chocolate muffins for Easter, a lemon tart and honey melon today. Bread and cakes homemade and delicious like the rest of the breakfast. Excellent and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antjeandjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights in March, although the weather outside was pretty chilly, inside was warm and cosy with lovely comfy beds and fresh fluffy towels. We loved the location as it was only a short walk into town and gave us fantastic views of porthmoer beach from our room. The breakfast was a joy to get up for, with delicious homemade treats and tasty selections. We also had a parking space right outside the front door which was an added bonus. We would definitely come back to stay at Gekko Lodge next time we're in St Ives.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We love staying at Gekko Lodge. Our second stay and there will be more. Sleep like logs, wake up to beautiful views, gorgeous shower with yummy tea tree oil shower gel, then down to the perfect breakfast. Mmmmmm how many days could Gary have a full English? Catherine makes lovely bread, jam and we love the music choice.
Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenny f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Warm, comfortable with great view and wonderful choice of breakfasts. Ideal place to come back to after some spectacular cliff walks and only a few minutes stroll into the town for an evening meal. Catherine is a friendly and relaxed hostess. Quiet location and parking add to the attraction of this appealing, slightly quirky spot

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peteandsuesheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed in room no.1 which overlooks the sea from a nice and big window. The room was not that big, but more than just clean---super comfortable and we felt happy when we were on the way back to the room at the end of a day. It was a bit hard to find the location at first, because we arrived in St.Ives at night by train, but nonetheless once you find the way, it is not far from the town center despite a bit steep slope.
It would be desirable if the room had a bath tub, but I understand it is difficult to wish for it for the modest accommodation fee. Overall, it is almost perfect. I really wish to revisit St.Ives again (hopefully when it is less windy...haha) and stay at Gekko Lodge. Honestly speaking, it was more comfortable for us to stay than more expensive hotel in Nice, where we had visited the week before.
Lastly, but not least, Catherine is really a nice host and also we loved the breakfast she cooked every morning. She offered us various kinds of breakfast and we requested different one every morning. They were the best breakfast ever in UK.

Looking back the stay in Gekko Lodge has made me feel like going back to St.Ives now! I can assure you that it is the place to stay in St. Ives.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaOn720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.7 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.3 mi away
Palma Guest House
Palma Guest House
#13 of 29 in St Ives
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ten Ocean View
Ten Ocean View
#33 of 102 in St Ives
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Nook
The Nook
#37 of 102 in St Ives
207 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage
The Anchorage
#44 of 102 in St Ives
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tregony Guest House
Tregony Guest House
#12 of 102 in St Ives
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gekko Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gekko Lodge

Address: 7 Carthew Terrace, St Ives TR26 1EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: $102 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gekko Lodge is a contemporary newly renovated Victorian bed & breakfast, located in St Ives, Cornwall. It is situated overlooking the famous Porthmeor Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gekko Lodge St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing