We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most accommodating and a lovely situation!”
Review of Gekko Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gekko Lodge
Ranked #47 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Capel Curig, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most accommodating and a lovely situation!”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Warm and friendly - cosy room. Liked the touches with the Fair Trade teas and coffees. Thanks Catherine and Sam for a great stay.

Room Tip: room with a view = room # 2!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomhecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
51
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

A good location only 5 mins walk into town and Porthmeor Beach with great views from the rooms. Décor very nice and modern but perhaps looking a little tired round the edges. Breakfast was ordered the night before, as per a previous reviewer I had the continental breakfast and not everything advertised in the menu was included.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClClExeter_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Gekko Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry that you felt that the decor is looking a little tired, the house was completely re-furbished four years ago and is redecorated on a yearly basis. We constantly aim to keep it looking fresh and both rooms will be decorated again this winter, room 2 will also be having a new carpet.

With the Continental breakfast everyday guests get croissants, bread rolls and toast, then on alternate days either have the ham/egg and cheese or jam tart, I will re-word the menu to make this clearer. I am more than happy to serve everything everyday but generally guests find it too much. Apologies if this was unclear.

Kind Regards
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed here in the May and found the experience just brilliant. From the fabulous room to the amazing breakfast, We loved every minute and thank Catherine very much for her gracious hospitality

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Gekko Lodge over the Easter weekend. We arrived a few hours before checkin on the Friday and Catherine was more then happy to have us unload our gear and park our car. The room was beautiful with amazing views and very clean. We stayed in the top room which was great it was nice and quiet and the bed is soo comfy and the bathroom has a huge walkin shower! Catherine is lovely and made us feel very welcome she was also more than happy for us to bring our sky decoder so that we could plug it in to the room's tv so that my partner could watch the golf masters during our evenings. Her breakfasts are top quality which made our stay even better. The location is great, 5 minute walk down to town and a 10 minute walk back if your not fit to get up the hill! I highly recommend gekko lodge.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lana_Adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

I stayed on my own in room 1 for two nights in March and was the only guest. It was £55 for sole occupancy of the room which seemed a bit expensive but was worth it and at £70 for two people it would have been great value. I chose it for the sea views and after two days of fog was delighted with the views when the sun came out.

Plus points:
- sea views
- lovely spacious room with sofa
- comfy bed with feather duvet
- tasty full English breakfast
- stylish modern decor
- helpful host who gave me walking tips and lent me her map - Clodgy Head is worth a walk if you like cliff walks - and let me drop my bags off early and leave them on my day of departure
- quiet location

Points to note:
- Like much of the B&B accommdation in St Ives Gekko Lodge is 5 to 10 mins walk from the town centre (depending on whether you're walking up or down hill!) but it is a steep walk and parking in the town centre is hard at busy times so anyone who struggles with hills might have problems.
- The decor is very modern which I liked but might not be to everyone's taste.
- There was only one breakfast table so if both rooms were occupied you might be having breakfast on the same table as the guests in the other room.
- I had the continental breakfast on my second morning and not everything advertised in the menu was included. This was probably because I ordered it only the evening before so check if there is anything in particular you want.

Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed at gekko lodge between Christmas and new year and thoroughly enjoyed our time in st Ives. The room was very spacious and nicely decorated. It was nice and warm and quiet. Catherine was friendly and helpful and cooked a lovely breakfast. We have recommended the b&b to friends and family hope to return.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2011

A two night stay in November 2001. Very comfortable bed, nicely furnished room, with stunning sea and coastal views.
Excellent breakfasts and very friendly hosts, who couldn't do enough to oblige.
A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Heights
Atlantic Heights
#13 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beachcroft Coastal Retreat
Beachcroft Coastal Retreat
#42 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.3 mi away
Count House Cottage B&B
Count House Cottage B&B
#1 of 7 in Carbis Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tregony Guest House
Tregony Guest House
#11 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.2 mi away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Nook
The Nook
#35 of 102 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gekko Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gekko Lodge

Property: Gekko Lodge
Address: 7 Carthew Terrace, St Ives TR26 1EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gekko Lodge is a contemporary newly renovated Victorian bed & breakfast, located in St Ives, Cornwall. It is situated overlooking the famous Porthmeor Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gekko Lodge St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing