We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and very high specification rooms with great views.”
Review of Gekko Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gekko Lodge
Ranked #51 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful and very high specification rooms with great views.”
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Was a pleasue to stay as really stood out among all the other places we have stayed in on our short breaks. Room was great and hosts were friendly and very well organised. Choice of breakfast was great and St Ives is a lovely town with great walks and evening life. We have already booked again for a visit in the Autumn.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danjowillkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
51
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

We were made totally welcome at this lovely B & B. Breakfast was a triumph, the view from the room was beautiful and little touches such as cafetiere coffee in the room were impressive. If you are looking for a very natural place to stay then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MECWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

Catherine and Sam made us feel very very welcome at Gekko Lodge.

Our room was very comfortable had the most amazing views over one of St Ives' stunning beaches. Breakfast was delicious and set us up for the day, ideal if you are planning a long coastal walk.

We would highly recommend anyone stay here, although, like with most places in St Ives, you have to be fairly fit and able as walking back from the town and beaches is up a VERY steep hill!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2011

I've been a frequent visitor to St. Ives since 1989 and always wanted to stay on the Porthmeor side. The B&B is fabulous. Loved the fact that there are only 2 rooms which are both decorated and fitted out very stylishly. The location is stunning. Most definitely would recommend Gekko Lodge to anybody and plan to stay there again this year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lamorna3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agadir
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Me and my girlfriend stayed a weekend at Gekko Lodge and had a fantastic time, the area was a great little getaway and we enjoyed some of the coast during our stay.

We will be recommending Gekko Lodge and will definitely be returning for some more weekend stays!

Clean throughout and amazing sea views in the room! Great service and AMAZING breakfast!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hassan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2010

We have visited St Ives many times over the years, and have finally found a B&B that we are likely to re-visit. Gekko Lodge is comfortable, attractively decorated in contemporary style, very quiet (no traffic noise, only the sea and occasional sea gull to hear), and with great views over Porthmeor beach. It is an easy walk down to the centre of town and to Tate St Ives and the beach. There is parking outside. The owners are friendly and the cooked breakfast is delicious. The walk back up from the town is a bit steep, and the stairs in the house are quite steep and narrow - so it might not be ideal for someone who is not fit.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill_Ralph10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.7 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,661 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
619 reviews
0.2 mi away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 102 in St Ives
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ten Ocean View
Ten Ocean View
#36 of 102 in St Ives
287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Heights
Atlantic Heights
#21 of 102 in St Ives
443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tregony Guest House
Tregony Guest House
#10 of 102 in St Ives
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gekko Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gekko Lodge

Property: Gekko Lodge
Address: 7 Carthew Terrace, St Ives TR26 1EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gekko Lodge is a contemporary newly renovated Victorian bed & breakfast, located in St Ives, Cornwall. It is situated overlooking the famous Porthmeor Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gekko Lodge St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing