We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old World Charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Garrack Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Garrack Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Old World Charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel is situated within walking distance to the town. The seasonal bus will get you back up the hill!
The food here is outstanding by any standard. imaginative evening dinners which are beautifully presented. The breakfast menu and buffet are also a high standard.
The grounds may need a little attention, but this is compensated for by the lovely scenery.

Our room was clean. And comfortable
Perhaps the hotel is expensive, but this must be due to the demand in St Ives.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    149
    59
    11
    12
See reviews for
83
385
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed for 1 night and really enjoyed it.The views are fantastic.The walk to the town is reasonably short but the walk back is a little steep.I loved the position and the fact the hotel is different to most other hotels.The food is good and the staff very helpful.I couldn't get wifi in my room but could in the bar area.The drive up the narrow lane to the hotel was scary but we found a different way going out of town.I definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Found through the recommendations of other Trip advisor contributors. A very big thank you to those who had written a review. What an outstanding place. If you are looking for modern and a real happening thing, this is not the place for you. But if you are looking for serenity, excellent staff and service, clean rooms, sea and shore panoramic views, health and fitness facilities, then this is the place. I have travelled extensively around the world and enjoyed many hotel accommodations, but this hotel I must say ranks with the best of them. The Hotel nestles on the hillside of St Ives and overlooks the ocean, beaches and village of St Ives. So obviously it is a steep walk down and back from the village and Harbour but worth the effort. If you are mobility challenged, I suggest you obtain transport. The meals we enjoyed were sensational and not expensive. The staff and owners were simply wonderful and extremely helpful. Fantastic, what a little gem, thank you so much to the excellent staff and owners.

Room Tip: I think all rooms overlook the ocean but not to sure, so you may want to check.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yannaki2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stayed at the Garrack for two nights while I was on business in St Ives. I had a lovely spacious room on the ground floor, No 11. The facilities for a small hotel were impressive, including a bar, beautiful restaurant and swimming pool. It is located at the top of a very steep hill along a lane. Walking down into town is not a problem but walking back up is not for the faint hearted. I got to know the ACE Taxis men really well during my visit. Reception staff were friendly. I didn't have dinner but I did have breakfast both days. I recommend trying the vegetarian poached eggs on spinach with cheese sauce to which I added extra bacon. Just one point if the owners are reading this, leave out the banana from the breakfast fruit salad. Yuk! If you are interested in the Leach Pottery it is really close by, within 10mins walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PurpleKim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

My wife and I together with my brother and sister in law have just spent 3 days at this hotel.
Let's get the good features out of the way first. The location was excellent with stunning views over the The Island and Porthmeor Beach. The waitresses were attentive, polite and efficient. The evening meals were very good and the Cream Teas in the Cafe were delicious. The waitress there went to great lengths to meet our needs.
Now I'm afraid the poor points. The rooms were very small, poorly furnished and the decor tired.
The lights did not work properly in our bathroom. The floor creaked wherever you trod, the bed was not particularly comfortable, being two singles joined together. My wife could not open the wardrobe door as it was off its runner. Although the fire doors were fitted with closers they all needed adjustment as the doors closed with a resounding "bang". The Wi-fi reception was terrible, I could only pick up a signal in Reception area. The full English Breakfast was not very appetising and on one morning I noticed mould on a slice of toast. We did experience the power tripping out on two mornings but in fairness we did receive a reduction in our final bill for these occurrences.
At £170 per night for bed and breakfast this hotel is grossly over priced and does not represent good value.

Room Tip: Cannot comment on other rooms but for Room 22 the stunning sea view was its only redeeming feature
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Howard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menheniot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

My Partner and I stayed here for 2 nights bank holiday weekend. The hotel is lovely the food is really delightful we ate breakfast and dinner both days and the service very good and welcoming. The location is great for getting to St Ives but beware a very steep walk back up the hill to the hotel. The views are amazing, we used the pool which probably needs some attention but nice all the same. No lockers for valuables so keep them in your room. The room we stayed in was in the newer part overlooking the bay with massive windows the rooms are average and comfortable, wouldn't pay what we did for the room it was the added bonus of the view the original old hotel beauty the food and the welcome. Enjoyed having a romantic dinner and then sitting in one of the lounges after with after dinner drinks.
The real downside is our room was not cleaned the next day r the towels replaced and at the price we paid I would have definitely expected that and even though we informed them on leaving there was no offer of apology or anything which I think was very poor. Would definitely go again but would absolutely expect the room to be cleaned and towels replaced

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Just returned from a much looked forward to break, however the accommodation fell far short of expectations. The hotel enjoys a stunning location but the interior is tired and dated. Our room was generous in size with sea view but lacked any style and the bed was extremely soft, tatty and uncomfortable. Our bedding was not change during our 3 night stay which is not what we are used to. No drinking water or glasses were provided, ice is chargeable and there was no fridge in room. We ate in the restaurant the first night but found the food tasteless although it was well presented, my Dover sole was almost definitely frozen and mushy. At 9pm we were the only people in the restaurant and the waitress kept thundering in and out laying up tables noisily for breakfast,we took coffee in the bar before heading back to our room. Luckily this was not typical of her young colleague. The weekend was more than compensated by the fantastic weather and of course all that Cornwall has to offer!

Room Tip: Check the room's facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqui F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.8 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.7 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garrack Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garrack Hotel

Property: The Garrack Hotel
Address: Burthallan Lane, St Ives TR26 3AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St Ives
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#8 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garrack Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garrack Hotel and Restaurant. Small, quality 3 star hotel with stunning Atlantic sea views overlooking Porthmeor beach and the town of St Ives in Cornwall. Award winning restaurant, indoor pool, sauna and terraced garden for quiet relaxation. Private on-site car parking. 10 to 15 minutes walk from the harbour, town centre, beaches & coastal footpath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your The Garrack Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrack Hotel St Ives
The Garrack Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing