We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Sunday Lunch”
Review of The Garrack Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Garrack Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

The Garrack in St.Ives must serve one of the best Sunday lunches available. Our lunch today was superb! Beautifully presented and the flavours were wonderful. It was also tremendous value.
The view from the Garrack is stunning, looking over St.Ives and across the bay to Godrivy.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 628 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2014

The Garrick Hotel ticked all the boxes for our 4 day short break.We were met with a friendly welcome, and a quick tour around the hotel to get our bearing's then we were soon shown to our room's. We asked for a ground floor room for my parent's and they were overwhelmed by the size of the room which had facilities to suite their every needs. (Room 10).
The Leisure area was bigger that we thought & had a lovely heated swimming pool. Great way to start the day before breakfast having a nice swim. (The pool opens 7.30am)

Special mention goes to Dean & Sarah in the Leisure Area so very friendly & helpful. We could listen to Dean talk all day with his Cornish accent, great to hear, love this man. Also Louise in the restaurant area, always had a friendly smile, efficient service & pleasant manner.
Award winning cuisine, the meal's here are first class, our thank's goes to the chef's for all their hard work.
The Garrick Hotel is a well run establishment & we would not hesitate in staying here again. You may need help with directions in finding this hotel but once found it's a true pearl in the Cornish oyster..

Sue & Brian Best

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed at The Garrack in mid-April and have been singing its praises to all. Owned by two brothers, both of whom are personable and service oriented. One even took time to give me a gin tasting! All staff members were friendly and helpful. The room had a great sea view, and the room itself was of a good size, nicely appointed, and very clean. The food in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast is delicious! It is at the end of a lane, so it feels quite private, even though it is in St. Ives (up the hill). We were able to walk downtown ( but took the city bus back up). Even better, there is a walk I took from the hotel down a farm lane to a farm path across a bit of moor and ultimately to craggy cliffs. We loved our time at The Garrack and are eager to return. P.S. We are two American women, to give you context. I do find English pillows generally to be rather board-like, and The Garrack's pillows are too. But I think that's a UK thing.

Room Tip: Sea view for sure! And if you have problems with stairs, let them know. Also, if you high need for W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is a beautiful looking hotel with well decorated fully equipped rooms. We had a thoroughly enjoyable time here and will definitely return this year. The owners are extremely friendly and go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. Good food and very reasonable priced restaurant that could perhaps do with a little background music but otherwise perfect. Great location in a wonderful town. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryAnneMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

This is a worn down hotel that could need quite some money for refurbishment. Cleaning standard etc. was also below anything I would expect. I booked on the internet where it had an average score of 8.2, in my opinion 6-7 would be a true reflection, and there was indeed a lot of honest reviews and grades too, how any gave it high grades is beyond what I understand. I can't recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TFNLONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Lovely hotel with great facilities although there wasn't time to try them all! Breakfast was excellent, we didn't sample the evening menu. Local area is good for dog walking & resort is within easy reach of lots of tourist attractions. The only thing that spoilt it for me was the touch of sarcasm on our morning of leaving from the male receptionist!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

What a truely lovely mid-week break in February 2014.. lovely welcome and choice of room. We have a fun loving 6yr old boxer dog and nobody battered an eye lid by boyfriend was so put at ease with the lovely relaxed approach to dogs. Our bedroom was totally lovely and had a seaview. Breakfast was relaxed and my boyfriend had salmon and scrammbled eggs( he can be a tad pickey at times) but said it was the best he has ever had. The swimming pool is lush and again with a very relaxed approach and run very well by a super manager. Went into St Ives in the evenings again so dog friendly called for a taxi back to the hotel dogs welcome so all in all the best dog friendly lovely holiday loved the hotel and cann't wait for September when we plan to go again with my mum aswell.

Room Tip: room number 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dionandkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.8 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 20 in St Ives
1,001 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
274 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 20 in St Ives
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garrack Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garrack Hotel

Address: Burthallan Lane, St Ives TR26 3AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St Ives
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#8 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: $78 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garrack Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garrack Hotel and Restaurant. Small, quality 3 star hotel with stunning Atlantic sea views overlooking Porthmeor beach and the town of St Ives in Cornwall. Award winning restaurant, indoor pool, sauna and terraced garden for quiet relaxation. Private on-site car parking. 10 to 15 minutes walk from the harbour, town centre, beaches & coastal footpath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Garrack Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrack Hotel St Ives
The Garrack Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing