We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel in great location”
Review of The Garrack Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Garrack Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel in great location”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights and it was a great little hotel with very friendly staff. Food was very good - fully deserved for its AA rosettes. Agree with another reviewer that the lack of wifi in the rooms was a problem, especially since the area generally has poor network reception. But beautiful location, and bar also specialises in a range of gins - over 40 at the last count!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kumquat10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    153
    64
    12
    12
See reviews for
88
407
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The plus points for this hotel are the friendly staff, great breakfast and car parking. The negative points were the lack of a WiFi signal in our bedroom and the absence of an extractor fan in the bathroom which made it a bit damp and musty.
The walk from the hotel into the town is best made along the coastal path which is a bit hard to find. Walk through the car park and cross the gate; turn right and then left and keep walking to the very end of the road, which becomes a path leading down to the coastal path. The views along the coastal path are outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonyetS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heanor, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We can strongly recommend and hopefully return to The Garrack Hotel
Short and to the point due to reviewing for the second time, when last stayed here in 2011
The positive points are:
Lovely hotel, car parking (major plus), fabulous views, warm welcome, friendly and helpful staff, if you are lucky enough to occupy room 21, it is nice, spacious with good en-suite, good menu, excellent food, Wifi (weak in certain areas)
The negative points are:
20 minutes steep walk down to the town and steep walk back to the hotel.
End of holiday :o(

Room Tip: We stayed in room 21 the frst time and requested it for our second visit. If you can be allocated a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great Hotel. Lovely room overlooking the sea. Superb breakfast. Nice swimming pool and my grandchildren came for a swim as guests. Cannot fault the staff for politeness and helpfulness.
Will return again without doubt. Nice walks into the town( street or coastal path ) and the taxi's are very reasonable if you don't fancy the walk back. What more could you want ?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Great location, good views, nice staff. We stayed in the wheelchair accessible room: very old furniture and bathroom, stained carpets, small, uncomfortable bed. Sauna/ pool area is very small and old. Poor value for money when compared with other hotels in Cornwall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our favourite hotel. A family run hotel which the owners and staff put their heart and soul into making your stay perfect. Food second to none along with well appointed rooms, swimming pool and views to die for.

A relaxed atmosphere with first class service. Our 5th time staying here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_edwards07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Can't recommend The Garrack Hotel enough. Beautiful venue and so welcoming. The staff and owners couldn't have looked after us any more than they did. Took our dog with us and he was made to feel so welcome too! The breakfast was outstanding and we chose their restaurant for dinner which did not disappoint at all. Made some wonderful memories here and will definitely be returning. :-)))

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thisgirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,634 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
250 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
943 reviews
1.7 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garrack Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garrack Hotel

Property: The Garrack Hotel
Address: Burthallan Lane, St Ives TR26 3AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St Ives
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#8 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garrack Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garrack Hotel and Restaurant. Small, quality 3 star hotel with stunning Atlantic sea views overlooking Porthmeor beach and the town of St Ives in Cornwall. Award winning restaurant, indoor pool, sauna and terraced garden for quiet relaxation. Private on-site car parking. 10 to 15 minutes walk from the harbour, town centre, beaches & coastal footpath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Garrack Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrack Hotel St Ives
The Garrack Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing