We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but hotel is poor value for money”
Review of The Garrack Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Garrack Hotel
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Great location, good views, nice staff. We stayed in the wheelchair accessible room: very old furniture and bathroom, stained carpets, small, uncomfortable bed. Sauna/ pool area is very small and old. Poor value for money when compared with other hotels in Cornwall.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelling123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (646)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 646 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our favourite hotel. A family run hotel which the owners and staff put their heart and soul into making your stay perfect. Food second to none along with well appointed rooms, swimming pool and views to die for.

A relaxed atmosphere with first class service. Our 5th time staying here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris_edwards07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Can't recommend The Garrack Hotel enough. Beautiful venue and so welcoming. The staff and owners couldn't have looked after us any more than they did. Took our dog with us and he was made to feel so welcome too! The breakfast was outstanding and we chose their restaurant for dinner which did not disappoint at all. Made some wonderful memories here and will definitely be returning. :-)))

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thisgirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our favourite hotel. Informal enough for the seaside and with lovely people providing friendly service. Newly decorated rooms and all beautifully presented. The health club with swimming pool provides lovely facilities which just add to the experience. We love it and having returned for a second time are looking forward to our next visit. The food is to die for. Simply wonderful. Brilliant!

Room Tip: Get a view over the sea if you can. It just adds to the quality of the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great escape off St. Ives City and coastal line. Walking distance to town and great beaches where my son learned surf boarding. An impressive view to watch high and low tides from the hotel, which is located on a small hill just west of the main town. We had a triple room for 2 adults and to children, but the double beds mattress was not suitable for three persons. VERY recommendable.

Room Tip: Rooms in main building facing the sea is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThFab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had an excellent time at the Garrick Hotel in St Ives. It has a well deserved reputation for comfortable rooms and excellent cuisine. Our experience was totally positive and even though the booking was completed with a room without sea view the hotel staff still managed to give us a room withs some sea views. Our seafood platter was of the highest standard and the chef did very well at short notice. All in all a truley memorable holiday destination for all the right reasons

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stewy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is a must if you visit Cornwall.
Very friendly
Clean
Home from home
We arrived early well before check in. We were offered breakfast with a very warm welcome.
The selection of gin is fantastic.
The Resturant food is sublime ( will review separately)
Well worth a visit

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fbnicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.8 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,769 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
1.7 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
317 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garrack Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garrack Hotel

Address: Burthallan Lane, St Ives TR26 3AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St Ives
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#5 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: $94 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garrack Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garrack Hotel and Restaurant. Small, quality 3 star hotel with stunning Atlantic sea views overlooking Porthmeor beach and the town of St Ives in Cornwall. Award winning restaurant, indoor pool, sauna and terraced garden for quiet relaxation. Private on-site car parking. 10 to 15 minutes walk from the harbour, town centre, beaches & coastal footpath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Garrack Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrack Hotel St Ives
The Garrack Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing