We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday”
Review of The Garrack Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Garrack Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Holiday”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Thank you for a very pleasant stay at the Garrack Hotel myself and my partner had a fantastic stay. fantastic scenary plenty of places to go. I will recommend the Garrack hotel to all my friends and family. thank you and we both look forward to returning in the near future.

Room Tip: rooms to the rear and side of the Building give you Exellent sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    152
    63
    11
    12
See reviews for
85
400
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay here great location. Staff friendly and rooms clean and comfortable.cosy lounge to sit and relax. The food was excellent value and the chef was 1st class Thanks for a pleasant stay would recommend

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and had a great time,the room was very good and had lovely views over the gardens and bay.The staff couldn't do enough for you and were very helpful.The breakfast choice was varied and of excellent quality,we dined in the restaurant 2 nights wished we had done the 3 nights the food was that good.We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186364David_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel is beautiful and although very close to beach (5 min walk) and the shops and restaurants, its set back down a long drive so is very private. Breakfast was great and plenty of choice and the pan fried beef at dinner was the best I've ever had in this country. The desert that I ordered was swiftly stolen by my wife as though she wasn't hungry after her meal tried mine and wouldn't give it back. Views from room were excellent and I didn't have to crane my neck to see the ocean. Wonderful stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sgtalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Visit number three and if anything it has got better, we had the room in the cottage in the garden which has great views down the coast and over st Ives .

Food was great to say the least. The service was not to fast, not too slow just right and that is in my experience the most important part of eating out.

In fact we enjoyed it so much we are having our Christmas night out there, what better recommendation could we give .

Room Tip: The cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwhbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We recently stayed at the Garrack and were really impressed with the service and whole feel of the property. Travelling with our teenage daughter we had a double sea view room with the cabin room for our 14 year old. She was close, but had our own space. The breakfasts were so good and the service was faultless. We did not eat at the hotel, but understood it really deserves its high Trip rating, as does the hotel. Even when we had to cut our trip short the Managers were so very helpful and could not do enough for us. I would highly recommend the hotel it is so welcoming and will be back. Thanks to everyone at the Garrack!

Room Tip: Sea view double great with the cabin next door perfect for young adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smasher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Somerset
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed for 1 night with my elderly mother. We had a groupon dinner, bed and breakfast deal which was excellent value. We were given a very large room with a double and single bed which suited us very well. Fantastic sea view and doors out to the garden which would be lovely in the summer. The food was excellent and the wine was reasonably priced. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to visit again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-4-of-usNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,618 reviews
0.8 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
913 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garrack Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garrack Hotel

Property: The Garrack Hotel
Address: Burthallan Lane, St Ives TR26 3AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St Ives
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#8 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garrack Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garrack Hotel and Restaurant. Small, quality 3 star hotel with stunning Atlantic sea views overlooking Porthmeor beach and the town of St Ives in Cornwall. Award winning restaurant, indoor pool, sauna and terraced garden for quiet relaxation. Private on-site car parking. 10 to 15 minutes walk from the harbour, town centre, beaches & coastal footpath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Garrack Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrack Hotel St Ives
The Garrack Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing