We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Garrack Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Garrack Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Swadlincote
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We have just spent 3 nights here through Groupon and it was lovely. The staff were all so friendly and helpful from reception to the cleaner. The room was clean and roomy with a sea view. Our only 'down', which is subjective, were that the bed was so soft it was like a giant marshmallow! The food was superb with a great choice at breakfast, all beautifully cooked. We had a 3 course meal in the restaurant which was outstanding - the Moroccan lamb was just amazing. There was a decent choice made with fresh ingredients. Town is a 15 minute walk - but uphill all the way back! Altogether our stay was very pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    149
    59
    11
    12
See reviews for
83
385
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went here for a 2 night weekend break in January - due to bad weather we had to postpone by 1 night, but the hotel were very accommodating. Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff, and given a choice of 4 rooms! We had a great view, comfy beds and everywhere was very clean! A tour of the hotel, pool and grounds meant we met friendly and helpful staff, who made our stay much more enjoyable. Our meal in the restaurant surpassed expectations (the best steak and service we had ever had!) and breakfast was excellent, as was the well-stocked-with-gin bar...

We will most definitely be returning!

Room Tip: The sea views were stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights midweek out of season and found the staff to be very hospitable, the area to be picture perfect and the view from our room was breathtaking. We ate at the restaurant and the food was delicious with generous portions and a chef who clearly knows his stuff. Tried a bottle of the local Camel Valley wine which the waitress said was good and people ordered cases of it from them. She wasn't wrong! Really enjoyed our stay and it's easy to see why people return year after year. Try the cream tea!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MarkP1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-Sea, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Great location with superb views. The room looked out to sea which was nice to wake up and see. The restaurant food was exceptionally good. Parking at the hotel is a big advantage because parking can be difficult in St Ives. Friendly and helpful staff. A lovely place to get a taste of Cornwall for a long weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Wonderful hotel. Friendly, comfortable, Good atmosphere. Stunning views over the beach near the (over-rated) Tate Galley. Very nice staff, a proprietor who clearly loves his gin (the hotel tonic water was Fever Tree so that's proof enough), and convenient for Penzance town (though the walk home, back up the hill, meant that I kept looking hopefully over my shoulder for a bus).

Dinner was superb. I can still remember the grilled Monkfish starter, and the apple cobbler with sauce anglais for pudding. Main course could have been slightly more generous (one extra potato and another medallion of pork-loin would have been just perfect) but with hindsight that would have taken the edge off the best breakfast I have ever had in a hotel. So nothing to complain about there.

Even more impressive, we filled in the questionaire and gave the hotel 5 marks for everything, except the room (Room number Seven) to which we awarded a 4, because of an intrusive noise outside at night which we put down to air-con or the boiler. The owner was standing by in reception as we were leaving, and I showed him the form. No "Mr Fawlty" angst, just a ruminative: "Well, there's a cold store nearby. Might have been that, as it cut in and out. Hope it didn't spoil your stay;" It didn't.

We will definitely be going back a number of times (not in Room Seven though) and otherwise I throughly reccomend this excellent, high quality, family-run hotel. And every night we'll be dining in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Not Room Seven if you are seeking a REALLY quiet night. But if you live near a motorway then you pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Just returned from a two night break at "The Garrack Hotel" with a Groupon voucher,we were absolutely thrilled by the location, accomodation and the food was fantastic. On recommendation we booked into a local restaurant for our second night, but, wish we had dined in the hotel instead.
We have and will be recommending "The Garrack Hotel" to all our friends and relations, who frequently visit St Ives.
We are looking forward to our return.

Room Tip: We would, but, we want to keep the room number secret.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeaside
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Recently returned from long w/end at The Garrack. Great location with parking being a bonus. Last stay in the old town meant leaving car in council car park and walking with cases to accommodation as road too narrow for car. Fantastic views over Porthmeor Beach from our bedroom. Wonderful food and service. Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSeaside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.8 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.7 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garrack Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garrack Hotel

Property: The Garrack Hotel
Address: Burthallan Lane, St Ives TR26 3AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St Ives
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#8 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garrack Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garrack Hotel and Restaurant. Small, quality 3 star hotel with stunning Atlantic sea views overlooking Porthmeor beach and the town of St Ives in Cornwall. Award winning restaurant, indoor pool, sauna and terraced garden for quiet relaxation. Private on-site car parking. 10 to 15 minutes walk from the harbour, town centre, beaches & coastal footpath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your The Garrack Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrack Hotel St Ives
The Garrack Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing