We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“West Cornwall Base”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Garrack Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Garrack Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“West Cornwall Base”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Garrack. We found the location excellent, being an easy walk into St Ives and avoiding the parking difficulties in this busy resort BUT that does mean walking down and back up a steep hill. The hotel was well presented with good decor and rooms.
The food in the restaurant was of good quality with good and changing choice. The small fitness centre and pool were useful, especially when it rained!
Views from the hotel are superb and good walking is available, including the Coastal Path, direct from the hotel.
The most lasting impression, however, was the friendliness of the staff who really made our stay well above average.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank climbergb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    149
    59
    11
    12
See reviews for
83
385
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here over the holiday weekend last week.
The hotel is comfortable but a little dated. Maybe the regular clientele like it that way.
Dirty cups were left in the lounge after 9pm and general service levels were just enough to not irritate.
Rooms are large and breakfast generous.
While it met our needs in terms of being quiet and comfortable there were a few things that did irritate however.
The WiFi is not available in the areas other than reception and it was intermittent.

The service whilst polite didn't seem to want to go the extra mile on proffering any additional suggestions.
When I checked out the two rooms I was however given a 17P discount on the 2 stamps I purchased rather than break a note
All in all a 3. Star hotel charging 5 star prices .
That's a tough value proposition For me.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

My wife and I booked a large double room with sea view and we were allocated room 19. The view from the room is excellent, looking over the hotel's garden and down into St. Ives bay. The room itself was nothing special, it was clean and the bed was comfortable but the easy chairs were showing signs of wear and the bathroom was a bit tired looking.
The restaurant food was terrific both for breakfast and dinner. There is a wide range of choice and the quality was very good. The dining room staff were all excellent, they were attentive but not intrusive and were knowledgable about the items on the menu. The bar, though small, was well stocked,as a malt whisky drinker there was enough selection to make me think and as for Gin I have not seen a larger selection in any other hotel I have been to.
In terms of value for money I would recommend the dinner, B& B package. £180 per night for B&B is a little high, unless you can eat your way through all of the breakfast menu, but the prices for dinner were reasonable, and overall represented fair value.
We went here based on the recommendation of friends and we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maltwhiskyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were Very impressed with the Garrack Hotel. The old stone house accommodation has beautiful sea views, indoor pool and beautiful private garden. The professional staff created a welcome and homely atmosphere for my wife I. The food was outstanding, we would certainly not hesitate in recommending the Garrack for both business and family breaks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I were spending our wedding anniversary in St Ives and chose a sea view room in The Garrack Hotel for 2 nights. The room was very spacious and clean, and the view was very special with panoramic views across the coastline. The hotel was set in beautiful gardens, and although we didn't use the pool facilities, they looked lovely. Location was great, it is set high above the town which is why the view is so good, but it was only a 10 minute walk down into town and maybe a bit longer on the way up! Breakfast was lovely both mornings with a great choice of both cold and hot foods, plenty of juice, tea and coffee etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah17484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is our our 5th stay at this hotel!

Why do we keep going back?

We keep going back because of many reasons. The hotel is a family run operation which is provides the highest standards of service and quality. The staff are exeptional in their efforts to make you feel at home and welcome. The hotel is situated 267 feet above the town and affords fantastic views of the town and bay. The rooms are well furnished and are always spotless. The restaurant serves meals which are of the highest quality and the breakfasts are top notch also.

There is also a small pool and gym available in the complex and also beautiful gardens to laze about in.

If your looking for a quiet, unique hotel were you feel welcome as soon as you walk though the door this is the place for you!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_edwards07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Only stayed for 2 nights on our travels around Cornwall, but felt very at home here, almost straight away.

The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome.

The rooms were very clean, and comfortable, with fantastic views.

We managed to get a bit of sun in the gardens overlooking St Ives, and tried the small gym and indoor pool.

The breakfasts were wonderful, and the meals in the evening very tasty too.

The gardens were well kept and stocked with wonderful tropical flowers.

Would recommend to others and would return.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marymacb66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.8 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.7 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garrack Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garrack Hotel

Property: The Garrack Hotel
Address: Burthallan Lane, St Ives TR26 3AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St Ives
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#8 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garrack Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garrack Hotel and Restaurant. Small, quality 3 star hotel with stunning Atlantic sea views overlooking Porthmeor beach and the town of St Ives in Cornwall. Award winning restaurant, indoor pool, sauna and terraced garden for quiet relaxation. Private on-site car parking. 10 to 15 minutes walk from the harbour, town centre, beaches & coastal footpath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Garrack Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrack Hotel St Ives
The Garrack Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing