We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again”
Review of Pedn Olva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pedn Olva Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2009

A return trip on a special offer similar to last year. Stayed in the same room (32 - Bamaluz) which although still small is great for the balcony and proximity to the sea and was in good condition - new TV but still some improvements could be made (towel ring near the wash basin needs replacing). All the staff we came into contact with were great and most helpful. Real improvement this year was in the Restaurant where there appears to be a new chef. Food for the first night meal in as part of the offer was GREAT - some of the BEST i have eaten in a hotel and was almost inclined to cancel the booking made outside for the 2nd night but that was good too!
ery happy to go back again in the new year if the offer available is as good!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnwetherill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (984)
There are newer reviews for Pedn Olva Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

919 - 925 of 984 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2009

Stayed 2 nights in early September 2009. The weather was fantastic which helped of course. Nice hotel, good breakfasts. Parking is a problem as they don't have enough spaces allocated in the adjacent station car park also the rooms and bathrooms are small for a hotel of this class but the view from the bedroom we had more than made up for any minor shortcomings.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilDuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

This is our second visit to this hotel, we love the views. The food is so good that we don't bother to eat out any more. We did fill in a questionaire before leaving, remarking on the need to redecorate, and provide a new carpet for the room we occupied.Overall we were very satisfied and will visit again this year.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sprocketsouthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2009

Ah...the Pedn Olva Hotel. It really is in a beautiful location in St Ives. Get certain rooms and the sea almost comes right below you in high tide. That I suppose is why they charge so much. I have stayed here a number of times. I do keep coming back because of the views, the dinning area, the patios. You can't beat these views of st ives in any other place in the town.

But, you do have to put up with a few things. I think the Pedn Olva has become rather arrogant. They know they have a "view trap" so they will always get bookings. Surprisingly though, when we stayed in august they had a sign outside both nights we were there saying rooms available..that did surprise me. I suppose these rooms might have been the super delux ones at around £280 a night!! Honestly...those are london prices. For a wallet bustin £160 a night we got a pleasant room, which, looking at some of the other reviews on here, had obviously been decorated recently. The room was white and fresh, bed good. The bathroom was small, but clean. I don't realy expect huge bathrooms in seaside hotels like these, especially since they probably crammed a few more extra rooms to allow a few more people to see the views. Our view was ok, but I was a bit disappointed because before I had had better in the rooms to the left of reception. However, at least with the window full open the blue skies and the sight of the pretty harbour beckoning in the distance, we felt happy.

Reception here has never been particularly pleasant. They have an air of arrogance, the lady didn't smile much. We were just another couple of carcasses to overcharge with. But the thing about the receptionist is that she wouldnt' change her attitude even if everyone told her. For who doesn't return, there is always someone else to fill those beds!! The prices are far too steep. Yes all the rooms have great views, but for what you get, it might be more prudent to stay elsewhere in the town and bag an extra couple of nights with the money you would save not booking into the Olva.

Breakfast was a bit of a disaster on the second morning. Apparently one of the chefs had taken poorly so there was only one. This meant that a cooked breakfast took 40 mins to arrive. I sincerely was tempted to give the guy a hand, since I do a mean fry up myself. However the duty manager, a lovely lady with a friendly and warm personality appologised...saying she knew it wasn't our problem...but that is what had happened and appologised profusely. That totally satisfied me. You see what some care and pleasantries do for a guest? It calms them down...makes them more reasonable. Perhaps she should give some customer care lessons to reception..........?.....nah...its took late for them...!!

However, I enjoyed the stay. I can put up with grumpy, weather beaten faced, middle aged receptionists, moody eyes etched with life bitterness, if it means the last thing at night I see is an idealic view of st ives at night.....

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank senpass5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2009

We checked in on Monday 10th August and we were delighted with the room (room 1) it looked recently refurbished with 3 windows showing excellent views across the bay of St Ives. Only a short walk to town and even shorter walk to beach. Lovely pool side terraces with sun beds, parasols the works. However, on our last night we were having a quiet drink reflecting on what a lovely week we had and a young lady very politley told us that we would have to leave the Terrace as it was "CLOSED" This could only happen in England, rules and regulations where ever you go. I am sure that the excuse would be "health and safety" although this seems trivia it did spoil our last night in St Ives.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

Beautifully situated atop a cliff with gorgeous views from almost every room as far as we could make out. Not suitable for physically disabled guests as there were a variety of steps and doors to negotiate to get anywhere in the hotel. Parking was a nightmare unless you book well in advance and get one of the reserved spaces. The food was good, although there are many better eateries in the town itself worth searching out. All the staff we met were very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

Hotel is excellent, the only down side is the rooms are a little compact and we would advice you to pay the extra and book a balconey room only because the veiws are breath taking and to open the doors and hear the waves crashing into the side of the hotel as you snuggle up with a huge white duvey at bed time is heaven. we really couldn't understand why anyone wouldn't like the experience of staying in this hotel perhaps they should re- think cornwell isn't for them! Be careful when arriving in st ives though the streets are very narrow to drive through and you really wouldn't want to start your holiday with a bump!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KinnyCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
1.0 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 20 in St Ives
956 reviews
1.2 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedn Olva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedn Olva Hotel

Address: The Warren, St Ives TR26 2EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#7 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: $205 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pedn Olva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pedn Olva, with the sea only thirty feet below and flanked by golden sands, is founded on blue-black granite rocks on the southern shores of St. Ives Harbour and Bay. Contemporary, romantic and breathtaking are but a few ways to describe the Pedn Olva, with its 30 distinctive bedrooms, restaurant, bar, terraces and outdoor heated swimming pool that make it an ideal stay for a getaway break, special meal or relaxing lunch. The plethora of windows facing the sea allows our guests to be as close as you can get to floating on the sea without leaving dry land. A safe haven for watching winter storms in front of a granite open fire, or seeing dolphins and seals playing in the bay from our sun drenched terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pedn Olva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedn Olva St Ives
Pedn Olva Hotel St Ives, Cornwall
Hotel Pedn Olva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing