We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel, good position, fantastic views.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pedn Olva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pedn Olva Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovely hotel, good position, fantastic views.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed at Pedn Olva Hotel in the middle of june. Had a wonderful room fell asleep and woke every morning to the sound of the sea. Lovely breakfast, very friendly, helpful staff. Big thank you to Steve, who went above and beyond the call of duty and carried our heavy case up the steps to the car park.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Many thanks for your review, following your most recent visit. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience. We pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We have invested a lot of time in our customer service, so it is always pleasing to receive such positive feedback from our guests. We will pass your comments onto our team and in particular to Steve. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva.

Pedn Olva
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    275
    90
    42
    28
See reviews for
173
524
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was our 3rd time at the Pedn Olva and once again we had a lovely relaxing 4 nights stay at this friendly, laid back but professionally run hotel. Our room, number 30, was on second floor with its own balcony and full width, floor to ceiling windows which gave us fabulous views of St Ives Harbour. The sound of the waves lapping on the rocks beneath our window was so relaxing. The rooms at the Pedn Olva tend to be compact due to the quirky nature of the building and our double room was no exception. However the views more than made up for this and the room was attractively decorated in neutral colours with a small but completely adequate shower room. We had a flat screen TV and hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities were provided along with good quality Cornish biscuits. We had breakfast each morning on the outside terrace overlooking the gorgeous Porthminster beach. Lots of choice available at breakfast which was excellent. We also ate at the hotel each evening rather than trawling the streets of St Ives for a suitable restaurant. We were not disappointed as the food was without exception, imaginative and delicious, along with reasonably priced wines. What better place to linger over your evening meal than Pedn Olva's dining room watching the sun set and with the waves lapping beneath the windows. Service in the restaurant and bar was good and all staff were friendly and helpful. During the day the outdoor terraces provide plenty of options for enjoying a cool drink or relaxing on a sun lounger near the swimming pool overlooking the sea. We will definitely stay again when we are next in St Ives.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkshireblonde99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, following your most recent stay. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experiences. We’re so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your 3rd visit to us and we appreciate your comments regarding the service received. We try to make our guests stay as relaxed as possible this includes the service they receive, trying to make a “home away from home” feel for our guests throughout their stay. We’re pleased that you were able to take in the wonderful views that our balcony cabin room has to offer and that you like our new design to our cabin rooms. We have invested a lot of time developing our menus to ensure that there is something for everyone’s taste and that you were lucky enough (nice weather) to be able to eat breakfast on our terrace overlooking Porthminster Beach. We appreciate your comments regarding the customer service received, please be assured your comments will be passed onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva soon.

Pedn Olva
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrewshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Today on a day trip to St Ives we passed this place walking from the train station. Having looked at the menu we decided it would make a good place for lunch. We were not disappointed! Opting to sit inside due to it being sightly breezy we had a wonderful panoramic view and food that just hit the spot - Chicken skewers and Cornish crab & prawn toasted brioche. Now looking in to staying there next time we are down this way.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KandCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We hope you enjoyed your day visit to St Ives and were able to take in the wonderful views, as well as being able to visit some of the unique shops the town has to offer. We’re pleased that you decided to join us for lunch, we are able to offer some of the most unique views of St Ives and the Cornwall coastline and we’re pleased to hear that you were not disappointed. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva again soon, whether popping in for a light lunch or choosing to stay with us.

Pedn Olva
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Don't think I have stayed closer to sea without being in it. Wonderful sea view. Weather was absolutely gorgeous so strolled down to beach at 07.30 and had a morning swim. Breakfast on terrace overlooking beach and sea. Breakfast absolutely gorgeous and nice selection including eggs benedict.
Swimming pool small but heated and decking around hotel great for an outdoor beer. Room 16 apparently is the one to go for.
Not to forget the staff were brilliant.
Photos attached are from terrace where we ate breakfast. Brilliant when you have weather in Cornwall.

Room Tip: We didn't go with kids but there were quite a few around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinsmith51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your review, following your recent stay. We appreciate the time you’ve taken. We’re pleased that you were able to take in the wonderful views we have to offer of St Ives and that you experienced gorgeous weather. We have invested a lot of time developing our menus to ensure there is something for everyone’s taste, we’re pleased you were able to eat breakfast on our terrace area overlooking Porthminster Beach. Our superior room is one of our most popular rooms with guests, offering 180 degree views of St Ives Harbour and the Coastline. We have invested a lot of time in our customer service, so it is pleasing to receive great feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva soon.

Pedn Olva
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Ideal for an afternoon or early evening drink on the sun terrace. Lovely views over the bay, friendly staff and good facilities. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend. Had the pulled pork burger to share with lovely mustard coleslaw.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angie11-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Many thanks for your review, we appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience. We’re pleased that you were able to enjoy our terrace area, taking in the views that we have to offer of St Ives Harbour and the West-Cornwall coastline. We appreciate your comments regarding the service received, we have invested a lot of time in our “brewing a passion” customer service, so it is always pleasing to receive such positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva.

Pedn Olva
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

just back from our 9th year at the hotel ,brilliant holiday ,hotel ,staff ,thanks to drew and all the staff for a gret stay again ,special mention to steve ,jess,dean ,and the waitress from austraila who all work so hard all the time thanks again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregdonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your review, following your most recent stay with us. We’re pleased you enjoyed you stay with us. We will ensure your comments are passed onto the mentioned team members. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva for your 10th year.

Pedn Olva
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Me and my husband have just returned from our mini moon at the Pedn Olva in St Ives and although we had a lovely break we were slightly disappointed with our stay.

We booked the honeymoon suite and the view is absolutely breathtaking! The room was really lovely and so much bigger than the photos online. There is a lovely freestanding bath and we loved the complimentary toiletries.

However, we found the staff to be quite rude! Especially they ladies on reception (apart from Sue!). On our first evening we tried to book room service for the morning and when we were asked what we wanted we said we didn't have a breakfast menu in our room. Rather than just give us another one, the lady on reception went up to the room to check that there really wasn't one there. We also had to ask for a hairdryer (which was also meant to be in the room already) and an iron & ironing board.

We were also disappointed by the lack of cocktails in the bar although the food we had was really delicious. We were unable to eat our meal on the terrace though as it was also open to non guests and we weren't able to find a table.

Overall I would recommend the Pedn Olva (if only for the incredible location!!) but I do feel that the hotel maybe relies a little too much on it's fabulous location.

Room Tip: The suite is amazing - the views are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosied2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for your review, following your recent stay. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experiences. We’re sorry to hear that your stay with us, was not to your satisfaction. Our state room does have some of the best views that we are able to offer from our unique location. Our housekeeper and her team work hard to ensure that all guests have any additional extras they may require in their rooms. We thank you for bringing the comments to our attention regarding our reception staff while asking for room service breakfast, we will ensure that all rooms are equipped with a breakfast menu. We will pass your comments onto our housekeeper to ensure that all rooms are equipped with a hair dryer; we do have iron and ironing boards available on request. If you are visiting us again and looking to dine al fresco, we can offer you to dine on our side terrace over-looking Porthminster Beach (weather permitting) with our restaurant dinner menu. We thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva. Please be assured all comments are discussed by us as a management team.

Pedn Olva
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedn Olva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedn Olva Hotel

Property: Pedn Olva Hotel
Address: The Warren, St Ives TR26 2EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#7 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pedn Olva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pedn Olva, with the sea only thirty feet below and flanked by golden sands, is founded on blue-black granite rocks on the southern shores of St. Ives Harbour and Bay. Contemporary, romantic and breathtaking are but a few ways to describe the Pedn Olva, with its 29 distinctive bedrooms, restaurant, bar, terraces and outdoor heated swimming pool that make it an ideal stay for a getaway break, special meal or relaxing lunch. The plethora of windows facing the sea allows our guests to be as close as you can get to floating on the sea without leaving dry land. A safe haven for watching winter storms in front of a granite open fire, or seeing dolphins and seals playing in the bay from our sun drenched terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pedn Olva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedn Olva St Ives
Pedn Olva Hotel St Ives, Cornwall
Hotel Pedn Olva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing