We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pedn Olva Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Chy-An-Albany(St Ives)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Tregenna Castle Resort(St Ives)(Great Value!)
$237
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$409
$317
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gannet Inn(Carbis Bay)
$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cottage Hotel(Carbis Bay)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Regent(St Ives)
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Western Hotel(St Ives)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,071)
Filter reviews
1,071 results
Traveler rating
573
316
98
50
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
573
316
98
50
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsporthminster beachon the rocksroof terracest austell brewerybalcony roomstation car parkrooms are smallnon residentsamazing viewsoverlooking the seasound of the wavesfantastic locationhotel restaurantwaiting stafffish and chipsfamily roombreakfast was excellent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
691 - 696 of 1,071 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Don't think I have stayed closer to sea without being in it. Wonderful sea view. Weather was absolutely gorgeous so strolled down to beach at 07.30 and had a morning swim. Breakfast on terrace overlooking beach and sea. Breakfast absolutely gorgeous and nice selection including eggs benedict.
Swimming pool small but heated and decking around hotel great for an outdoor beer. Room 16 apparently is the one to go for.
Not to forget the staff were brilliant.
Photos attached are from terrace where we ate breakfast. Brilliant when you have weather in Cornwall.

Room Tip: We didn't go with kids but there were quite a few around.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinsmith51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for your review, following your recent stay. We appreciate the time you’ve taken. We’re pleased that you were able to take in the wonderful views we have to offer of St Ives and that you experienced gorgeous weather. We have invested a lot of time developing our menus to ensure there is something for everyone’s taste, we’re pleased you were able to eat breakfast on our terrace area overlooking Porthminster Beach. Our superior room is one of our most popular rooms with guests, offering 180 degree views of St Ives Harbour and the Coastline. We have invested a lot of time in our customer service, so it is pleasing to receive great feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva soon.

Pedn Olva
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Ideal for an afternoon or early evening drink on the sun terrace. Lovely views over the bay, friendly staff and good facilities. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend. Had the pulled pork burger to share with lovely mustard coleslaw.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Angie11-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Many thanks for your review, we appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience. We’re pleased that you were able to enjoy our terrace area, taking in the views that we have to offer of St Ives Harbour and the West-Cornwall coastline. We appreciate your comments regarding the service received, we have invested a lot of time in our “brewing a passion” customer service, so it is always pleasing to receive such positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva.

Pedn Olva
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

just back from our 9th year at the hotel ,brilliant holiday ,hotel ,staff ,thanks to drew and all the staff for a gret stay again ,special mention to steve ,jess,dean ,and the waitress from austraila who all work so hard all the time thanks again

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregdonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for your review, following your most recent stay with us. We’re pleased you enjoyed you stay with us. We will ensure your comments are passed onto the mentioned team members. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva for your 10th year.

Pedn Olva
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Me and my husband have just returned from our mini moon at the Pedn Olva in St Ives and although we had a lovely break we were slightly disappointed with our stay.

We booked the honeymoon suite and the view is absolutely breathtaking! The room was really lovely and so much bigger than the photos online. There is a lovely freestanding bath and we loved the complimentary toiletries.

However, we found the staff to be quite rude! Especially they ladies on reception (apart from Sue!). On our first evening we tried to book room service for the morning and when we were asked what we wanted we said we didn't have a breakfast menu in our room. Rather than just give us another one, the lady on reception went up to the room to check that there really wasn't one there. We also had to ask for a hairdryer (which was also meant to be in the room already) and an iron & ironing board.

We were also disappointed by the lack of cocktails in the bar although the food we had was really delicious. We were unable to eat our meal on the terrace though as it was also open to non guests and we weren't able to find a table.

Overall I would recommend the Pedn Olva (if only for the incredible location!!) but I do feel that the hotel maybe relies a little too much on it's fabulous location.

Room Tip: The suite is amazing - the views are fabulous!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosied2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Thank you for your review, following your recent stay. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experiences. We’re sorry to hear that your stay with us, was not to your satisfaction. Our state room does have some of the best views that we are able to offer from our unique location. Our housekeeper and her team work hard to ensure that all guests have any additional extras they may require in their rooms. We thank you for bringing the comments to our attention regarding our reception staff while asking for room service breakfast, we will ensure that all rooms are equipped with a breakfast menu. We will pass your comments onto our housekeeper to ensure that all rooms are equipped with a hair dryer; we do have iron and ironing boards available on request. If you are visiting us again and looking to dine al fresco, we can offer you to dine on our side terrace over-looking Porthminster Beach (weather permitting) with our restaurant dinner menu. We thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva. Please be assured all comments are discussed by us as a management team.

Pedn Olva
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had a lovely meal here whilst looking out over the bay very friendly staff and very reasonably priced would recommend and would go back there.
A well located hotel which is open to no residents for meals and drinks with picturesque views of st Ives from the roof terrace and restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank nick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Many thanks you for your review, we appreciate the time you’ve taken. We have invested a lot of time developing our menus to ensure there is something for everyone’s taste. So it is always pleasing to receive positive feedback from our customer on both our food and the customer service received by our staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Pedn Olva
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews