We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pedn Olva Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$111
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$337
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$393
$303
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Gannet Inn(Carbis Bay)
$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Western Hotel(St Ives)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent(St Ives)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cottage Hotel(Carbis Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,080)
Filter reviews
1,080 results
Traveler rating
580
318
98
50
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
580
318
98
50
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsporthminster beachon the rocksroof terracest austell brewerybalcony roomstation car parkrooms are smallnon residentsamazing viewsoverlooking the seasound of the wavesfantastic locationhotel restaurantwaiting stafffish and chipsfamily roombreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
712 - 717 of 1,080 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2014

This hotel has the most amazing setting overlooking the sea in St Ives.
The rooms are on the small size as they are built into the cliffs.However the setting more than makes up for this.
Staff are very friendly and although we did not eat in the restaurant the quality of food at breakfast was very good.
The hotel is within easy walking distance of many trip advisor restaurants in St Ives and we would recommend this hotel if you are visiting the St Ives area.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikelizEdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments, we really appreciate the time you have taken. We appreciate your comments regarding the setting of the hotel, we try to provide a professional and relaxed atmosphere to ensure all our guests enjoy their experiences. We have invested a lot of time developing our menus so it is always pleasing to receive positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva soon.!

Pedn Olva
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Don't get me wrong we like this place, but some things have to said, it's only fair. We paid top whack for this room which you could barely turn round in, there was no room for a wardrobe or a place to hang your clothes it was barely suitable as a single and ludicrously small for a double. The staff should have mentioned this at the time of booking, and the price should be reduced for it's unusual smallness, and another thing we have been staying at this hotel for over 15 years but every time we go we are asked if this is out first visit for gods sake isn't there some way you could devise a system that highlights we are returning guests!! The staff are friendly and efficient no change there, but £190 a night to stay in a broom cupboard ,are you having a laugh.

Room Tip: If you like space to turn round in do not book room 5. Could not sleep felt claustrophobic.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jinnty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Thank you for your review, following you recent visit. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your comments. We’re sorry to hear that your stay with us was not to the satisfaction of previous visits. As I’m sure you can appreciate some of our rooms are larger than others; as you have stayed with us several times before, it comes as a surprise that you have not pre-booked your room for the following year. Unfortunately if we were to provide every detail of each room, this would make our booking process extremely lengthy. Our reservations system is capable of recording the amount of times guests have stayed with us before, providing that each reservation is booked under the same name previously used. We appreciate your comments regarding our staff. It is harder to deal with a problem once a guest has departed, may we suggest that you raise or bring your issues or comments to the attention of our reservations team on future visits, so that we can rectify the problem or offer an alternative room. We look forward to seeing you again.

Pedn Olva
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This time we were back for a two night package, in our favourite room, with dinner included on the first evening. The restaurant and kitchen staff were very helpful in finding a garlic free meal for me and again in the morning with a superb kedgeree for breakfast.
Jane, on reception, was welcoming as usual and Dean had the Tribute beer in tiptop condition, although we did notice that the price had crept up again!
It's so relaxing to sit by the window and watch the waves washing the sand clean - especially on a damp morning whilst waiting for the train to take us home.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experiences following your most recent visit, we really appreciate the time you've taken to share your experience. We take pride in our customer service and can always “tweak” our menus to suite individual dietary needs. We will ensure that your comments are passed onto the team and in particular Jane and Dean; we appreciate your comments regarding our prices, although we are regulated by St Austell Brewery’s pricing structure. We look forward to seeing you again soon.!

Pedn Olva
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I have stayed here on numerous occasions during the past 15 years and although we once again had a very pleasant stay I have to say that our particular room - room 5- was very small even by Pedn Olva standards. It was fortuitous that we only had one small bag otherwise there would have been nowhere to store our luggage. As it was there was only a small "cupboard" to hang our clothes which was not big enough. The only good thing about the room was the dual aspect balcony but at £570 for three nights the room was appalling value. As I indicated earlier, everything else including service and food was fine although once again the location of the room was far from ideal as we could hear noise at night from other guests and the background music from the restaurant/bar area below. Have never experienced this from the other rooms we have previously stayed in.

Very disappointing

Room Tip: Avoid Room 5 at all costs.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grahamstubbings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, following your recent stay. We appreciate the time you have taken. We’re sorry to hear that on this occasion that your room did not meet the standards expected. As I’m sure you can appreciate all our rooms vary in size due to our unique location (and being built on the site of an old copper mine). If you are looking to visit us in the future, please feel free to contact our reservations team who can provide details of some of our slightly larger rooms, alternatively you can pre-book rooms on departure for the following year with our reservations team. Thank you for your comments, please be assured all comments are discussed by us a team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva once again.

Pedn Olva
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We went for lunch here on the last day of our holiday, it was chosen by our two children due to it's fantastic location and views.

The staff were all friendly and helpful but it was the food that was the let down. We ate in the bar and I ordered the crab and tiger prawn open sandwich which if I had closed my eyes I wouldn't have guessed it was seafood as it was tasteless, the chips that came with it were luke warm. The children had children's meals which were fine but nothing out of the ordinary and small portions even for a skinny 7 year old! They had a side order of Houmous and veggie sticks, the carrot sticks were an unpeeled carrot cut into quarters which was dry and curling at the end and the yellow pepper was 'floppy' and obviously past it's sell by date, the Houmous was sadly inedible and didn't appear to have any other ingredient that chick pea and olive oil

My husband had steak which he enjoyed and said was one of the nicest steaks he had eaten during a fortnight in St Ives.

Looking at your other reviews it looks like this isn't a usual reflection on the quality of your food so I am hoping it was just an off day, in hindsight we should have mentioned it to you at the time but being stereotypically British we didn't! It's a shame as your location is amazing and the views stunning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank MrsJollyVadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experiences; following your recent visit. We have invested a lot of time in our “brewing a passion” customer training, so it is always pleasing to receive such positive comments. We’re sorry to hear that your dining experience with us did not meet our usual standards, please be assured all comments ate discussed by us as a management team and will be passed onto our team of chefs.! We’re pleased to hear that your husband enjoyed his steak. Please be assured that this is not the usual standard of our food offering. We hope that this experience hasn’t put you off visiting us again in the future, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva. We appreciate all comments, both positive and negative, and please don’t hesitate to ask a member of our waiting or bar team to grab a manager, should you meal need meet the standard expected; we can always have the meal re-cooked or provide and alternative.

Pedn Olva
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews