We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel but can be a bit more accomodating”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pedn Olva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pedn Olva Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good hotel but can be a bit more accomodating”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is not the first time that we stayed in this hotel and we like the feel of it. However the stuff if not very accomodating - we needed to stay an extra hour and asked to have the parking for another hour ( instead of 11 - 12), we have been told that it is all fully booked. I have hard time to believe that this is a case that all new holiday makers will check in at 11 sharp. We didn't even bother asking to have a room for an extra hour.
I like the hotel' location and that it is very cosy but some stuff members need to be a bit nicer. Only blond lady ( long hair) was very nice on the reception and helpful with any questions.
The breakfast was simple but all we needed. The waitresses there were very nice and friendly.
The view is standing.
The cleaning lady kept the room tidy, can't fault really.

I would still recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaTripzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    275
    90
    42
    28
See reviews for
173
524
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2013

just got back from my 7th year at the hotel ,the refurb is great and looks fab .i want to say that this year has been far my best the food was spot on and the service was as good .bar lads dan and dean as always the best cheers fellows .the girls who do the rooms work so hard and are brilliant ,neil the pool guy .legend .the main thing this year was the girls on the hotel desk were all new and i can say they were truly outstandin ,the manager julie couldnt do enough for us and in the 7 years i have stayed at the hotel she has realy been the best by a mile ,thanks julie you realy made our stay worth while and all that you did to help hope your still there next year .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gregdonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Many thanks for your review following recent stay with us. It is always pleasing to receive positive feedback regarding the customer service provided. We have invested a lot of time in our “Brewing a Passion” training programme to improve our standards and it is great to know that our Assistant Manager, Julie and all the team did such a sterling job whilst we were away. We look forward to welcoming you back for your 8th year!

Warmest regards
Drew and Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is built on a promontory so the sea is on three sides and the experience is similiar to being on board a ship. The views towards the harbour on one side and Porthminster beach on the other are terrific. The standard of rooms seems to vary. We had a really good family rooom but our friends' room was dark with a limited view despite the room charge being the same. Also the bathrooms are very compact.
The staff are warm and friendly. We mainly ate out because there is such a good choice of top quality restaurants in St. Ives although the hotel food is also of a good standard.
Wwe would certainly recommend it as a good place to stay.

Room Tip: We like the room overlooking Porthminster beach although you have to brave the elements to get to so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate the time you've taken to share your experience. The style and location of the building (built on the site of an old tin mine!) does mean that rooms are quite bijou, however family rooms do tend to be larger. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be pleased to advise on styles of bedrooms for any future bookings!

Kind regards

Drew and Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Good family room on lower ground floor - decent size for 4.
Highlights - fantastic service - absolutely great! V good breakfast, lovely fresh fish etc. Location.
Low points - found it hard to locate, clear directions about parking arrangements would help. Older customers may need to pre-arrange help with bags from car park.
Staff who seemed to be coming off shift seemed to take over bar at once point on the Friday night and made us feel we ought to leave (not by saying anything but by looking tired and ready to go home!)

Room Tip: Balcony rooms upstairs are worth booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joky52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here for a few days in early June. Fantastic position overlooking the Harbour on one side and the beach on the other. Unbeatable sea views from the bar area and our room balcony. Rooms are small but there are called cabins so don't be surprised... Staff in general are very friendly and accommodating. Downside is that the hotel marketing is directed at non residents, the hotel rooms are expensive but there is no sense of exclusivity due to the hotel targeting passing trade. Can't disagree more about the breakfast, to me it was very very poor, no Greek yogurt nor fruit compote, fruit salad was just OK, mainly apple and when it ran out I was told the chef would not be making any more. The bacon was anemic etc . Would I go back? yes but only for short stays, the size of the rooms and the non residents would get me down after more than three or four nights.

Room Tip: Go for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonDaveBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Level Contributor
169 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We went here for a drink only as we had a meal planned elsewhere later.....what a shame! The food we eyeballed on other tables looked fab. The hotel is set right on the far reaches of the harbour beach with great views from the sun terrace. The staff were efficient and friendly, we would definetly go back, might even stay here one day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swan2555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyle
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

When i was planning our trip to cornwall i had not a clue what i was facing,my wife said we should give this hotel a visit as it was close to the sea .Well i have not got over what a great chose we made this is a wonderful hotel at a great location not just that but the evening and morning meals were just fab .stay here if you love the sea i have not stayed in better so close to the sea .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimoc2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
900 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#8 of 21 in St Ives
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedn Olva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedn Olva Hotel

Property: Pedn Olva Hotel
Address: The Warren, St Ives TR26 2EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#7 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pedn Olva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pedn Olva, with the sea only thirty feet below and flanked by golden sands, is founded on blue-black granite rocks on the southern shores of St. Ives Harbour and Bay. Contemporary, romantic and breathtaking are but a few ways to describe the Pedn Olva, with its 29 distinctive bedrooms, restaurant, bar, terraces and outdoor heated swimming pool that make it an ideal stay for a getaway break, special meal or relaxing lunch. The plethora of windows facing the sea allows our guests to be as close as you can get to floating on the sea without leaving dry land. A safe haven for watching winter storms in front of a granite open fire, or seeing dolphins and seals playing in the bay from our sun drenched terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pedn Olva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedn Olva St Ives
Pedn Olva Hotel St Ives, Cornwall
Hotel Pedn Olva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing