We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but pricey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pedn Olva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pedn Olva Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel many times over the past few years. The location is excellent and all the rooms offer lovely views of either porthminster beach or the harbour. The rooms are small but perfectly adequate although I would not want to stay in one for more than a couple of days as storage space is limited. Some rooms do have a balcony which is good if the weather is nice. The food is ok but I would suggest you take advantage of the great restaurants in St Ives rather than eat in the hotel. The staff are helpful although customer service could be better. In summary the hotel is perfectly ok but gets a good rating due to the excellent location.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    267
    89
    40
    28
See reviews for
165
507
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel and the main talking points are the luxury price you will be paying to stay there, the location and the service. In location terms, you will not find a finer hotel. Superb views of both the town and St Ives bay make the location second to nobody in St Ives in my opinion. Because of that, and ONLY because of that, you will be paying the sort of price associated with a luxury hotel. In high season you'll be looking at £200 a night. I had a deluxe room which had a single and double bed and was of a perfect size although I would say that getting a single room would mean VERY small. True, you could hear the footsteps of people upstairs, but it wasn't too bad. The view overlooking the swimming pool and St Ives bay was superb and the sound of the waves just down below the window was very calming. That's it really. You will not receive anything else classed in the luxury category. I wasn't expecting it to be, I only stayed here for the location. In terms of service, expect the absolute minimum. For example, upon arrival, the receptionist saw us to our room and rattled through some rules and regs etc whilst on our way, opened the door and left. Didn't ask where we were from or how our journey down was. Nothing. She was also the receptionist when I checked out. She told me how much I owed, asked for my pin, handed my card back and that was it. Didn't even ask how the stay was. Her name was Iona. Dyed red hair. I'm not complaining, it's what I expected, just so long as nobody else using this site pays £200 a night and DOES expect luxury service. You won't get it. You will get great views, lovely breakfast, super restaurant and terrace and will have an excellent time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gazpacho68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Great food and friendly staff. Although access to some of the rooms is external, if the weather is good this is not a problem. Right next to the beech and a few minutes walk from the town centre, makes this an ideal location. The views from the bar make the experience worth while.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Trolliedollie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

What a lovely place to stay. Views to die for, great food and the most genuinely friendly staff we have every come across in a hotel.

Room Tip: Worth paying that bit extra for a room with a balcony as rooms can be on the small side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LongfordGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Arrived at Pend Olva 28/5/2012 for a 4 nights deal which consisted of 2 evening meals and four breakfasts, all I can say is FABULOUS, can't wait to go back. We stayed in a
de-lux room - 16 and we could not have wished for a better room. Huge bed, large
bathroom with bath and shower and a sitting area with an 180 degree view. Breakfast was delicious with a large choice and evening meal was 2 courses and a side each. Dessert was beautiful, just wish that there was more of it!!. Sitting having a pre-dinner
drink overlooking the sea was fantastic. Have had a drink and dinner at this hotel before but never stayed there, now I will not stay anywhere else in St. Ives. Special thanks to Jamie and James.

Room Tip: Room 16 - De-lux room with fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed at the Pedn Olva for a midweek break in early May.The Hotel is in a fantastic position with beautiful views of St. Ives town and Hayle Towans.It is an easy five minute walk into town.The staff were very friendly and helpful, with the exception of one of the breakfast girls with an attitude problem! We found the dinner menu very restrictive,with tiny portions.Breakfast was ok,but again very small.The sea view room we had was well decorated withgood furnishings and linens and a well stocked tea and coffee tray, but again very small. Expect bruised elbows from the shower!! We had a good time but would probably not return to the Pedn Olva.Obviously built for those cornish piskies!!

Room Tip: Go for the biggest they have !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beckamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Location is everything with this hotel. View from balcony spectacular. Deck chairs provided to sit outside which is a nice touch. One was broken but was swiftly repaired on second asking. Balcony not private - 4/5 rooms lead out on to the same balcony with half partions between. This is fine so long as all occupants respect others. Bring your deck chair in if you are not using it as the seagulls will mess it very quickly. Room was small but acceptable. Excellent strength shower (no bath in our room) but could have done with a good all over scrub as build up of grime on shower door runners.

Walls of the room fairly thin. Could easily hear occupants and tv of next room. We had room 9 which had a fire escape route on the other side of the wall so no noise from that side. Door to balcony can be opened like a window with top open - lovely to listen to the sea at night. Door was a bit unstable on its hinges and it can be seen where it has fallen slightly and damaged the wall.

Staff friendly enough. Staff at breakfast on sunday more friendly then at other times. Breakfast very good. Nice, fresh and healthy choices as well as fried breakfast with good fish options. Salmon & scrambled eggs and haddock & poached eggs recommended. I did find a hair in my breakfast on the second day - apologies from chef via waitress but a shame to ruin what was otherwise an excellent breakfast. Restaurant area looked nice with fantastic views of St Ives but we didn't eat there.

Lots of outside areas to sit and admire the view - pool very small, more like a paddling pool.

Overall a satisfactory hotel in an excellent location serving a good breakfast. Could do with a thorough overall deep clean of Reception, stairs, rooms and bathrooms. Staff okay but could be a little more professional and friendly. For the money paid for rooms standards should be higher and not just rely on the excellent location as a reason to charge the current rates.

We enjoyed our stay and would stay again. The view was the best thing about the hotel. Simple improvements would make this an exceptional hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kawkawkaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#6 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedn Olva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedn Olva Hotel

Property: Pedn Olva Hotel
Address: The Warren, St Ives TR26 2EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#7 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pedn Olva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pedn Olva, with the sea only thirty feet below and flanked by golden sands, is founded on blue-black granite rocks on the southern shores of St. Ives Harbour and Bay. Contemporary, romantic and breathtaking are but a few ways to describe the Pedn Olva, with its 29 distinctive bedrooms, restaurant, bar, terraces and outdoor heated swimming pool that make it an ideal stay for a getaway break, special meal or relaxing lunch. The plethora of windows facing the sea allows our guests to be as close as you can get to floating on the sea without leaving dry land. A safe haven for watching winter storms in front of a granite open fire, or seeing dolphins and seals playing in the bay from our sun drenched terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Pedn Olva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedn Olva St Ives
Pedn Olva Hotel St Ives, Cornwall
Hotel Pedn Olva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing