We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“emma's return home”
Review of Chy-An-Albany

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chy-An-Albany
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“emma's return home”
Reviewed March 3, 2011

We took advantage of the superb value of the winter rates at this hotel to come back to St Ives(my partner was born and spent her early youth there). I am no seasoned hotel critic but I know where I am comfortable and our three days here more than satisfied our needs.We stayed in a deluxe double with superb views of porthminster beach and beyond,large orthopaedic bed and well appointed bathroom with corner bath and shower. Good breakfast covering all needs,attentative and friendly staff,what more to say other than we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chilidave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    301
    123
    58
    27
See reviews for
156
528
43
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

would like to thank Emma and Sarah on reception who we found very helpful and always smiling and Laura in the resturant . Also the food was excellent so and well presented .We had a great weekend and would recomend the Hotel to everyone .

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smudge2450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

AS you arrive in ST Ives the hotel stands in its own grounds over looking St Ives Bay.
A well presented hotel with friendly staff and management
Reception well presented with an air of St Ives.
Close to Gwithian Beach on the Hayle side, which is a favourity for surfer and body boarder alike.
ST Ives is a hussling resort with the tate gallery and various art gallerys catering for all
the bars are up market a a well as very cornish.
Chy An Albany House keeping team take pride in there work, and maintain a good standard of rooms, which are on suite with Tv and telephone + tea & coffee
For thoses looking for a swimming pool this is just a short walk from the hotel and the beach is about 5 minutes away, Car parking is adaquate , which overlooks nice garden at the back of the hotel

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelmalewisuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

This was a romantic night away arranged by my husband for valentines. We stayed in a superior sea view room, and although we arrived half an hour before check-in, we were showed to our room within 5 mins, the staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. The room was spacious (more like a suite) and spotless, the bed was enormous and felt like sleeping on a marshmallow, the bathroom was very clean, and the bath was big and lovely. The view was amazing and the decor was nice, although slightly dated.
We werent a long walk from the centre of st.ives, but would recomend taxi if weather is bad or you dont like hills!!
Breakfast was lovely, self service, but nice all the same. Would highly recommend and would love to come back again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alannah3639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2011

After a long journey from London reception made us very welcolme. My husband and I went away with friends for a long weekend and had a wonderful relaxing time. The room was clean and spacious and the small touches such as the aromatherapy shower products added to our pleasurable stay. The breakfast was fresh, hot and plenty to chose from. We had rooms with a sea view. They were warm and quiet. The staff were very informative and there was free parking which is rare when travelling to this location. Other hotels did not have this facility so you would need to leave your car in the public car park. Will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sassonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

Positives --- Great little find. Huge hotel room, with a sea view and shared balcony. Lovely bathroom, with a corner bath, great after long Cornish walks to soak tired limbs. Unbelievable value for money (out of season- 3 nights for price of two, £130) Very short walk to shops and harbour.
Negatives--- Heard one member of staff being a little rude to a customer, but other than that good friendly service. Nothing else negative about our stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazza51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2011

After recently staying at the Chy An Albany it was a rather wonderful experience, I really enjoyed my stay and not only thought that the views were beautiful; but the rooms are wonderfully presented and I really found the time to relax!
I was also greeting by some very friendly staff- Emma and Sarah are the names that stood out, they are very outgoing and had a lot of local knowledge, they were also very accommodating and I will most definitely be staying there in the future.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroliney63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.1 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#6 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy-An-Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy-An-Albany

Property: Chy-An-Albany
Address: Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#5 Family Hotel in St Ives
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chy-An-Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing comfortable accommodation with every amenity you would expect from a luxury award winning AA 3 star rated Hotel in Cornwall. The Chy an Albany occupies a wonderfully elevated site with magnificent views overlooking Portminster beach and St Ives Bay in Cornwall.Only a short walk into town and with ample free off road car parking.The hotel provides an ideal base to explore St. Ives and its renowned Tate Gallery, as well as the quaint harbour side, cobbled streets and collection of beautiful beaches that have captivated artists and tourists for over a century. The hotel is also just a short walk from the train station at the bottom of the hill (approximately 3 minutes). The new 'Lighthouse Bistro' is an art-themed restaurant, showcasing a wide range of art from local artists. The gallery-style restaurant offers contemporary dining using the very freshest local vegetables and produce, fish straight from the sea and Cornish made cheeses alongside exotic foods and wines from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chy-An-Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy-An-Albany Hotel St Ives
Chy-An-Albany St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing