We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but small and cold”
Review of Chy-An-Albany

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chy-An-Albany
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We stayed at this hotel from 26th to 30th Jan, when we arrived we booked in and shown to our room, after a horrid day travelling down from derbyshire to Newquay to spread my brothers ashes which was very stressful, I needed a shower to make myself feel better, but after a few minutes trying to switch the shower on nothing happened, i went down stairs to tell a young man on reception, which he responded straight away, we moved rooms but to my horror the room was the size of a match stick box, although clean very small. But the main complaint is the coldness of the place on the wednesday till Friday morning it was very cold whilst sitting in the sun lounge and having our breakfast, but on Saturday and Sunday it was a self serve basis which was a much improved system much better. I feel very disappointed in my stay, as wednesday till friday the hotel was very uncomfortable, but when more people stayed from friday till sunday they seemed to put the heating on downstairs which i found very dissapointing as the lounge had fantastic views which i could of sat and looked at for ages, but you had to have your coat on. The summer time in this hotel would be fab as loctaion is great hotel is good overall except our tiny room was over kitchen and was woken very early with banging and clanging wish we had a bigger room on the front. Recommend this hotel in summer time or if the heating is put on for all guest......

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gee891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (990)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

864 - 870 of 990 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2011

Nice relaxing weekend spent with husband and friends. Roomy comfortable rooms. Evening meal in the hotels resturant was excellent, very tasty and excellent value for money. Staff very helpful, and excellent waitress evening and morning. Recommend this hotel as good vaue for money.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjcdevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

i stayed at the Chy an Albany Hotel with their winter rates and what a bargin. £45.00 for brilliant service from the receptionists to the housekeepers. A lovely room which had lovely bay views and the breakfast was superb!!! will be visiting again soon! and only 10minute walk to town!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophiekatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We've Just returned from a one night stay for our wedding anniversary and found the hotel warm and comfortable. The reception and restaurant staff were very polite and welcoming and overall we've come away with a very pleasant impression. The bar/lounge and restaurant both have panoramic views across to the bay and the reception area which is a bit tired, is being refurbished. We booked a double room (without a sea view) but ended up with a twin room. There were no alternatives available, so we would say that if booking through one of the usual websites and you specifically want a twin or double, rather than leave it to the hotel to allocate, it's probably best to phone them direct and let them know in advance. The room we had was on the second floor at the side of the hotel and was very quiet, but possibly too small for some people - it depends on your expectations. At a bargain rate of £45 for the room, including the hot buffet breakfast, we think it was excellent value. We'd certainly stay again, but it would depend on the price. If the room we had this time was priced at summer rates - maybe not.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qualityspy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

We recently stayed a night at this hotel while travelling around Cornwall and looking at the website thought we had found a great place to stay. Unfortunately this was not the case. The family room was quite cramped, ensuite was tiny and the view was of a retaining wall. The room smelt of mildew (although I could not find any) and I can't help feeling that in the off season there is less emphasis on service and housekeeping. Breakfast was okay - I am still puzzled as to why the bacon was curry flavoured. The location was good and perhaps this hotel is better during the high season.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozjamboree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

In December 2010, we travelled from Devon and went to Cornwall.
We only stayed one night, a christmas treat from my Hubby, we went to see the xmas lights at Mousehole and i have always loved St.Ives.
Our Room was lovely, views over the bay and they made our 7 year old daughter very welcome too.
The Staff were friendly, Hotel was clean and welcoming and warm! The food was fantastic, lovely big breakfast with plenty of choice, we will be returning this year. We hope you enjoy your stay at this Hotel, as much as we did.

Mrs. Brown

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitkat36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Excellent service, spacious room although reception could do with some updating---- hope to stay in the summer.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorothy092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,761 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,034 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#8 of 21 in St Ives
644 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
#14 of 21 in St Ives
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy-An-Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy-An-Albany

Address: Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: $90 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chy-An-Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing comfortable accommodation with every amenity you would expect from a luxury award winning AA 3 star rated Hotel in Cornwall. The Chy an Albany occupies a wonderfully elevated site with magnificent views overlooking Portminster beach and St Ives Bay in Cornwall.Only a short walk into town and with ample free off road car parking.The hotel provides an ideal base to explore St. Ives and its renowned Tate Gallery, as well as the quaint harbour side, cobbled streets and collection of beautiful beaches that have captivated artists and tourists for over a century. The hotel is also just a short walk from the train station at the bottom of the hill (approximately 3 minutes). The new 'Lighthouse Bistro' is an art-themed restaurant, showcasing a wide range of art from local artists. The gallery-style restaurant offers contemporary dining using the very freshest local vegetables and produce, fish straight from the sea and Cornish made cheeses alongside exotic foods and wines from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chy-An-Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy-An-Albany Hotel St Ives
Chy-An-Albany St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing