We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive, friendly and professional staff, with excellent restaurant facilities.”
Review of Chy-An-Albany

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chy-An-Albany
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2010

As a first time to St Ives i felt the Hotel had a great situation overlooking the bay, with peaceful public rooms to relax and enjoy the view. Situated in walking distance from the town good walking shoes a must as a bit of a steep climb to the Hotel, and from the town also. I would recommend the Hotel restaurant for its wonderful food a real delight. We ate their every night so no need to walk back from town or get a Taxi. If your a fish lover your in for a treat. St Ives was a lovely place to wander and browse in quality upmarket shops. Plenty of restaurants to choose from here too.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annemanning2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (978)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

861 - 867 of 978 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2010

Had a very relaxing time at the Chy-An- Albany St Ives ,the rooms were very clean and the Breakfast excellent we ate in the bisto in the evening and it was very good a great place to stay

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sidhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

We had a lovely three night stay here. Brilliant value. A superb breakfast laid out every morning including hot and cold items. Very friendly staff. Beautiful views. The room was small but this did not matter in the slightest as we weren't there much. Clean and nicely decorated. We will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LcW1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

A very friendly hotel, very clean and newly decorated. Room lovely, bed very comfortable although very small bathroom but adequate. Breakfast first class plenty of everything, Sunday lunch one of the best we have had. Wonderful views and only a short walk into the heart of St. Ives. Highly recommended especially at the winter rates.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonyBargoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

we cannot speak highly enough of our stay. the staff was brilliant and most helpfull,we had a room with views over st ives bay whitch were fantastic room,food,and sevice was excellent. will definately return again next year.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul0128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Reception was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable, minor examples of the room being 'tired' (eg drawers opened by themselves, one headboard need refixing - attended to very promptly).
Position gives great view from the restaurant and the lounge over Porthminster Beach and the sea. Because it is well above the town, it even gives you some good exercise in walking back up the hill after eating too much in the town

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cotswoldguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

A lovely elevated hotel with lovely views, the rooms were comfortable and the beds were amazing. I had read that the bathrooms were small and they are, however this did not cause a problem for a family of three and one of them being a teenage girl! The bedroom was a lovely size with plenty of room.
The breakfast was beautiful with lots to chose from. We didn't have an evening meal in the restaurant as we felt that it was a little over priced, however you're close enough to town to walk if you wanted a sit down meal. Although we had heard that the meals in the hotel were fantastic, so our loss!!
There is a bar area that is comfortable and has a relaxed atmoshere.
The hotel is being renovated and not once did this interfere with our stay.....I'm sure they must've been elves as you knew work was being done but you didn't see them or hear them!
There are two car parks, one at the front of the hotel and one at the back of the hotel. There is a sheltered smoking area that has a lovely view of the gardens ( I don't smoke and it wasn't offensive when people were) that is at the rear of the hotel.
From booking the hotel to leaving at the end of the holiday, we received professionalism from the staff in the hotel, who strive to cater to your needs and happiness. My family and my Dad (booked in a seperate room) were extremely happy and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytilmademad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,734 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,013 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
638 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#9 of 21 in St Ives
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy-An-Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy-An-Albany

Address: Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#5 Family Hotel in St Ives
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: $81 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chy-An-Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing comfortable accommodation with every amenity you would expect from a luxury award winning AA 3 star rated Hotel in Cornwall. The Chy an Albany occupies a wonderfully elevated site with magnificent views overlooking Portminster beach and St Ives Bay in Cornwall.Only a short walk into town and with ample free off road car parking.The hotel provides an ideal base to explore St. Ives and its renowned Tate Gallery, as well as the quaint harbour side, cobbled streets and collection of beautiful beaches that have captivated artists and tourists for over a century. The hotel is also just a short walk from the train station at the bottom of the hill (approximately 3 minutes). The new 'Lighthouse Bistro' is an art-themed restaurant, showcasing a wide range of art from local artists. The gallery-style restaurant offers contemporary dining using the very freshest local vegetables and produce, fish straight from the sea and Cornish made cheeses alongside exotic foods and wines from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Chy-An-Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy-An-Albany Hotel St Ives
Chy-An-Albany St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing