We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best for location and value”
Review of Chy-An-Albany

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chy-An-Albany
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
bargoed
1 review
“One of the best for location and value”
Reviewed November 23, 2010

A very friendly hotel, very clean and newly decorated. Room lovely, bed very comfortable although very small bathroom but adequate. Breakfast first class plenty of everything, Sunday lunch one of the best we have had. Wonderful views and only a short walk into the heart of St. Ives. Highly recommended especially at the winter rates.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonyBargoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    305
    127
    59
    27
See reviews for
161
540
43
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2010

we cannot speak highly enough of our stay. the staff was brilliant and most helpfull,we had a room with views over st ives bay whitch were fantastic room,food,and sevice was excellent. will definately return again next year.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul0128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Reception was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable, minor examples of the room being 'tired' (eg drawers opened by themselves, one headboard need refixing - attended to very promptly).
Position gives great view from the restaurant and the lounge over Porthminster Beach and the sea. Because it is well above the town, it even gives you some good exercise in walking back up the hill after eating too much in the town

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cotswoldguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

A lovely elevated hotel with lovely views, the rooms were comfortable and the beds were amazing. I had read that the bathrooms were small and they are, however this did not cause a problem for a family of three and one of them being a teenage girl! The bedroom was a lovely size with plenty of room.
The breakfast was beautiful with lots to chose from. We didn't have an evening meal in the restaurant as we felt that it was a little over priced, however you're close enough to town to walk if you wanted a sit down meal. Although we had heard that the meals in the hotel were fantastic, so our loss!!
There is a bar area that is comfortable and has a relaxed atmoshere.
The hotel is being renovated and not once did this interfere with our stay.....I'm sure they must've been elves as you knew work was being done but you didn't see them or hear them!
There are two car parks, one at the front of the hotel and one at the back of the hotel. There is a sheltered smoking area that has a lovely view of the gardens ( I don't smoke and it wasn't offensive when people were) that is at the rear of the hotel.
From booking the hotel to leaving at the end of the holiday, we received professionalism from the staff in the hotel, who strive to cater to your needs and happiness. My family and my Dad (booked in a seperate room) were extremely happy and will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytilmademad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Un
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Stayed for a weekend with my wife and daughter with her partner. We were all very impressed with the standard of the service, right from our friendly reception at 11.30 pm to the checking out. The staff were both friendly and efficient and willing to "go the extra mile" to make our stay comfortable.
The rooms were clean and comfortable and towels etc changed for the second day; both the quality of the breakfast and the attentive service from the dining room staff could not be faulted and we found the whole hotel to be very comfortable and homely.
Ample car parking was available on site, which is a real bonus in St Ives.
We have had worse service from hotels charging much more - well done, Chy-an-Albany - we shall be back !!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Had a lovely 5 day break in St Ives. The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Room was clean and although small was very comfortable. Breakfast was buffet style and excellent. Stayed for dinner at the hotel on 3 nights and the food and service was excellent and cost was very reasonable compared to restaurant's in St Ives. We would recommend people to have dinner in the hotel and were surprised that not more people did so. The holiday was definitely value for money and I would go back to the same hotel again if I had another holiday in St Ives

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveBrad11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

A stunning view from the restaurant and lounge, excellent service from all staff, delicious meals, high standards of cleanliness. Our room was overcrowded with furniture and had no bedside table on one side of the rather squeaky double bed (the noise of which woke us when we turned over!) but everything else was so good that we wouldn't hesitate to return in the future.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andjreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
942 reviews
0.3 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 21 in St Ives
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy-An-Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy-An-Albany

Property: Chy-An-Albany
Address: Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#5 Family Hotel in St Ives
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chy-An-Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing comfortable accommodation with every amenity you would expect from a luxury award winning AA 3 star rated Hotel in Cornwall. The Chy an Albany occupies a wonderfully elevated site with magnificent views overlooking Portminster beach and St Ives Bay in Cornwall.Only a short walk into town and with ample free off road car parking.The hotel provides an ideal base to explore St. Ives and its renowned Tate Gallery, as well as the quaint harbour side, cobbled streets and collection of beautiful beaches that have captivated artists and tourists for over a century. The hotel is also just a short walk from the train station at the bottom of the hill (approximately 3 minutes). The new 'Lighthouse Bistro' is an art-themed restaurant, showcasing a wide range of art from local artists. The gallery-style restaurant offers contemporary dining using the very freshest local vegetables and produce, fish straight from the sea and Cornish made cheeses alongside exotic foods and wines from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Chy-An-Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy-An-Albany Hotel St Ives
Chy-An-Albany St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing