We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“exceeded our expectations!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chy-An-Albany

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chy-An-Albany
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
littlejoncouch
1 review
“exceeded our expectations!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2010

We have stayed in many 3 star hotels but this was by far the most enjoyable.
The service from the staff was warming, the room was light with amazing views but the most enjoyable part of our stay was the restaurant and fantastic food. I really believe this restaurant should be issued with at least 3 rosettes. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlejoncouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    293
    120
    57
    27
See reviews for
154
520
41
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

Fantastic hotel with amazing views of the sea. Super staff and rooms. Had a basic room booked but was upgraded to the Lamorna Penrose room which is used for newly weds ! Just lovely. Would definitely recommend to anyone. Good breakfast, cannot fault this hotel. Many thanks for 2 lovely stays within the last month...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Finlay_Jake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

the hotel was nice and the staff helped out when on arrival it turned out that lastminute.com completely messed up the booking as well as charged too much. as i said the staff were great and managed to sort things and give us a great room even thought they'd been messed about themselves by lastminute.com
would reccomend chy-an-albany for its value and freindly atmosphere in a great location.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maffmunkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

Booked via hotels website that takes you to a general booking website. This showed the deal of offer with discounts, I called the hotel direct to see if we could book a room with a bath, they said they would do there best - but quoted the full price and to get the discounted price needed to go via the booking website which I do not understand - but hey ho I booked that way.

After initial mix up with room (we booked sea view and were shown non SV room) all sorted out without fuss we had a very nice break. The room was lovely and comfortable, stayed 3 nights on B&B terms. Breakfast - plentiful and of good standard, with good service. Room: good views of the lovely bay.

To get to town is a good walk (10 mins) into centre - 15 on the way back as the hill is steepish - but fine really. Parking is plentiful.

All in all a very clean, characterful hotel, friendly staff and a nice bar.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bristol_UKBristolboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chyanalbany, manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this review, March 24, 2010
Glad we were able to sort this out for you but sorry you were incorrectly advised by one of our staff to go via the agency website to get the best rate. We will always match the best rate you find online and sometimes we are able to better it! Thank you for bringing this to my attention.
Richard Foxton,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2010

A really good clean hotel situated about 10 mins walk from St Ives town centre. Free parking and wi-fi.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_Ellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

The Chy-An-Albany Hotel provides quality, comfort and attention to detail and the staff are warm and friendly. The restaurant is a wonderful place surrounded by beautiful paintings and art work and the glorious views of the sea. The food is outstanding served in beautiful candle light, the ambience is perfect.
We had a superb sea view from our tastefully decorated room, it was lovely to wake up and look out at the waves breaking on the beach.
The Chy-An-Albany hotel has a wonderful elevated position looking out over St Ives. We enjoyed drinking coffee in the sun longe just taking in the view.
We would definately recommend this Hotel to all our friends and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocketlolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane-Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2010

I can totally understand why this hotel rates so well. We had an excellent stay from the minute we walked in the door and were met by friendly reception staff. They even took us to our room to show us the facilties and a few little tricks to how particular things worked (lock on door, heating etc).

Room was comfy and newly renovated (we are guessing). Bathroom is compact but modern. Shower has good pressure. We were lucky enough to be given a room with a bay view which was a lovely surprise as we had booked the room at the last minute on 'late rooms' and it was also the first day of half term holidays.

Breakfast was good - buffet of continental plus a freshly cooked to order hot breakfast. Again, excellent customer service and great views over the bay. Parking on site (which can be very difficult in St Ives) and only a short walk down to the town.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanpiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
1.0 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#7 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy-An-Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy-An-Albany

Property: Chy-An-Albany
Address: Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#5 Family Hotel in St Ives
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chy-An-Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing comfortable accommodation with every amenity you would expect from a luxury award winning AA 3 star rated Hotel in Cornwall. The Chy an Albany occupies a wonderfully elevated site with magnificent views overlooking Portminster beach and St Ives Bay in Cornwall.Only a short walk into town and with ample free off road car parking.The hotel provides an ideal base to explore St. Ives and its renowned Tate Gallery, as well as the quaint harbour side, cobbled streets and collection of beautiful beaches that have captivated artists and tourists for over a century. The hotel is also just a short walk from the train station at the bottom of the hill (approximately 3 minutes). The new 'Lighthouse Bistro' is an art-themed restaurant, showcasing a wide range of art from local artists. The gallery-style restaurant offers contemporary dining using the very freshest local vegetables and produce, fish straight from the sea and Cornish made cheeses alongside exotic foods and wines from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Chy-An-Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy-An-Albany Hotel St Ives
Chy-An-Albany St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing