We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Atlantic(Carbis Bay)
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$337
$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$146
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$813
$350
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $435/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Nook(St Ives)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Downsfield(Carbis Bay)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,013)
Filter reviews
1,013 results
Traveler rating
455
327
134
63
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
455
327
134
63
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslighthouse bistrosea viewthe rear car parkdeluxe roomhot buffetbuffet stylelovely hotelbreakfast was excellentporthminster beachwould stay againshort breaktown centrestayed for one nightfamily rooman evening mealfour nightsrailway station
Filter
Updating list...
949 - 954 of 1,013 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2009

This is a lovely hotel. were the staff are very friendly and cant do enough to help you. ven showing you to your room which is rare these days. The whole place was spotlessly clean, bright and airy. Yes the decor is a little dated but does not look tired at all. The only draw back is the limited parking, but once you are parked up everything is in within walking distance including stunning clean beaches.

If you are lucky enough to get one of the top rooms as we were then you will enjoy a panaramic view of St Ives.

All in all a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ceri25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

This hotel is in a time warp. The decor is so old fashioned and dreary it reminded me of an old peoples home. The reception area was dark and gloomy and uninspiring. They had just experienced some flooding which meant the whole place smelt like an old wet blanket. The room was again rather old fashioned and not particularly homely. However it was the bathroom that was a joke. They had force a shower and toilet into what can only be described as a small closet. If you sat on the toilet, anyone in the shower couldn't get out....but having two people in their at the same time would require the knowledge of some of the more ambitious poisitions of the Karma Sutra!!

The breakfast room was pleasant enough, although the food was very average and basic....The head waiter was a miserable sod who insisted where people sat, was dismissive of people wanting attention, saying..."be with you soon but you can see all the tables that need clearing..." Well thats not our fault...customer care is vital.

All in all I really was very disappointed. They need to pull their socks off and not rely on the fact they will probably always be full in the summer because it is St Ives. Shoddy, tired and gloomy. Will never be back.....

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank senpass5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chyanalbany, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2009

Thank you for your observation regarding the hotel. As you mentioned, the damp smell on the ground floor was due to very recent severe flooding at the end of April. The ground floor area was rescheduled whilst refurbishment of the affected arears was ongoing. The waiter you referred to was a temporary member of staff who was dismissed shortly after this time and I sincerely apologise for the ungracious manner in which he conducted himself. Now we have completed refurbishment of this area, I would welcome the guest making contact with us to discuss a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

Paul Rees and his staff worked tirelessly to help us enjoy our stay. The food at every meal was beautifully cooked and delicious. The local beaches were clean and we found St Ives a friendly place to unwind and use as a base for visiting other interesting places in Cornwall.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynLittleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

We held our annual West Country Writers' Congress at the Chy-an Albany last weekend, and they couldn't have made us more welcome. The staff went out of their way to accommodate our various conference needs. The food was very good, the rooms copmfortable and we had an excellent weekend. It was particularly commendable as the hotel had been flooded out just the week before, but with tremendous hard work, they managed to have it ready for our stay and still be smiling when we arrived.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tighcasla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

Working in the trade, I booked the hotel for a writers congress. It was an excellent stay, in spite of a major flood 2 weeks earlier. The staff were extremely helpful and professional. They were proactive and the congress went very smoothly with no delays. There was always a senior member of staff available to deal with delegate demands. The food was of a consistantly high standard. As with many 3 star hotels, some of the bedrooms were a little basic, but they were spotlessly clean, and the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelaccountant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews