We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gwyliau yn Sant Ia”
Review of Chy-An-Albany

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chy-An-Albany
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Booked in for 5 nights.
Problem with fan noise from room above me on first night - (I was in room 16.) Moved to another room and had an excellent stay. Breakfasts are fantastic!
Due to first night problem was charged for four nights not five - thanks Julia! - (I donated the 'refund' to SENSE (Deaf-Blind Association.)

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Bryn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (976)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 976 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2014

I stayed here for four nights at the height of the season. I had a single room which, not unexpectedly, didn't have a sea view, but the garden view was good, and as it was on the quiet side of the hotel, meant that I could leave the window open all night in the warm nights and not be disturbed by traffic noise etc. Everything about the hotel was excellent, but I would especially single out how splendid the staff were. If I choose St Ives again, I'll certainly choose the Chy an Albany.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PontypriddAmByth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We had a weekend stay at this hotel in a good spell of weather. We had an upgraded room with a very good sea view. The room was a bit small but adequate for our needs. We were particularly impressed by the staff. All were cheerful and very helpful which made for a pleasant experience. All in all a good experience and one which I would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank jollyoldroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Just got back from a night in the Chy-an Albany hotel, 5th August 2014 it sits in a prominent position above St Ives with a great view of the beach and Bay yet only a few minutes walk down the hill to the town, hotel staff really nice we were in a family room which was clean and well equipped with flat screen TV, tea making facilities, nice bathroom. Breakfast was great, buffet style good food and lots of it, will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Get there early as the parking is a bit limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Small interior room but as expected for the price paid in high season.

Good location, 15 minute walk into town centre but steep walk back so not great for some.

Lovely beach short walk away with all amenities.

Breakfast very good although didn't cater well for gluten free.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank carley_whitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Hi, Thanks for your comments.

I just thought it might be worth mentioning for future that we are more than happy to cater for gluten free diets and if you inform us prior to arrival we can make note of this so the kitchen and restaurant staff are aware. The team of chefs are very accommodating and I can confirm at breakfast there is the following available for gluten free diets; bacon, eggs (cooked to your preference), tomato, mushrooms, smoked haddock, kippers, smoked salmon, ham & spinach, gluten free bread, fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, prunes as well as a selection of fruit juices, tea & coffee. Some guests also prefer to bring their own gluten free cereal which is completely fine.

Also, had you wished to dine with us in the evening; given notice we can cater special dietary requirements and try to be as accommodating as possible.

Kind regards
Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed in Room 11- a double classic room for 2 nights. The room was a good size with a partial sea view and was clean and pleasantly decorated.
We have stayed at this hotel a couple of times before and were pleased to see that there have been some updating and improvements.
The breakfast was very nice and our 2 evening meals were outstanding.
Service was very good on the whole but the service at the bar turned out to be non existent one evening so my husband gave up!
The wi fi was working well throughout the hotel which I felt was a bonus. The only real issue could be the location- the steep walk up to the Hotel is not for the faint hearted!

Room Tip: Although we did not request it - our room did have a partial sea view which we felt was a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We have just stayed for a week here to celebrate my daughter's graduation and 21st birthday and everything was perfect
The room was lovely and was very clean
The food was excellent
The views were amazing and location stunning
Lovely lounge for relaxing with drinks
By far the best part of the stay was the wonderful friendly staff who could not do enough for you
Thanks, will hopefully be back soon
Kathryn and Rachel

Room Tip: Ask the staff for the right room for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank WarringtonRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,731 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,012 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#6 of 21 in St Ives
637 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#9 of 21 in St Ives
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy-An-Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy-An-Albany

Address: Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#5 Family Hotel in St Ives
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: $80 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chy-An-Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing comfortable accommodation with every amenity you would expect from a luxury award winning AA 3 star rated Hotel in Cornwall. The Chy an Albany occupies a wonderfully elevated site with magnificent views overlooking Portminster beach and St Ives Bay in Cornwall.Only a short walk into town and with ample free off road car parking.The hotel provides an ideal base to explore St. Ives and its renowned Tate Gallery, as well as the quaint harbour side, cobbled streets and collection of beautiful beaches that have captivated artists and tourists for over a century. The hotel is also just a short walk from the train station at the bottom of the hill (approximately 3 minutes). The new 'Lighthouse Bistro' is an art-themed restaurant, showcasing a wide range of art from local artists. The gallery-style restaurant offers contemporary dining using the very freshest local vegetables and produce, fish straight from the sea and Cornish made cheeses alongside exotic foods and wines from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Chy-An-Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy-An-Albany Hotel St Ives
Chy-An-Albany St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing