We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Cornish gem”
Review of Chy-An-Albany

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chy-An-Albany
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

A few friends and I were invited to a 60th Birthday near St Ives, so one of the group found us this hotel at the last minute. The reviews looked good on the internet and so did the photo's. When we arrived, the reviews were definitely true. We were greeted by very friendly staff who made the check in very smooth and also we were escorted to our bedrooms and given a tour of the rooms and facilities by a very friendly and personable member of staff. Nothing was too much trouble.

The rooms were spotless, as was the rest of the hotel and the facilities although basic, were good. There is a tv and tea/coffee facilities in each room with a very comfortable bed and compact but modern en-suite.

There was a wedding taking place when we arrived, but this didn't make any difference to our visit. We were out for the evening later, so it didn't matter that the hotel were unable to provide food that evening.

After a few drinks in St Ives, we all headed back to our rooms, showered and headed to our friends party. The following morning we all met for breakfast and found again a very friendly welcome and a great selection of foods on offer. 3 of us chose the Local catch of smoked Haddock and poached egg, along with granola and fresh fruit to start. There was fresh toast, rich fresh coffee and if you wanted, a full Cornish breakfast with my favourite Hogs pudding. The breakfast was the best I had eaten when staying in a hotel in England, so hats off to the chef.

The views from the lounge and bar area over look the coast and despite the forecast rain, made us feel happy we had chosen this hotel. There is some parking at the front of the hotel and the town of St Ives is about a 10 minute walk down the hill.

It was so nice to see a hotel run professionally and with such friendly staff. Well done to the staff and managers, you made our flying visit to St Ives an enjoyable one. We hope to come back I the near future.

Room Tip: See if you can get a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matteusp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (990)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

593 - 599 of 990 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

We really like this hotel. The staff are friendly and efficient. It has a really good restaurant called The Lighthouse which you can book even if you aren't staying there. Parking at the front is very limited so you are better off going straight to the back car park.

The front room we stayed in was very spacious which often isn't the case in a lot of hotels I've stayed in. When we arrived we were supposed to have a bottle of wine waiting but there wasn't which was a disappointment and they'd lost our booking for the restaurant however they made up for it by giving us complimentary wine so we were happy.

All that considered it's still a great hotel and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rncwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Very warm reception, staff very helpful and always available, excellent service. The room was very comfortable and importantly so were the beds, light and airy room, very clean. Only fault we could find was bathroom on the small side and towels could be nicer. Stayed 3 nights with a group and we had dinner in the bistro each evening, a great choice of food and the food was excellent, breakfasts brilliant. Beautiful views of the bay from the bar and lounge area and some tables in the bistro.

Room Tip: We had room 1 and more than happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdandnjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

On arrival I was met by friendly reception staff, who after warning them of my late arrival much earlier in the day greeted me by name. I stayed in the 'Brett Humphries' room, which was a delight. I must admit I wasn't expecting to find such a spacious and well appointed room and I was relieved to see a bath in my en-suite to de-stress after the long journey South. Breakfast was immense, a large choice of buffet and cooked-to-order items, I would seriously recommend the ham eggs benedict. I really couldn't find fault with the hotel or staff over the whole weekend. If I ever find myself back in St Ives, I'll definitely be booking in to the Chy-An-Albany again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel and could not fault anything we encountered room basic but spotlessly clean and well serviced staff were attentive and friendly and food was of a very good standard .would return with no qualms at all

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This quaint hotel has spectacular views, great good, and ambience. Not easy to park at and it took me three loops of the town before i found the back carpark.
I liked the dated decor which was fitting for the building.
My only gripe was my room which was dark with no view at all. Walls and floor very thin too so i could hear particilarly the room above me where furniture was moved around constantly. Great shower though.

Room Tip: Pay more for elevation and a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SadeWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights last week. Lovely view over the beach. Nice room very clean and comfortable. Also bath/shower room. Staff very friendly and polite.Good breakfast plenty of choice. Ten minute walk into St Ives.

Room Tip: Front rooms have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,758 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,032 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#8 of 21 in St Ives
643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
#14 of 21 in St Ives
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy-An-Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy-An-Albany

Address: Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: $89 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chy-An-Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing comfortable accommodation with every amenity you would expect from a luxury award winning AA 3 star rated Hotel in Cornwall. The Chy an Albany occupies a wonderfully elevated site with magnificent views overlooking Portminster beach and St Ives Bay in Cornwall.Only a short walk into town and with ample free off road car parking.The hotel provides an ideal base to explore St. Ives and its renowned Tate Gallery, as well as the quaint harbour side, cobbled streets and collection of beautiful beaches that have captivated artists and tourists for over a century. The hotel is also just a short walk from the train station at the bottom of the hill (approximately 3 minutes). The new 'Lighthouse Bistro' is an art-themed restaurant, showcasing a wide range of art from local artists. The gallery-style restaurant offers contemporary dining using the very freshest local vegetables and produce, fish straight from the sea and Cornish made cheeses alongside exotic foods and wines from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chy-An-Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy-An-Albany Hotel St Ives
Chy-An-Albany St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing