We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Chy-An-Albany

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chy-An-Albany
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed at the Chy an Albany during a windy January weekend. We paid extra to get a larger sea view room at the front of the hotel and it was quite expensive but we wanted the upgrade because didn’t fancy a small room. The furnishings and décor aren’t that modern but the room was very clean and comfortable. The view from the room was great and the hotel is a 10-15 minute walk from the town centre. The staff were always friendly and helpful. Food wise we only ate the breakfasts there and not the evening meals but they were very good.

Overall it’s a lovely hotel and we had a very enjoyable stay. I would definitely highly recommend this hotel and St Ives in general which is one of the top locations in Cornwall in my opinion.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rncwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    301
    123
    58
    27
See reviews for
156
528
43
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bideford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed here twice with my boyfriend in December 2011, and liked it so much we went back again January 2012. Take advantage of the special offers the hotel does off season, both stays cost us £100 for 3 nights. The hotel is really nice, it's an old building (originally two buildings) looking out over St Ives Bay. The views are lovely, you can see the beach at Hayle and Godrevy Lighthouse. It's a 5 minute walk to the train station, and a few minutes more into St Ives, so very conveniently located. The car parks are quite small, especially the one in front of the hotel but off-season the parking was not a problem. The staff were really nice and friendly, service was very quick at breakfast. The food was delicious, in busy times cooked breakfast was a buffet, which was great as I love big breakfasts, but even when the breakfast was served to you it was still a good sized meal. There's also the usual of cereals, fruit, yogurt, croissants etc. The croissants and pain au chocolat I have to say are the best I have ever tasted!! There's also a big selection of cooked dishes you can have for breakfast. We had dinner a once each stay at the hotel as well, which again was delicious. Lovely fish and steak dishes.
The rooms were very clean and tidy, with coffee/tea making facilities which were replenished every day. Not huge rooms but as we were out all day we only used it as a base to sleep in. The only bad thing I could say about the rooms was the first stay we had the room was directly above the kitchen so when the staff started the cooking etc in the morning you could hear all the clattering an banging etc through the floor. But then it is an old building, nothing a pair of earplugs can't solve!
The hotel is located just off the road as you come in to the town on the main road, so it's in a great position for getting out and about in the peninsula. St Ives itself is a lovely town and there's so much to do and see it's a great place to stay in. Would definitely go back again

Room Tip: Avoid rooms over the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan_Lucy_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because it was situated in a very good location and the room had a brilliant sea view. The room itself was spacious as it was classified as a super delux room.
It had a Humax television but not DVD Player which was disappointing as not everyone enjoys the limited choice of programmes on offer. Ideally, satellite television would not go amiss, particularly with foreign visitors. Astra satellite broadcasts multi-language channels.

The heating system was very poor which meant that we had poor quality sleep as it would be too hot for comfort for some of the time and too cool another and one could not regulate the heating to produce a consistent comfortable temperature.

The dining area was too cold for comfort. Fortunately, we were able to find a table near an electric radiator. Again, part of the same system which could not be regulated! Hence, we moved the table a couple of inches away from the radiator in order to keep comfortable.
The leisure rooms were, I thought, too dull and the lighting in both rooms very dingy. Unfortunately, the leisure rooms were not cosy but resembled not a lounging area but a workman’s club area.

The soup we had was fine and the rest of the meals we chose. However, unfortunately, the vegetables, for which we paid an extra £3, were burnt as they were overcooked in a griddle pan. As I could not see the food very well, it was my taste buds which alerted me to the burnt food which I found totally unacceptable.

On the menu it stated vegetable with garlic. Well, I could only taste the charcoal which is very bad for the health as it is carcinogenic and can cause cancer. This type of cooking should cease at once! Instead, the chef could start with some olive oil, add sliced garlic and then after they have sizzled for a short while add the veg. which take longest to cook, e.g. carrots, and then add some water to steam the firm veg and then later add veg. which wilts, e.g. spinach or kale. The water should evaporate and leave a little oil on the vegetable which helps the stomach to absorb the nutrients of the veg.
The burnt theme seems to have progressed to the mornings at breakfast times. I hope the Hotel management will try to stop the serving of burnt toast and deal with the toaster which also burns bread.
Ending on a positive note, the Staff were friendly and helpful wherever possible.

Room Tip: Room 4 was spacious with balcony sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claude380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay. It is disappointing that you had not raised any of your concerns during your stay, as we try to be as attentive & efficient as possible and if there are any improvements we can make we are always happy to listen. We would have been happy to hear them and correct any issues that might have arose for you given the opportunity.

I feel I must respond to a couple of issues you have mentioned which differs to your opinion, but may help you in future. Firstly our rooms have a heating facility which are set to come on a couple of times a day to boost the heat, but the system always allows you to increase or lower the heat setting to your personal preference. The radiators will always take about 10 minutes to heat through, however we find the flexibility of the system moulds well with guests needs. If guests ever need help, my reception or maintenance team are always happy to assist or even provide blankets if required & instructions for the heating system can always be found in the hotel information pack. Secondly, our self-serving toaster which is provided at the breakfast buffet allows guests to make their own toast and the speed controller allows you to adjust the browning.

Regarding your restaurant experience it saddens me that when asked by my restaurant staff, at the time of your dining, you did not not mention that you found your side dish not to your liking and you feel it is only right to let us know you were not happy when reviewing the hotel once you have departed. I have every confidence in my kitchen team who have an excellent record in regards to their training & qualifications so are more than capable in cooking vegetables & have never had any negative comments regarding this. Your opinion in referring to the vegetables being carcinogenic & causing cancer is I am afraid to say rather melodramatic and to the point quite impolite.

However, I thank you for your feedback and am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel room & views the hotel provided and found my staff friendly and helpful wherever possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We recently stayed overnight at the Chy-An-Albany. It was our second visit to the hotel.
As we had booked via an offer on Booking.com we were not expecting a deluxe room, but the small room at the back of the hotel was perfectly adequate, cosy and comfortable. Unfortunately the TV in our room was not working but the Receptionist was most helpful and found us another room straight away with no fuss.
The buffet breakfast was excellent, the best I can remember having in any hotel, and the restaraunt staff friendly and welcoming.
It was a very pleasant stay in a decent hotel with friendly effecient friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loonylainee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, Herts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Prefer a hotel to a B&B? With great food? But don't want to break the bank? Excellent size room (deluxe double) with sea view (extra but worth it), well run with friendly helpful staff, the real plus was the quality of cooking. Pleasantly surprised by great value table d'hôte menu and food was superb, and bar staff very attentive as well. Lounges with good views and a very good breakfast, everything piping hot on the "help yourself" menu but other choices cooked to order, e.g haddock, kippers etc. Very hard to find fault, the only very slight negative is the car parking a bit cramped and awkward at the front (although to be fair, a member of staff rushed out to move her car) - car park at the rear of hotel, easily accessible by a short extra drive round to the back, was busy but easier to negotiate. But all in all a very good choice and would return if visiting St Ives again.

Room Tip: Pay extra for deluxe double, sea view rooms (we had no. 24, second floor, but there are plenty of ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NasherRoyston_Herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Very small box room, The bathroom was so small it was verging on dangerous, barely any room to move. The room itself was clean but very dated, as per previous comments i agree it appears to have a likeness to faulty towers,I wouldn't recommend. When you compare this hotel to the premier inn we stayed in 2 days before, I would stay there 100 times over as opposed to staying at the Chy-an Albany.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princesspink88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the hotel. Our single rooms are compact yet have all the facilities required for a 3 star hotel, however I do take on board your comments. I must inform you that since you stayed at the hotel, the public areas including the restaurant, bar & lounge areas have been completely decorated and now holds new furniture to which we feel and hope will improve the areas in which you can enjoy our local food & drink menus on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband and i have just stayed the night here and have mixed feelings........ The location is good - just a walk down the hill into the town centre, and there are stunning views over the bay, but is SO dated in the hotel and it could do with a serious refurb!!! We had low expectations for our room as we got a good deal, so were not disappointed, but it was small and basic. However, the staff were friendly and we had a great evening meal in the restaurant (what is the chef doing there, he is wasted?!) and breakfast was a good standard and plentiful. All in all we had a good stay, and decided you get what you pay for........

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chocolateotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.1 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#6 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy-An-Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy-An-Albany

Property: Chy-An-Albany
Address: Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#5 Family Hotel in St Ives
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chy-An-Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing comfortable accommodation with every amenity you would expect from a luxury award winning AA 3 star rated Hotel in Cornwall. The Chy an Albany occupies a wonderfully elevated site with magnificent views overlooking Portminster beach and St Ives Bay in Cornwall.Only a short walk into town and with ample free off road car parking.The hotel provides an ideal base to explore St. Ives and its renowned Tate Gallery, as well as the quaint harbour side, cobbled streets and collection of beautiful beaches that have captivated artists and tourists for over a century. The hotel is also just a short walk from the train station at the bottom of the hill (approximately 3 minutes). The new 'Lighthouse Bistro' is an art-themed restaurant, showcasing a wide range of art from local artists. The gallery-style restaurant offers contemporary dining using the very freshest local vegetables and produce, fish straight from the sea and Cornish made cheeses alongside exotic foods and wines from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, LateRooms, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chy-An-Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy-An-Albany Hotel St Ives
Chy-An-Albany St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing