We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just that little bit more”
Review of Chy-An-Albany

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chy-An-Albany
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2012

we have now stayed in this hotel four times and each time every thing is perfect .The buffet breakfast is superb nothing is too much trouble This time it was perfect and a little bit more, due to some medical problems, we had to get paramedics out on the saturday eve the hotel made no fuss and phoned them for us , everyone was extremely kind and helpful it made the upsetting episode much easier ,we booked another trip while we were there bliss

Room Tip: go for deluxe suite well worth the money for the extra room , beautiful views & lovely large bed...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosiemole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (958)
There are newer reviews for Chy-An-Albany
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

682 - 688 of 958 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

This fabulous hotel is situated above Porthminster beach and enjoys stunning views across the bay. We had a refurbished room at the front of the hotel which was a good size, very clean and well furnished. The bathroom was large and had a bath and shower. Very comfortable and warm with adjustable heating. Plenty of toiletries, tea/coffee/biscuits supplied. |The one downside was that the towels although clean and changed every day were a funny faded colour)
Breakfast was a ffeast with plenty of choice and well cooked.
On site parking was free and plentiful which is really important in St Ives. The harbour is a 15 minute stroll downhill. The walk back would be hard for anyone with mobility problems but we did notice a bus went close by. Would def book this hotel again.

Room Tip: front of hotel is a must for the views
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank budcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I loved everything about Chy-An-Albany. The room was comfortable and cheerfully decorated, with excellent facilities. The atmosphere in general was wonderful and the staff were welcoming and helpful. We enjoyed the location and views of the ocean and will definitely be returning in the new year! Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

St Ives is a nightmare for parking, so this hotel is on the road into st Ives, so a walk down into town is about ten minutes, and tests your fitness when you return up hill, so be aware of this if you have mobility issues. It's a real shame that there were no local beers on tap, with so many great brewers nearby. Breakfast was good, an easy buffet style, so you won't go hungry.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellingtoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Had a lovely week in St Ives staying at the Chy-An-Albany. Nice location and spectacular views. We had a seaview room (well worth the extra cost) and this was very spacious and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the buffet-style breakfast plentiful and nicely cooked.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a seaview.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick372016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Down to St Ives for a wedding, stayed at Chy - an - Albany, a nice hotel, walking distance to town centre, friendly staff and excellent breakfast.
Only minor downside was room temprature controls made no difference, radiator stayed on permanantly, and the Bathroom was 30inches by 100inches and had a shower, sink and loo in it !

Room Tip: Room 2 has small bathroom, but room size is good.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueCatsuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Lovely location, 10 mins walk to town, rare car parking a bonus, breakfast superb, bar well stocked but pricey, all good apart from the room, we booked a special offer and stayed 3 nights, we made a comment when we booked that we were down to finalise our wedding in St Ives and had been staying in various hotels over the past 6 months so to recommend to our guests where to stay, i asked if there was any chance of a nicer room or a bit of a seaview, this wasnt even listened to or registered, we arrived at reception and mentioned i and the receptionist said 'sorry we dont have any of the better rooms and as you are on a deal we cant assist with this request', seemed immediatley to me that this meant 'you have booked a deal (offered by the hotel) so you are going to get the smallest and worse room in the hotel', we got to the room, it was the furthest room in the hotel away from the reception, we could barely believe it when we walked in, it was tiny, enough room to shuffle around the bed, shower room was enough space to manouvre in and manouvre out but not to dry off in!! If you are going to be staying away with your partner early in your relationship this would not be a very flattering room to stay in (no.33), the bed was lumpy and the bedding adequate, positives were the room was tidy and the house keeping staff very friendly. For what we paid for the 2 nights and the 3rd free i would have expected a lot more space and a much better quality nights sleep (forget to mention there is virtually zero sound proofing in this corridoor). Not a terrible hotel overall from what we could see but the room was one of the worse i have ever been given and i wont recommend this hotel to anyone. If the hotel have an excuse for this tiny inadequate room i would love to hear it???

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 33.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Thank you for your review of the hotel. I appreciate your feedback. I feel I must straighten out a couple of your comments due to not matching up with my records. I remember that you were here looking for wedding venues and when you asked my receptionist about other rooms, you were offered upgrades, but these were chargeable in which you declined our offer. Our special offer was not mentioned nor would have any difference when dealing with your request, so I am confused by your comment in which my receptionist apparently said we could not help as you were on our special offer. I was in ear shot myself at the time and can clarify that it was explained to you that the rooms we do have available would have a supplement charge and there were not many left as we were nearly full and you did not state at the time that you were not happy with this. The room you had was the room type you booked which are more compact than the deluxe rooms we did offer you. I do take on board your comments regarding the furniture, and I take your concerns seriously. The room has since had new furniture and we are looking at ways to improve the layout within the room, which granted the old furniture was bigger than the new furniture. I thank you for your feedback as it has provided us the opportunity to look at the room & make improvements. I hope if you return to St Ives you may give the hotel another chance as I am sure you will see positive changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 20 in St Ives
984 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 20 in St Ives
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy-An-Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy-An-Albany

Address: Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#5 Family Hotel in St Ives
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: $94 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chy-An-Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing comfortable accommodation with every amenity you would expect from a luxury award winning AA 3 star rated Hotel in Cornwall. The Chy an Albany occupies a wonderfully elevated site with magnificent views overlooking Portminster beach and St Ives Bay in Cornwall.Only a short walk into town and with ample free off road car parking.The hotel provides an ideal base to explore St. Ives and its renowned Tate Gallery, as well as the quaint harbour side, cobbled streets and collection of beautiful beaches that have captivated artists and tourists for over a century. The hotel is also just a short walk from the train station at the bottom of the hill (approximately 3 minutes). The new 'Lighthouse Bistro' is an art-themed restaurant, showcasing a wide range of art from local artists. The gallery-style restaurant offers contemporary dining using the very freshest local vegetables and produce, fish straight from the sea and Cornish made cheeses alongside exotic foods and wines from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Chy-An-Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy-An-Albany Hotel St Ives
Chy-An-Albany St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing