We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Chy-An-Albany

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chy-An-Albany
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night in March 2012. The location is very good with parking and fantastic views out to sea. Our room was comfortable and clean. Reception was very friendly and helpful, bar service good, and there were newspapers available in the bar/lounge. The views from Bar and Restaurant were great.

We found the walk into St Ives and back quite easy, and were glad we had chosen this hotel for its location and parking.

We ate dinner in the restaurant and it was OK, reasonably priced at £15 for 2 courses, but we didn't feel it was anything special.

The beds were comfortable. The shower was fairly feeble but the bathroom was clean. We could hear conversation from the next room, so presumably they could hear us too.

All in all a good stay, and worth a return visit for the friendliness of the staff and the location and parking. If we return I think we might try eating dinner in St Ives for a change, rather than at the hotel - depends how energetic we feel.

We visited the Barbara Hepworth museum, lovely garden with sculptures and very helpful guide inside the museum part. Well worth a visit if you like either sculpture or gardens, a haven of peace right in the middle of town. St Ives was a good place to walk round, good beaches and early March was a great time to visit it.

Room Tip: Room 1, twin room, no sea view, comfortable and clean but soundproofing poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    303
    124
    58
    27
See reviews for
158
533
43
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We had a short break at the beginning of March and we couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay. Our room was small but perfectly clean and comfortable. The breakfast was plentiful and the view from the sun lounge and the breakfast room so amazing.

The staff were so friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough to help.

Only a short walk down to the town, and the station was only 5 minutes away (down a VERY steep hill!)

We would definitely want to stay here again, it was a treat :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wokingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2012

we had a really nice time in February stayed two nights and found staff very friendly our bedroom had a sea view the en suite was immaculate and the room was very clean and comfortable we would definately return and would tell friends and family also the breakfast was first class loved our time there

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2012

my fiance and i have been togethor for over 2 years now and had never been away yet so we decided on chy an albany hotel. i can honestly say i thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the hotel and the bed was the best i have ever slept in!!!!! The hotel was situated in the perfect place to have a walk down to st ives town.. the train station was close aswell so we spent a couple of hours in penzance.. for £7 return train ticket for both of us..... the minute we got there to the minute we left staff catered to our every need.. the only disappointment was the hash browns at breakfast but compared to our enjoyable stay that is irrelavant.. thank you for a wonderfull stay and a well deserved break will deffinately be returning in the summer !!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tegan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

stayed one night,lovely room,large with seaview which was a nice suprise as not ask for,clean and very good breakfast,only small gripe was low water pressure meant having a shower took longer,also needs some lighting on front steps down to road in winter as a bit dark,the staff are superb especially the receptionist,will be visiting again soon i hope

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a1passat44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed for one night in the hotel. The staff in reception were nice and the beakfast was good but in the room the sheet on the bed was very old and fluffy and also we found a knicker with a used liner under the bed. Quite disgusting and disappointed having read the pervious reviews of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the staff and our breakfast selection. I am extremely sorry that you encountered a problem with the room, I have investigated this and I must stress that I can confirm that what you have mentioned is not quite accurate in regards to the item missed in the room. I am not deflecting the problem as we take these incidents very seriously, but I can confirm that this was investigated, and then dealt with in a prompt and efficient manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Stayed for one night on busy Saturday night. Reception Staff very helpful and friendly. Room had everything required although bed not the most comfortable, however everything clean and considering what we paid, it was very good value for money. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of everything, and again helpful and friendly staff. Would recommend and happily stay there again !

Room Tip: Some rooms have partial or sea views which are very pleasant, and would probably be worthwhile for l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoppershop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
909 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy-An-Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy-An-Albany

Property: Chy-An-Albany
Address: Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#5 Family Hotel in St Ives
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chy-An-Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing comfortable accommodation with every amenity you would expect from a luxury award winning AA 3 star rated Hotel in Cornwall. The Chy an Albany occupies a wonderfully elevated site with magnificent views overlooking Portminster beach and St Ives Bay in Cornwall.Only a short walk into town and with ample free off road car parking.The hotel provides an ideal base to explore St. Ives and its renowned Tate Gallery, as well as the quaint harbour side, cobbled streets and collection of beautiful beaches that have captivated artists and tourists for over a century. The hotel is also just a short walk from the train station at the bottom of the hill (approximately 3 minutes). The new 'Lighthouse Bistro' is an art-themed restaurant, showcasing a wide range of art from local artists. The gallery-style restaurant offers contemporary dining using the very freshest local vegetables and produce, fish straight from the sea and Cornish made cheeses alongside exotic foods and wines from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Chy-An-Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy-An-Albany Hotel St Ives
Chy-An-Albany St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing