We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we love everything about our hotel”
Review of Chy-An-Albany

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chy-An-Albany
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2011

great location peaceful clean friendly great choice of breakfast and good rates. helpful staff will be staying here again for sure loved it. very close to railway staion closer than some central hotels. for me 6min walk

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blue20077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (990)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

816 - 822 of 990 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2011

Was just an OK stay i'm afraid. The shower in our room was hopeless. The staff were fine but would have preffered a better service at breakfast with regards to the amount of food on offer and a waited service would have been nice after paying the £140 bill!
Would rather stay at a travelodge to be honest.

Room Tip: The ones facing the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin10203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChyManager, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2011

I was disappointed to read your comments regarding your recent stay, if at any time you were unhappy with your room we would have been happy to move you if we had been given the chance, waiter service is available in the restaurant on request.

Yours faithfully
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

I stay in the Chy-An-Albany Hotel for two nights and would not recommend this Hotel. I had a single room, which was hot, small and dark. The ensuite was a joke. It was standing room for one only. It was the size of a cupboard.
The room was really hot and when I asked for a fan I was brought one, and informed this was the only one in the hotel. This was broke.
As for the food, the service was slow and the food was only just satisfactory. All in all not an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SomersetKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChyManager, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2011

I was disappointed to read your comments regarding your recent stay, once you had made us aware that you were not happy with your room we did offer you a room move which you declined at no other point in your stay did you indicate you had any further issues otherwise we would have welcomed the chance to put them right for you.

Yours faithfully
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

As far as one can "judge" after only one night: this hotel is quite reasonable, with an elevator and nice view over the bay. Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marywinifred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed here on the 4th December 2010. Our daughter got married at the hotel on that day. The venue was great, plenty of parking (which in St Ives is a must). Great view across the bay. The bride and groom and parents all stayed in the balcony rooms. The staff could not be more helpful. The menu was fabulous. Everything went very smoothly, we were allowed extra time in the bridal suite the next morning so that the guests could see the bride and groom opening their wedding gifts. During the evening several buttons from the bridal gown came away from the dress, but the next morning we were presented with all the buttons that had gone missing. One of our guests had travelled down from Leeds and stayed for several days, they commented to us how wonderful it was.

A great place no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank golfgolf40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed at the Chy-an-Albany for two nights and would gladly recommend the hotel to anyone, be they an Individual traveller, a couple, a family or large group.
Very friendly staff always greet you - with a 'nothing a problem' attitude.
Rooms are very tidy, modern and light. with modern equipment.
Bathrooms are always clean and fresh.
Useful having a lift to most floors.
Food was very good and plentiful, especially the all important breakfast.
We all enjoyed our stay, and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redshaw007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Having arrived at the hotel, we were escorted to our Double Classic room which just provided enough space for a double bed, single bedside cabinet and a small dressing table. A window looked out along the hotel wall to a restricted sea view which had previously been priced into the rooms cost. On asking about the en-suite, the wave of a hand directed me to a pair of narrow slatted doors, where hidden behind was a half metre wide corridor, obviously the original wardrobe space, housing the toilet, basin and shower. We consider this room to be excessively tight, overpriced and extremely poor value. The replacement room was of an acceptable standard but came with an additional price tag. Long delays and poor service were also encountered at a barely satisfactory breakfast. I believe that St Ives probably has better hotels on offer than the Chy-An-Albany Hotel, with more attractive surroundings and greater accessibility. It will certainly have hotels that are more realistically priced and deliver a better service.

Room Tip: Avoid Classic Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IainK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChyManager, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2011

I was disappointed to read your comments regarding your recent stay, our rooms do differ in size and style as the building dictates, we moved you as soon as we were made aware that you were not happy with your room. We take our customer service very seriously and I have spoken to the relevant staff to ensure that we maintain our high standards.

Yours faithfully
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,758 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,032 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#8 of 21 in St Ives
643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
#14 of 21 in St Ives
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy-An-Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy-An-Albany

Address: Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: $89 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chy-An-Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing comfortable accommodation with every amenity you would expect from a luxury award winning AA 3 star rated Hotel in Cornwall. The Chy an Albany occupies a wonderfully elevated site with magnificent views overlooking Portminster beach and St Ives Bay in Cornwall.Only a short walk into town and with ample free off road car parking.The hotel provides an ideal base to explore St. Ives and its renowned Tate Gallery, as well as the quaint harbour side, cobbled streets and collection of beautiful beaches that have captivated artists and tourists for over a century. The hotel is also just a short walk from the train station at the bottom of the hill (approximately 3 minutes). The new 'Lighthouse Bistro' is an art-themed restaurant, showcasing a wide range of art from local artists. The gallery-style restaurant offers contemporary dining using the very freshest local vegetables and produce, fish straight from the sea and Cornish made cheeses alongside exotic foods and wines from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chy-An-Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy-An-Albany Hotel St Ives
Chy-An-Albany St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing